We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 171: English reviews
ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel was over booked when I arrived and my room had been given away before I arrived although I booked and paid months in advance. I was made to stay in a temporary room for the first night but was still charged full price. The reception staff and booking.com did not help, booking.com has not even replied to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morealle
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you are looking for a simple yet accomplished place in terms of its Ayurvedic treatments and the right kind of food to go with, then there's no need to look further than Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort. It's a nice and cozy place which will give you all the comfort along with a great environment for ayurvedic treatments. We had an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sameer M
Gurgaon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Their USP is the beautiful property, amid of green surroundings next to a not so crowded beach, though quite old one. But services are real slow, due to lack of staff or may be some other reasons. We had to call 4-5 times and wait for almost 1- 1.5 hrs. when we faced some issue in our locker. again for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PARAMSIM
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this review

Dear Paramsim, Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group! Thanks for your mail and feedback. We are very happy to note you are happy with our room, beach, swimming pool and location. Yes, we are exclusive Ayurveda resort and all services and facilities are designed for this purpose. We are promoting and propagating the Ayurveda life style, so we are non alcoholic...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 14 December 2016

The moment I stepped in , I was totally awed by their property.location is perfect- it is very close to a quiet beach. Fortunately, this beach is not frequented by tourists and one can truly enjoy the clean water. Location wise it is 10/10. Facilities: 10/10 clean, good swimming pool. Yoga sessions. During our stay we saw dance programmes and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DishaDave
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Horrible experience at the hotel. In terms of the spa, when we arrived we selected the package that gave you 2 hours of spa service per day for three days. The spa service was not relaxing AT ALL because the two therapists talked the WHOLE two hours of my treatment. I ended up only completing two days of treatment because...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 900aileenl
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group! This is the 02nd time you are posting same feedback. Please verify your posting, is in the same resort that you had stayed??. As we do not have any records of stay as per the information you had provided. Also we never had any incidents reported as you had mentioned in your feedback....

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 30 November 2016

My daughter and I were so excited to experience an Ayurvedic resort. The surroundings are definitely picturesque and the little cottages are pretty. That's where it ends. The first night we were woken 12:30 a.m. to someone trying to break into our cottage. We turned on the light and they went away. We spend the entire night sleepless with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L M
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group! Please verify your posting is in the same resort that you had stayed??. As we do not have any records of stay as per the information you had provided. Also we never had any incidents reported as you had mentioned in your feedback. We have 24 hours security and CCTV camera surveillance in...

Knokke, Belgium
Reviewed 26 November 2016

I stayed at Somatheeram and enjoyed my stay. Rooms are very clean and the property is very well maintenant. The staff is friendly but not every one speaks English which is a pity. The restaurant is very basic, I prefer to go and eat at Manaltheeram, the other resort at the beach. Internetconnection is very poor. Treatments are good but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minelleke
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your stay and feedback. We are very happy to learn that you had a enjoyed your stay at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort. Thanks for your appreciation on our room, cleanliness, beach, Yoga and swimming pool. All our service line persons are able to speak English, we are providing language training also, surely we will take more care...

Fairy Meadow, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016

I am writing to all trip advisor readers while reclining on my bed next to a giant moth made out of the towels we use in the bathroom that is coated in rose petals. It is truly a sight to be hold. What can i say about Somatheeram other that you have to visit this place to see for yourself...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Glenn B
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at somatheeram for a day only still the trip was just amazing.. All thanks to the staff. Our booking was for soma resort deluxe room however the staff upgraded our room and got ourselves transferred to somatheeram which is of same management as informed to us. The place and view are too good. We had booked two rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shazia M
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We booked the Deluxe Kerala House for Diwali holidays. We went only for a getaway with kids. Not for Ayurveda. Only suites and deluxe rooms have air conditioning. Rest of rooms have only fans. Greeted with garlands and tender coconut water. The reception staff were very friendly with our two kids. Rooms are basic kerala style. But sea view made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pradeep k

280 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (279)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chowara
0.4 km away
Travancore Heritage
Travancore Heritage
#1 of 3 in Chowara
539 reviews
6.2 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
6.9 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
4.7 km away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.0 km away
Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Somatheeram is the world of authentic Ayurveda. A serene Aryurvedic resort by the sea in South India. Here you can benefit from traditional Ayurvedic therapy as well as yoga in a blissfully peaceful environment. It is one of the best tourism spots in Kerala, India. Located at Chowara Beach on a hillock 9 km south of the famous Kovalam Beach, Trivandrum, Kerala with over 15 acres of greenery all around.And for houseboat trip in kollam u can visit our kollam allseason backwater resort .. search for allseason kollam ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort

Address: Kovalam, South of Kovalam, | South of Kovalam beach, Chowara 695501, India
Region: India > Kerala > Chowara
Price Range: $133 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somatheeram Ayurveda Hotel Chowara
Somatheeram Ayurvedic Beach Hotel
Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort India/Kerala - Chowara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose manaltheeram”
 of 5 bubbles Morealle, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“beach facing cottages”
 of 5 bubbles PARAMSIM, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Wifi is spotty and frustrating.”
 of 5 bubbles 888LM, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“" I have the Standard House room, its very lovely."”
  • This was a heavenly place to stay.....
 of 5 bubbles 674glennb, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only Kerala House Deluxe and Kerala Deluxe Suite are air conditioned. Opt for sea view rooms. Other cottages and rooms look cramped.”
 of 5 bubbles pradeepk674, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay