We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Derwentwater Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Derwentwater Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

649 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 644: English reviews
Manchester
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was a Christmas present from my son and his wife. They have been there twice before this visit. Our 2 bedroom apartment was lovely, think had recently been up graded. Beds comfy and very clean, nice white bed linen. Kitchen even had dishwasher in it., very well equipped everything needed was there. They even leave tea, coffee, sugar and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trendyoap
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here November 20th for a quick trip as we love Keswick, the hotel was situated in a lovely setting I cannot fault the views and the walks available however the hotel itself was a slight let down. The room had a nasty smell to it, I didn't feel comfortable in the room all night and there was nothing relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Online and from the outside, this place looks like a quaint country English inn. On the inside, it's a tired, over-priced, run-down, creaky, cramped, dated hotel with unhappy staff. Could really benefit from some paint and new carpet. WiFi is so limited as to be worthless (only works within about 20 ft of the front desk). Food and drink were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D W
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for the night was planning to book another . The outside of hotel was beautiful and the grounds were lovely and led to the lake. Most of the staff were foreign and hard to understand. all went downhill for us when we got our room. It was tatty and old looking, wasent dirty but needs work. food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelly W
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Shelly W Thank you for your review, we try to ensure that all our guests leave the hotel satisfied, we would have dealt with your issues on the day, if you had spoken to the manager on duty, and given us the opportunity to rectify matters. Kind regards Peter Dodd

Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

we have stayed at the derwentwater hotel before and decided to try the apartments, we had a two bedroom one and it was a small cottage which was really lovely. lots of stairs so not suitable for anyone with leg problems. well equipped and lovely and warm. bonus for a 7 night let you get free breakfast on your last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra c
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sandra C Thank you for your great comments, we look forward to seeing you again Peter Dodd

Greater Manchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was cheap (in comparison to the majority of the Lake District!) and great location - not far from Skiddaw, and only a walk to Keswick town over a bridge and down the main road. If you make the walk in the dark though, like we did, take a torch as it's pitch black! The room was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamy86
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Hamy86 Thank you for your generally good comments, I will talk to the team about cleanliness and make sure we improve in the future. Good news, we are starting our upgrade of wifi next week, hopefully it will be installed within two weeks. regards Peter Dodd

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked into this hotel at the last minute as we couldn't get a pitch anywhere for our campervan, we got a cracking deal through booking.com The hotel was dog friendly which was essential and the location obviously excellent. As it was a late deal we could only get a twin room, this was spacious enough for two people and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmailey1
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear emmailey1 Thank you for your generally good comments, we love dogs here at the hotel, we have a separate place in the bar so you can enjoy thier company when you are eating. i will speak to housekeeping about cleanliness, sincere apologies for the standards. Kind regards Peter Dodd

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the money Coast & Country supplied a good value seasonal break from 23 to 27 December. The Derwentwater Hotel is in a nice position overlooking the lake. Our Deluxe room was spacious and well equipped, it was clean and house keeping was excellent. There were nice touches in the room like a miniature Xmas tree! One mini gripe, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alec641050
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alec641050 Thank you for your great comments about your christmas stay. We all enjoyed having everyone here for a full house. We have some refurbishment plans for 2017 we will keep you advised of how we are going to proceed. Kind regards Peter Dodd

Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Please do not read the bad reviews and take them too seriously - this hotel was clean, comfy and the staff polite and attentive. Beautiful views and the food was delicious. We shall definetly return X

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally L
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sally L Thank you for your wonderfull comments Kind regards Peter Dodd

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

In short this could be much better with some targeted investment. I found the staff to be very polite, the views and site itself are fantastic. Good Wi-Fi downstairs (can be picked up in some first floor rooms) and a very comfortable bed. Location is also very good and a short walk to Keswick. The food is a bit hit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ben D Thank you for your comments, we do have some refurbishment plans for 2017 and we are installing hotel wide wifi this week. I am sorry that some aspects of your stay were not to your satisfaction we are improving each week. Kind regards Peter Dodd

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
7.5 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
7.2 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
492 reviews
5.1 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
461 reviews
14.2 km away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
165 reviews
7.1 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Price Range: $157 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Derwentwater Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Paisley, United Kingdom
6 months ago
North Yorkshire UK

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Derwentwater Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Spend a bit more and go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles C9972VNamym, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms with a lake view are the best bet”
 of 5 bubbles Alec641050, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best views, quiet ,dog friendly, good service”
 of 5 bubbles SallyL433, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I would chose a room about a mile down the road.”
  • Black mould and filler.
  • Tiles from 1980's and dirt
  • Black mould on wall and ceiling (in 3 other points)
  • Shower, this was actually a trickle.....
 of 5 bubbles HowardRoark1943, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good pet friendly hotel”
 of 5 bubbles asiafiend, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay