We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Livingstone Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Livingstone Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 209: English reviews
Start your review of Livingstone Lodge
 Click to rate
Baldock
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I spent a night at this tented camp; there is a 'safari' at 4pm (a trip in a 4x4 with a very knowledgeable guide (David) through the wildlife estate. you then check into your tent - which is a permanent erection with a shower/loo attached to the rear; it had a heater and a very comfortable bed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
HowlettsPortLympne, Livingstone Lodge/Cottage Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Richard N, Thank you on behalf of the Livingstone for taking the time to review Livingstone Lodge. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time while staying with us and love to see you again on a return visit to Livingstone lodge or maybe one of our other accommodations. Kind regards The Livingstone Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the most amazing time at Livingstone Lodge! Gorgeous views from our tent at the watering hole with free roaming Wildebeest among other animals living in harmony 😊 the accommodation was 1st class in our heated tent with an en suit (which I would highly recommend ) My self and my husband for his 40th visited this amazing place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DarkAngel75
HowlettsPortLympne, Livingstone Lodge/Cottage Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear DarkAngel75, Thank you for taking the time to review Livingstone Lodge. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay to celebrate your husbands 40th birthday, and would love to see you on a return visit. Kind regards The Livingstone Team

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

It was my Sons 18th Birthday recently, and I wanted to find something a little different for him. I saw the night Safari on Facebook and decided to book for him, my mother and myself. We arrived at Port Lympne and everything was fabulous from start to finish! We all enjoyed the ride to Livingstone Lodge. Livingstone lodge was cosy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleymilton
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lesley, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your evening at Livingstone Lodge restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed your evening celebrating your son's 18th Birthday. Livingstone Lodge re-opens for the new season on 1st April 2017, we would be thrilled if you were to come back and enjoy the full Livingstone Lodge experience...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Thank you, We are members of the RZSS, our local Zoo is Edinburgh, whilst visiting a few weeks ago & chatting to the Head Gardener there he told us about Port Lympne & Howletts, we returned home Googled & booked. Spent the most perfect day at Howletts on Thursday 20th October & then arrived at Port Lympne that afternoon met with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HELEN H
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Helen, Thank you very much for the high rating and review you gave us at Livingstone lodge. The staff at Livingstone enjoy every aspect of their job and are thrilled when we get good reviews such as yours. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and while visiting the rest of the park. We hope...

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I genuinely feel bad for not giving this a high rating but in all honesty we were quite disappointed. I booked this for my husband as a birthday present as we are both massive animal lovers and we had been looking forward to it for weeks. It was quite expensive (around £450) for a night but I thought that considering...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank love2travel_uk_f
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear love2travel, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us a review. However i am disappointed you feel that you did not get a 5* experience. The itinerary for Livingstone Lodge stays have been amended on guest confirmation emails to include all the timings of your stay, and the fact that you would not have...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

A family invitation as they had visited 4 years ago... what a wonderful experience. We arrived around 2pm for our first safari at 2.30pm. We were greeted with a champagne reception and an introduction from our guide, Rebecca, who stayed with us the whole visit - even becoming our chief waitress and washer upper in the evening. Very knowledgeable about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SARAH L
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review. We are really pleased that you had such a wonderful experience staying in our cottage and then with your Safari and then on to Howletts. We would love to see you on a return visit to Port Lympne perhaps staying at our award winning Livingstone...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We booked to stay in Livingston Lodge for a 'Safari experience' and upgraded to one with an en suite, the cost was £375 for 2 people, mid week in the low season. On arrival we were served a glass of Prosecco, introduced to our fellow guests and the itinerary was explained before we took off on our guided safari.I would...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mimble
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear mimble, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Livingstone Lodge. We are sorry that you feel you did not get a 5* stay at Livingstone Lodge. We have rectified the issue of the mattresses by sending them all back to the supplier as they were all new at the beginning of the season. In regard...

uk
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My partner and i stayed at the Livingstone lodge at the beginning of October, we went to Howletts zoo on the day of arrival which was good - the gorillas were definitely the highlight. Then we drove down to Port Lympne which took about 30 minutes through the country lanes, we arrived about 3.15pm so we checked our bags in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgie251
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gabbie88, Thank you for writing a review about your stay with Livingstone Lodge. We are sorry that you did not see more animals on your Safari, but as you wrote it was a cold day and the animals are allowed to roam freely, If they want to seek shelter they will. It would be lovely to see you again...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

What a brilliant birthday treat - I've no idea of the cost so can't comment on vfm, but in terms of a great experience I can say that this is well up there. We arrived at the site a little early, but that wasn't a problem - we were looked after straight away (nice couple of glasses of fizz and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niknoworries
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Niknoworries, Thank you very much for such a positive review. We are very pleased that you had such a wonderful stay at Livingstone Cottage, What a fabulous birthday present. It would be a pleasure to see you return, perhaps an experience at our award winning Livingstone Lodge. Thank you again for taking the time to review us.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Having spent our anniversary week visiting castles, manor houses and beautifully manicured gardens, all the while getting agitated by the pointlessness of it all, I was excited to see land being put to good use 'land with a purpose' as I called it. Having been born and bred in Africa and been on safaris before, this experience was beautiful for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Livingstone Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and comments on the ethos of our reserve. We are really pleased that you had such a good experience with us and hope that you make a return visit in the near future.

331 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (318)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (198)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lympne
1.1 km away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
195 reviews
6.6 km away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
42 reviews
5.6 km away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#2 of 3 in Hythe
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hythe
605 reviews
10.5 km away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
918 reviews
7.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Voted the UK's best tourism experience in 2012, the Livingstone Lodge Safari Experience at Port Lympne, Kent, is the UK's only overnight safari lodge perfect for a romantic break, engagement, celebrations and Hen Parties and has to be the answer to those who would love to visit the wilds of Africa on safari. Enjoy a multi award winning safari experience and a totally magical night under the stars, first-class authentic African dining, dawn safari, full breakfast & more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Livingstone Lodge

Address: Port Lympne Aldington Road, Lympne CT21 4PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lympne
Price Range: $783 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Livingstone Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Livingstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Livingstone Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Livingstone Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All tents have the same view - although 2 don't have showers/loos (so ask for one that does!).”
richardn56, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“book an en suite”
Georgie251, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The tents with ensuite is a must.”
DollR, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Select a lodge with en-suite facilties”
JJenner, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Cheetah tent directly in front of watering hole. Ensuite not avail when booking: felt not necessary: shared facilities more than adequate”
UkFairComment, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5