We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Torrance Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Torrance Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

524 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 521: English reviews
Start your review of Torrance Hotel
 Click to rate
glasgow
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great night .cheap aswell..it was a tribute night .lovely hotel .will be back.had a meal which was nice .went down to the bar which was buzzing ..cocktails were£5. Pint was £2.90for a hotel this is great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluemash
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great meal with a choice of set menu or a la carte. Conservatory with tables or can sit in a booth or at tables in the main bar. Food was excellent. This is my second visit in the last two months and both times both staff and service was excellent. Average 3 course approx. £30 This included one bottle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

5 of us stayed overnight with the 'Girls night' offer. Rooms were beautiful and well maintained. Meal and cocktail master class was great. Our host for the masterclass helped us choose 2 delicious cocktails to make. Fruit pastille and daiquiri- yum! Slept well in comfy bed and breakfast was super. Highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I reviewed this establishment in December after a disappointing experience on a Michael Buble Tribute night. That time my grievance was around poor service at the bar and the fact we didn't get the entertainment we expected due to the last minute replacement to the entertainment as the tribute act was ill. I did indeed complain to the General Manager,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Firstly The hotel is lovely inside and out, however our stay wasn't as enjoyable as we would have liked. The restaurant food was terrible which resulted in me sending back both mine and my fianceés Starters AND main courses. When we complained to the manager he did clear our bill however we were told that we would be provided with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme F
Edinburgh
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Can't fault the staff very friendly and beautiful hotel. Downside was the noise from corridor as kids were running about from the previous wedding and the beds were uncomfortable due to the wooden frame around the mattress. Gluten free and dairy free option well catered for.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
Glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Staff absolutely lovely so friendly and attentive but for some reason even when it's not particularly busy the bar service is always slow. Food is always lovely and fresh. Good atmosphere and never seen any trouble in here , no undesirables 🙊

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynseym101
Torrance H, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lynseym101, Thank you for your review on your recent visit. It is lovely to read great feedback from our guests therefore it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoy visiting our hotel and that you find our staff friendly and attentive. It is also great to hear the food is to your liking. I can only apologise about...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

An experience not to be repeated. The service was appalling. One meal was not sent to the kitchen to be prepared. The music was so loud that you could not hold a conversation. Drink orders took a long time to come. It was so disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meeshaanddaisy
Torrance H, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear meeshaanddaisy, Thank you for your review on your recent visit. I am extremely disappointed to hear your recent visit in our restaurant was less than adequate. Your feedback is very important to us therefore please if you would like to pass this on contact our Deputy General Manager on 01355 225241 or garylovatt@thetorrancehotel.co.uk. Thank you and please accept my...

Levallois-Perret
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect quality for this hotel Located along a road, we could think that it will be noisy but not at all, it was even very quiet Breakfast was also perfect Very good appreciation overall We will come back !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philippecC9342YV
Torrance H, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear philippecC9342YV, Thank you for your review on your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your entire stay here with us at The Torrance Hotel. It is always lovely to read such great feedback as it is important to our team that all of our guests have a wonderful stay. It is also a pleasure to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had an excellent stay at the Torrance hotel. The package was £69.95 which included a 2 course dinner,a cocktail masterclass, bed and breakfast. The hotel is very Modern, the food was excellent and the service was friendly. A excellent stay overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
Torrance H, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracy C, Thank you for your review on your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed staying here with us on our Cocktail Masterclass Package. This package is a great experience allowing our guests to enjoy every aspect of our hotel throughout their stay and it is wonderful to hear such great feedback regarding the food...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
5.8 km away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
493 reviews
22.1 km away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
560 reviews
7.9 km away
Redhurst Hotel
Redhurst Hotel
#55 of 96 in Glasgow
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,372 reviews
19.1 km away
Normandy Hotel
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
1,767 reviews
0.8 km away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Price Range: $156 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torrance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland, UK
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in East Kilbride
#3 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Torrance Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Torrance Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Honeymoon suite. ”
 of 5 bubbles Jonean, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 9 if you want a shower”
 of 5 bubbles Navid2013, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 14 good, room 17 not for me.”
 of 5 bubbles moiraw818, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not ground floor (not room 2)”
 of 5 bubbles Squinkydink, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from rooms on the same level as the function hall, there is no soundproofing in the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles verydisappointed782, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5