We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Church Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelmorton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Church Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Church Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 214: English reviews
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights . Staff very welcoming . Rooms exceptionally clean and great facilities. Food was amazing plentiful and a wide choice . We had a very comfortable stay . Thank you So Much Tania & Simon .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
Justin S, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, glad you enjoyed everything. Hope to see you again soon.

Atherstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We were a party of 5 who stayed for two very enjoyable nights in October, the rooms all spotlessly clean and cosy with really comfortable beds (just like being in your own at home) the men in the party enjoyed sampling the real ales and the food every meal faultless, the fruity lamb curry a particular favourite of mine. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lhealey8
Justin S, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, glad you all enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We went to the Church Inn for my husbands 70th birthday.There were 5 adults 2 children and 2 dogs.We were there for Sunday lunch which was excellent.It was only booked on the Sunday morning.All the Adults had the lamb shank,it was delicious.The food all came out at the same time and the staff were lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
Justin S, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your visit whilst celebrating your husbands birthday. We hope to see you again in the future.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We first visited this pub while on holiday last year and were so impressed that we ate there three nights out of six. The food was tasty, hot and filling, they also allowed our dog in which was a real bonus for us. The staff were friendly and helpful. Glad to say that our opinion continues and friends who have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kazzie2014
Justin S, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed another visit! Hope to see you again next year.

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Had a great Saturday lunchtime meal at this dog-friendly inn where my husband loved the rabbit pie. Luckily we arrived at noon and were welcomed and served without a booking; however, as it is such a popular place I would recommend you ring ahead to check availability.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChocoloverBedford
Justin S, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, great to hear you enjoyed your visit..along with the dog! Rabbit pie is one of our most popular dishes. Hope to see you again soon.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We were a party of 5. Two Scampi, 1 Fish & Chips, 1 Chickpea tagine, 1 child's F & C. Service was great. I do not like fish with skin on so that was a minor negative, but the fish was good. Marstons Pedigree beer was OK. Clean plates all round, so good testament to the food quality. Portions were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wiggey
Justin S, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Staffordshire
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We were staying in a cottage in the village and wanted supper, we were in for a treat finding this place. The Roast Pork was melt in your mouth and the Rabbit pie with Suet Crush was INCREDIBLE. Puddings were yummy, highly recommend the blackberry and apple crumble and of course the sticky toffee pudding was scrumptious! Beer range was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gins412
Justin S, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, were glad you enjoyed your visit to the pub. We hope to see you again in the future.

South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This was a very short (one night) break not too far from home. We had visited the pub before for a drink but wanted to stay over and try the food. We were very happy. After sampling a few beers - there was a good local selection. I am always impressed by a pub that offers local beer - there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jake1642
Justin S, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, were glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed sampling the beers and food on offer. Im afraid there is nothing we can do about the football apart from agree with your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and i have just enjoyed a very enjoyable couple of days and nights at the church inn. The welcome was warm with some very helpful staff, they accommodated where ever the could and to be honest never failed once, we asked if they could supply us with a packed lunch as going out on one the the walks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karlschultz10
Justin S, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, were glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the beautiful surroundings on one of our door to door walks! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We visited with friends on Tuesday for dinner. Dog friendly...big plus point. The starters were nice....whitebait, garlic mushrooms and a battered black pudding. The main courses were not so good. One of my friends had fruity lamb curry....it was OK. His wife had 12oz gammon steak. It was very fatty, and hardly cooked. She left most of it. My wife...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loiner3570
Justin S, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, however i must correct you as i can assure you all of our meals are cooked freshly on the premises. The staff on duty that day weren't made aware of any problems at the time, having known they could have done something about it. I'm sorry you feel you wouldn't return however maybe sometime in...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmorton
7.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
19.7 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
10.2 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
6.3 km away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
16.6 km away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Church Inn, a traditional family run country inn, ideally situated in the picturesque village of Chelmorton. Between the market towns of Buxton and Bakewell. We offer 4 star accommodation in our four bedrooms, adjacent to the pub with free onsite parking. Serving traditional home cooked food and 5 cask conditioned ales, offering free Wifi. We feature in the good pub guide and have done since 2010 and the good beer guide since 2001. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Church Inn

Address: Main St | Derbyshire, Chelmorton, Peak District National Park SK17 9SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Chelmorton
Price Range: $123 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Church Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Church Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Church Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pippenwell was a nice room with a view over the roof tops to the countryside.”
niblets, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms over look a private courtyard for guests only”
petermD1770CP, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great, away from the 'pub' so nice and quiet.”
shortbreaker2012, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I don't know about the rooms, however if the pub was anything to go by, I think I could safely guess they'd be great”
G33M4NN, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Pippenwell Suite”
Neil03091947, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5