We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

754 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 747: English reviews
Scotland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited on business and was allocated a rom in the bowels of the hotel with my window looking out directly on to the car park at eye level with the car headlights, which proved a real disturbance as cars came and went. The rooms themselves are clean but very dated and the Wi-fi, although promised was non existent in my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank belfastgirl007
Yell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had coffee with family in the cafe lounge. My latte was not hot and the two small cheese scones I was served were soggy because they had been heated in a microwave. Big deal perhaps, but surely scones and butter can't be too difficult, and will the staff ensure it will not happen again? I did not have to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lushlynn
Honolulu
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is undergoing room refurbishment so possibly the value of this review could be limited. The room was adequate, the bed was soft and reasonably comfortable. The bathroom was clean but tiling and paint work needing work. I found the hotel noisy, people walking past the room and down stairs particularly. Breakfast was quite good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inths
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. As you have mentioned the hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment of our bedrooms and therefore can only assume the bedroom that you were allocated was one of the bedrooms needing to be completed. We are certain that when you return to our hotel...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a great location, a stones throw from the beach and just over a mile away to the Stadium of Light. Great reception staff and easy check in. Room was a compact double but had good facilities, bathroom a tad on the chilly side as towel rail didn't work but everything else was fine, bed comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind works and it is good to know that the teams hard work is appreciated. We do work tirelessly and listen to our guests to improve our services and it is fantastic to have your recognition and yours comments are the best reward our team can wish for. We do apologize for the problems...

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in a party of 14 that visited the Roker Hotel for lunch on New Years day with very mixed results. The service was about the worst I have ever experienced but the response to our complaints was the very best. We had the table booked for 2.30 pm and at ten minutes to three no one had been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernest R
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your time posting a review as we do take them seriously as they are shared team and we are sorry that initially your experience was not to our usual standards or customers expectation. Please rest assured that we have taken your constructive criticism on board and will certainly endeavour to improve on our performance and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed at the roker hotel for two nights , it was very friendly clean and got everything we asked for . The room was a good size clean good ,size tv , the rooms are being up graded, my room hadn't been done but didn't look like it needed doing . Very nice breakfast all cooked to order and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive R
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your time posting a review as we do take them seriously and they are shared with the whole team and it is with great joy that our efforts were rewarded with such a positive feedback We look forward to your next visit with the promise to continue to improve our services Yours sincerely Management Team

Wiltshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This stay was one of many that I have had at this hotel. All my visits have been with friends for football trips or with my partner to visit family in the area and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Value for money is fantastic and the staff are friendly, helpful and professional. Special mention to Caroline in the 'Poetic License...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SAFCMARK
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking time to post a review and we would also like to thank you for the positive feedback which has been taken by all of us as a reward and it is nice to know that our hard work is recognised and appreciated. The team has been making an effort to improve our guests overall...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm often here for small business/social meetings for a drink, usually once every 3 or 4 weeks. The atmosphere is always great and not over crowded or roudy. The drinks are reasonably priced and there's always somewhere to sit in peace even when it's busy. There is also plenty outdoor seating with heaters ect. The staff are friendly and are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrWillFoxx
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your time posting a review as we do take them seriously and they are shared with the whole team and is with great joy that our efforts were rewarded with such a positive feedback. You have mentioned an issue regarding the car parking at the hotel but we would like to inform you that the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel itself but we enquired about having our wedding reception there, had several meetings to discuss requirements etc for them to turn around just before we booked to tell us if our guests wanted to stop over they had to book a minimum stay of 2 nights in the hotel which is their policy between May-September but it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie L
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Firstly please accept our apologies for the disappointing experience you have encountered at our hotel. As you have mentioned the hotel does have a number of policies and procedures in place and the events team did endeavour to explain these to you but unfortunately there was additional problems. We have since contacted you to discuss the currently policy...

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here 30/12/2016, our room had view of back lane, there was a spider in bathroom, bed was rock hard and the pillows.... worst nights sleep the pillows were like concrete. Come 5am there was either a delivery or bin men that woke us up! Wife decided to have bath before breakfast to find another creature in the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dancain13
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest First and foremost, we feel extremely disappointed that you had cause to complain following your visit and feel that you were let down by the experience. Once again and on behalf of the Team we extend our sincere apologies and please rest assured that we have taken your criticism on board and will certainly endeavour to improve on...

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
1.0 km away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sunderland
652 reviews
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 11 in Sunderland
233 reviews
2.6 km away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
0.0 km away
The Pullman
The Pullman
#10 of 11 in Sunderland
149 reviews
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Italian Farmhouse Sunderland
Italian Farmhouse Sunderland
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Let There Be Crumbs
Let There Be Crumbs
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Best Western Roker Hotel is situated overlooking the North Sea & Roker Pier. Boasting 43 boutique style bedrooms and 2 function venues for events for up to 350 people, suitable for weddings, corporate dinners, charity events, christenings and much more, we also house three bustling eating and drinking establishments. Open to residents and non-residents alike Let There Be Crumbs tearoom, Poetic License bar and Italian Farmhouse restaurant can all be enjoyed under our one roof. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel

Address: Roker Terrace, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Price Range: $75 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunderland
Roker Hotel Sunderland
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
sunderland
11 days ago
Tividale, West Midlands
7 months ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room that does not face on to cr park at ground level”
 of 5 bubbles belfastgirl007, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No Wifi reception in room 114”
 of 5 bubbles redsterfootball, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 793ernestr, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay at the Hotel, just are Christmas Lunch.”
 of 5 bubbles 399eh, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for sea view you won't be disappointed”
 of 5 bubbles 488cathrinet, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay