We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Torrance Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Torrance Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

543 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Torrance Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 540: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the honeymoon suite and our room was fantastic. Incredibly spacious and roomy. Upon check in we reserved a table at the restaurant. We were given our own booth. Which was great. Overall meal quality was good and staff went out to all the stops for us. Only downside was being unable to get more alcohol in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your extensive and complimentary review of our facilities and staff at the Torrance,particularly your comments regarding our refurbished Honrymoon Spa which includes sauna,steam room and sunken jacuzzi bath complete with smart TV.We have aimed to create a first class facility and find it both motivational and rewarding when our guest's feedback...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Booked the table on the web easy and stressful free, on our arrival made most welcome and giving a choice of tables as it was a bit quiet. Waiter was helpful and polite, We both chose from the pre theatre menu not because of the price but the food that we fancied we both had black pudding and poached egg,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your lunch experience,in particular your comments regarding our new online reservation system which not only reminds you of your reservation but will automatically ask for a review after you have dined.This feedback similar to your own enables us to track our service and product and feeds directly in to the extensive training...

Zoetermeer
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Having an office in East Kilbride I expected finding a decent hotel would be very difficult, was I wrong The Torrance is a very nice hotel, great rooms, clean, modern.......good restaurant, my only comment would be that breakfast isn't great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very complimentary review of The Torrance and all its facilities.In refurbishing the hotel we have tried to offer a high quality product which should be echoed in the food service and staff alike and it is very motivational for the team to receive comments such as your own.I am sorry that breakfast does not seem to...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Just been to a excellent paw patrol & minions party with my 5 year old son, excellent entertainment & good choice of sandwiches and cakes and hot buffet, choice of juices and tea and coffee, well worth the money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali P
James M, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ali thanks for taking the time to post your review of our Paw Patrol event.Your comments were certainly echoed by all who attended,particularly our young Paw Patrolers.Just so you are aware this event is not unique to the Torrance but is scheduled at all of our Manorview sister hotels and can be enjoyed throughout the year .Further information can...

Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

my husband and I stayed in the honeymoon suite the night of our wedding. the hotel room is lovely, and the private spa on the upper floor of the suite really adds a special touch! the only downside to the room is that there were no lights on etc when we entered the room. the room key card is needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorna D
James M, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Honeymoon Spa.We fully realise how hectic a schedule you have had with your celebrations and fully appreciate your efforts.In most cases our Spa with its Jacuzzt bath, sauna, steam room and complimenting smart tv is the icing on the cake for most wedding couples after what has been a perfect but...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

We paid £120 for an overnight stay. Room was nicely decorated and clean but very small, not at all what I would expect for the price. We were able to hear every sound and movement from the room next door. Overall it wasn't terrible but didn't match my expectations for the room price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VMcDSE
James M, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed in your room on this occasion.Unfortunately as we were full at this time you were allocated our last room which is adjoining.I would urge you to contact me at the hotel in order to discuss this further and we can organise an upgrade for your next visit.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 June 2016

We didn't stay at this hotel so can't comment on the accommodation. We had lunch here on a week-day and it was all good with generous portions even if you order (as I did) the mini haddock and chips. A very comfortable place to have lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nanadunlop9
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad that you have taken the time to share your lunch experience and would say that the menu you refer to is one of our most popular with 2 courses for £16.95 .I would thoroughly recommend our Two course and a bottle of wine for 2 at £35 or our recently launched Two course meal and bottle...

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2016

I took my mother out for Saturday lunch to the Torrance, we had a bit of a wait for the food (did not realise cup final day very busy) our meals arrived presentation excellent the food tasted even better well worth the wait. We received a very sincere apology for waiting and got our drinks complimentary which added a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcdonaldjacqueline
James M, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jackie As you comment it was a very busy cup final day and our waiting time was slightly longer than normal but thank you for being so understanding and I am glad you enjoyed your special lunch and the party atmosphere which carried on throughout the day.Look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Wonderful little hotel, excellently appointed, great rooms, highly furnished, excellent prices with friendly knowledgeable staff. Stayed one night for business but would not think twice about staying again for business or pleasure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and its facilities.As you suggest why nit take advantage of our new leisure dinner bed and breakfast rates or join us for one of our popular tribute nights the details of which can be obtained on our website. Please contact me personally when rebooking and look forward to seeing you again...

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Well appointed room, good food, helpful and attentive staff, excellent bar, delightful décor, good audio system. The waterproof TV and whirlpool bath particularly appreciated. This is a wedding hotel at heart, so their local reputation is paramount. There were a couple of problems with the room technology- but they were fixed as quickly as I needed them to be.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrunoSep2013
James M, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for placing such generous comments regarding all our facilities at the Torrance.In our refurbishment we have tried to create a high quality venue which is at the same time relaxing for our guests and it is indeed very motivational to receive responses like your own which endorse these ideals. We have also endeavoured to match the quality of...

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
5.7 km away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
534 reviews
22.2 km away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
582 reviews
3.7 km away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
349 reviews
7.9 km away
Redhurst Hotel
Redhurst Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
199 reviews
19.1 km away
Normandy Hotel
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Price Range: $142 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torrance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland, UK
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in East Kilbride
#3 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Torrance Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Torrance Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Brighter lighting/mirror at desk/dressing table ”
janisholmes, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Apart from backing onto car park, none, room very clean”
219mildredl, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Only here for afternoon tea not resident. ”
GranPan, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upstairs room ”
woodruffjones, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite. ”
Jonean, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5