We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The White Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The White Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 289: English reviews
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Having been before for a meal which we'd really enjoyed we took advantage of the Sunday Night Sleepover offer and came again. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful and at the same time providing excellent service. Our room was large, clean and warm with a comfortable bed. We weren't aware of any road noise nor of noise from adjoining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thea T
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We are really pleased that you enjoyed the offer. Hope to see you again in the future.

Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Service form Brian and Tracy was just First class today for our family lunch. From the minute we arrived there were warm smiles and we were taken straight to our table and given our menus. The food selection for lunch or dinner is just vast and caters for all tastes, even lighter bites for a smaller appetite, but then of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianismyname
Beccles, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an excellent dinner for 33 people the food was very good and served effciently the staff were all very helpful. We had the whole of the upstairs area to ourselves so we were able to have a quiz and generally enjoy ourselves without annoying other customers. This is the second year we have held our Christmas dinner walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cravenwatson
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

This is my second visit to the White Horse and it has lived up to expectations from my first visit. I have stayed for business both times and brought along my work colleague on the second visit who also rates the inn highly. Lush food, really friendly staff and decent prices. Rooms are very clean with warm decent showers and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh D
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Hugh, look forward to seeing you again.

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

The White Horse Inn is set in nice countryside, the only negative is that it's by a very busy main road. Having said that, I didn't really notice the noise inside the hotel. The rooms are separate to the main building and are very clean and warm with a brilliant shower and had good Wi-Fi reception. The food was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for this. Really pleased you liked what we do.

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Went here for lunch en route to Norwich; lots of cars outside which is always a good sign. They sell their own fresh eggs! Nice touch. Decent sized restaurant, open fires, lovely toilets and food was excellent. 2 x ham egg and chips (LOADS of ham) and 2 x coffees for £21. Big portions. Didn't stay here overnight but would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c0lm4ns
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and we hope to welcome you back to The white Horse Inn soon.

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night 2 rooms good price clean warm very nice, Internet and phone signal very poor staff friendly and helpful.food nice but expensive for what you get not a lot on your plate and i would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks David. Hope to see you again in the future.

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Visited this inn for a weekend away whilst visiting family, we did their special weekend break which was excellent value. Our room was very big, bed very comfortable, white sheets and towels, tea/coffee/hot chocolate, bottled water, biscuits all in room and replaced the next morning. Lovely shower room with toilet and hand basin. Large wardrobe and chest of drawers, tv,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. For another time we do prepare soups that are gluten free as an option. We will have a think about further alternatives. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Hotel part. Woken up at 7.15am with Workmen with leaf blowers , banging on doors , leaf machine , you get the picture . Someone takes a shower next door , you know about it , trust me . Plumbing is dreadful . If you stay here bring ear plugs !!!! Food was awful , had steak and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crunchie1966
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to read that you had a difficult time sleeping. I notice you had a similar problem at the windmill! Generally we have comments that the rooms are very quiet. I will take on board your comments about the gardener and see that he doesn't start so early. Obviously we are keen to see guests are not disturbed during their...

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Came here on a Tuesday evening with a friend and we both thought that the food was excellent and the service was great. The portion sizes were reasonable so offered good value for money. I really enjoyed the cheesecake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sazzy C
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for posting! Glad to hear you enjoyed your time at The White Horse.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Ash
6.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Brome Grange Hotel
6.1 km away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
407 reviews
14.6 km away
The Cedars Hotel
The Cedars Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stowmarket
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
8.8 km away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
202 reviews
38.0 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Annie, Shane and the team offer a warm welcome at The White Horse Inn. Ideally situated on the A140 close to the village of Eye in Suffolk and midway between Ipswich and Norwich, this delightful Coaching Inn dates back to the 17th Century and continues to offer the very best in hospitality to the weary traveller.In the grounds are spacious, comfortable motel bedrooms offering en suite facilities, FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS, flat screen freeview television, direct-dial telephone and hospitality tray. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: 140 Norwich Road (Main A, Stoke Ash IP23 7ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Stoke Ash
Price Range: $95 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Stoke Ash
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Cotton, United Kingdom
6 months ago
south
8 months ago
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Park round in the back car park as it is easier to get back onto the main road than from the front car park.”
 of 5 bubbles ianismyname, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a meal did not stay”
 of 5 bubbles cravenwatson, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 8, 9, 10 and 11 are in a separate new building but it's less than 10 metres away across a small paved area.”
 of 5 bubbles Gerrije, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Roads to the coast are very bendy expect an hour travel.”
 of 5 bubbles jonW134, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I imagine a room positioned at the back of the hotel would be quieter...”
 of 5 bubbles Seenoff, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay