Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel

Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel

Traveller (62)
Premier Inn bedroom with tea/coffee-making facilities
Room & Suite (23)
Brewers Fayre restaurant
Dining (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 11 hotels in Sunderland
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Premier Inn Hotel Sunderland A19/A1231 is in a great location for business guests and holidaymakers alike. We're just off the main route into Sunderland so you're well placed for whatever you've got planned. Perhaps you're coming to watch the athletics at Gateshead Stadium, or even to do some running yourself in the Great North Run. Or maybe you're planning on exploring the long stretches of stunning coastline, or seeing a match at the Stadium of Light. Whatever you're doing, back at the hotel you'll find a lovely Brewers Fayre meal and a comfy bed waiting for you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Parking
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles697 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel garners praise for its welcoming atmosphere and well-maintained, spacious rooms. Guests consistently highlight the cleanliness, with particular appreciation for immaculate accommodations and fresh towels. While the rooms are generally well-received, some travelers have experienced issues with temperature control. The hotel's location is popular for its beach proximity and ease of access to local attractions. Travelers find the hotel offers great value and commend the friendly service, though a few have encountered slow service. Amenities such as good breakfast options are appreciated, albeit with some limitations in cooling and dining space.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
697Reviews7Q+A77Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 424
  • 151
  • 71
  • 27
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dave w wrote a review Feb 2024
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Danielle on the reception is always professional,
friendly and helpful. I have been staying here a few weeks now for work and all staff seem to be friendly. This includes the restaurant next door.but only time I have had a problem Danielle got it sorted on no time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary S wrote a review Aug 2021
Doncaster, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This premier inn is not the newest however the location just off the A19 was ideal for what we required near to Sunderland. The room we booked was perfectly adequate and although no cooling aid conditioning , there was a fan in the room on our arrival. We had a relaxing night with no disturbance or noise. The staff and associated public house (Wessington) are the icing on the cake. I can't fault any of the staff we met including cleaning staff we randomly passed in the corridors who would stop what they were doing to offer a hello, I would like to highlight Lisa in the restaurant as also being very friendly and profficient in her duties.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Steph D wrote a review Jan 2020
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this hotel due to its location to the stadium of light as my son and his dad were attending the home game of Sunderland football club. We travelled from the Isle of Wight to visit family and the pub being located on the front of the hotel was a bonus as it meant our family and friends could visit us there.
Extremely comfortable beds and staff members extremely helpful, special mention of shola who couldn’t be more helpful. Very friendly and professional.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris S wrote a review Sep 2021
Strathaven, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Premier Inn is usually my "go to" when staying away in the UK for a night or two. I won't be returning to this one. We had room 101 which was much larger than a standard PI room. However, the wifi didn't cover the entire room, the water pressure was low and the bed was surprisingly uncomfortable. Despite being a room for two of us there was only one towel. We booked the meal deal covering both dinner and breakfast, however when we went down in the morning they had no record of this and so we had a long wait while they tried to work out what had happened (we later found out that they had put us for breakfast against the wrong date! The day before we left we agreed that we could keep the room until 1pm so we could get changed for a funeral. The next day when I went to renew my key for the extra hour the (different) receptionist said that it wasn't guaranteed and if the cleaners were ready to clean the room they would simply walk in and start cleaning.

Our room overlooked the car park so was quiet but one of our party overlooked the busy main road and therefore couldn't open his windows.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Responded Sep 28, 2021
Hi, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to a number of issues within the room. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. In future, our Reception team are on hand 24/7 and so we would advise speaking with the team as soon as any issues arise to help resolve this whilst you're still in-house. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Kayleigh
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MikeGJuly21 wrote a review Jul 2021
Bedford, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Not the normal standard we have come to expect from PI.
Arrived for dinner after a 5 hour drive, with many items missing from the menu.
Then went to check in at 10:30pm, to find one of our 3 rooms had no power, we were told "just use it and we will get it fixed in the morning" so a pitch black shower was deemed acceptable by PI was it?
We were informed other rooms were available but because we were staying 2 nights we could not change rooms. Then told 4 hours to fix it by maintenance, 3 am no way, not acceptable.
To be fair to the night guy he tried hard and at about midnight discovered that it was the kettle tripping out all of the power, so we could go to bed.
He even offered us Breakfast vouchers, which, we declined because we had already been told they had no sausages for breakfast! - total shambles!
As you say "we're so confident you'll have a great night's sleep that, if you don't, we'll give you your money back" - I'm waiting?
We had 3 rooms for this trip, 2 of which, clearly need a revamp, with damaged walls missing bath handles (I have all the photographs) and very tired decor.
Not sure I will be using PI again based on this experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Responded Aug 2, 2021
Hello, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us due to problems with your allocated rooms and unavailable items on the breakfast and evening meal menus. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for our guests. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. If you haven't done so already we would encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Team about this. You can give the team a call on 0333 003 0025 (option 1) lines are open Monday to Friday 9am – 5pm. Alternatively, you can get in touch through our feedback form which can be found online under the 'Contact us' section of our website. Again, our sincere apologies and thank you for taking the time to share your review. We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to one of our hotels again soon for a more enjoyable stay. Kind regards, Lauren
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Expedition613168 wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We could not fault this Premier Inn, the staff were more than helpful and very friendly and cheerful. The room was clean to a very high standard. The bed was a bit soft for my liking and as I am only 5 ft tall was a bit high!!! We ate breakfast and evening meal in the attached Brewers Fayre which we also found very good and excellant value for money. The menu was slightly reduced due to covid. I would definitely stay at this Premier Inn again when visiting family in Sunderland
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
joannepatterson3 wrote a review Jul 2022
Perth, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Having arrived as the warm weather approched the staff we so helpful with extra fans in the rooms and happy to replenish with clean towels etc.
Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We have stayed here 3 times now and always find it clean,comfortable and friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jacqualine2022 wrote a review Jun 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As always very good. Visit often to see family and can’t fault it. Lindsay always very friendly and helpful. Close to the centre of Sunderland. Rooms always clean when we arrive. If you are there for more than one night because of since Covid the rooms are not automatically cleaned every day you just ask for it to be done and they will do it no problem. There is also a Brewers Fayre attached to the Premier Inn.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John G wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This premier Inn is well situated for my needs, The restaurant is busy so food can often take a while but no complaints from me. The hotel has an older part and a newer extension. The walk round to the newer part is a fair trek but worth it as the rooms are new.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
linda r wrote a review Dec 2023
Stirling, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Functionable hotel with very friendly staff. issues dealt with very promptly. The shower was over the bath therefore would request an accessible room. The breakfast was normal for a premier inn, unfortunately the restaurant is in need of refurbishment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ray N asked a question Oct 2018
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
What is the quickest way from Hotel to Newcastle centre? Thanks
Answer from WhitbreadHotels
Luton1 contribution6 helpful votes
Hello Batty, All accessible rooms at this hotel are located on the ground floor with a wet room :) Kind Regards, Sharelle
Jane N asked a question Jun 2017
1 contribution2 helpful votes
how far away from hotel is cliff park in sunderland?
Answer from WhitbreadHotels
Luton1 contribution6 helpful votes
Hi Jane It's approximately 5 miles to Cliffe Park from the hotel which will take around 15 minutes in a car. Kind regards Elaine
Susan S wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you have your coat handy as you're going to need it when you have to stand in the car park when the alarm goes off"
Read full review
MamaDoig wrote a tip Feb 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing around this hotel. Definitely need a car. "
Read full review
Marie D wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"As for breakfast on Sundays at the Brewers Fayre, make sure you sit at a table early as it tends to get crowded."
Read full review
Shaun I wrote a tip Sep 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early for a cheaper price"
Read full review
Billy H wrote a tip Aug 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"N/A"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sunderland area.
PRICE RANGE
C$67 - C$181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn sunderland a19/a1231 hotel sunderland
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearSunderland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
89
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Strategy (2.4 km), Board Inn (4.5 km), and Laser Quest Sunderland (4.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Babaji, Le Olive Verdi, and My Delhi Sunderland.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Washington Old Hall (4.0 km) and St Paul's Monastery, Jarrow (7.7 km).
Is Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Sunderland HotelsSunderland Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SunderlandHotels near Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars