We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Sunderland Central

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Sunderland Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 217: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Sunderland Central
 Click to rate
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel was very clean and tidy. Rome was clean and well presented and had tea and coffee making facilities. Hotel was very central to everything. Desk staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Car parking was terrible. Get there early or you wont get a parking space.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
Norton
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This was one of the better Travelodges for its general cleanliness and decorative order. It is centrally placed for the local nightlife and there is a Weatherspoons next door which is handy for breakfast. The only disadvantaged to this hotel is parking. There are a limited number of spaces available and the more stupid hotel guests were double parked on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Sunderland Central, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our Sunderland Central Travelodge. We're sorry to learn of your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. Please could we ask that you contact us via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear...

Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this hotel 3 times now and it's in a really great location. Cost only £37 this time (have got it for less too) and you can't really argue at that price. Our room looked out onto the church. There's a few more bars opened along that stretch now so we were woken a couple of times by some of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clayton1967
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Sunderland Central, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is an absolute delight to hear you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us, especially our hotels handy location and our team members high level of service. We will ensure the hotel team receives a copy of your kind feedback and we do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Ramsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very happy with our stay in Sunderland Travelodge Central, plus it was a great location . The Hotel was very clean and the staff all very pleasant and helpful . Thank you so much we will definitely stay there again the next time we visit .

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephenbU5839FR
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Sunderland Central, responded to this review

Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and thank you for taking the time for reviewing our Sunderland Central Travelodge. It pleases us to learn your room was clean and comfortable and you found our hotel to be an ideal location for your needs. We can assure you we will be passing on your comments to the team at the hotel...

South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean, tidy, every thing needed for few days away. Needs some soft furnishings, table and chairs in the room to make a really comfortable stay. Wi fi needs to be paid for....about 30mins free. Will be staying there again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank edwardtate
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Sunderland Central, responded to this review

We fully appreciate that you have taken the time to leave your positive comments regarding your stay at Sunderland Central Travelodge. Your feedback is really important and detailed comments like yours will help us improve our guest experience. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and that you received a high level of service from...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in this hotel last night and couldn't fault it. The location is perfect, a metro station is very close and so is the town for shopping. There is literally a whetherspoons underneath the hotel and some clubs around, the Main Street for clubs also seems to be a couple of minutes walk away. When we arrived I was worried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bunnybumboo
South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a stay to see a show at the sunderland empire, the stay was comfortable and a short walk to the theatre I would recommend the Travel Lodge Sunderland central as a very good option if taking a theatre break

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank F355QEjamesw
Brough
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was clean and tidy the shower and bath was very relaxing would use again as been there twice before and both stays where excellent. The location is ideal for shopping as its only a 5 min walk. There is the Weatherspoons beneath the hotel where you can get a good cheap breakfast ready for the day ahead

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Y5735RVpaulb
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Sunderland Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We want all our guests to enjoy their time with us and we are really pleased to learn that this was achieved and that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of your room. It is also our aim to offer accommodation in convenient locations and we are happy that this...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ended up going to the wrong hotel first because both Sunderland Travelodges have "Central" in their name but it was very easy to find. The room was spacious and when booked for 3 adults we had one double bed and two singles. The location was good although parking was minimal, and its right next door to a Wetherspoons. We did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natalie O
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Sunderland Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you found your room to be of great value and that your overall experience was a positive one, however we are so sorry for the noise you experienced. Our more central locations may be noisier however to ensure our guests are comfortable we do...

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed for one night due to going to see a show which was walking distance away, the staff were very welcoming it was all clean and tidy, slept well, the heating was just right when we got to our room

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Charles B

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0.8 km away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
1.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 11 in Sunderland
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
#7 of 11 in Sunderland
772 reviews
3.4 km away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sunderland
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Sunderland Central

Address: Low Row, Sunderland SR1 3PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Price Range: $62 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Sunderland Central 2*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Sunderland Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Travel Lodge Sunderland
Sunderland Travel Lodge
Sunderland Travelodge
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
#3 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Sunderland Central staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Sunderland Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Booked this on business account”
 of 5 bubbles nkosanak, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book early”
 of 5 bubbles traceyo498, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Business floor”
 of 5 bubbles 28raymondj, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A room on the front overlooking the car park would probably be quieter as this borders St Michael's Way rather than Low Row.”
 of 5 bubbles nickg812, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“south facing rooms are quieter although we had no issues with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles grumpy123456, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5