We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Spring House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Spring House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Spring House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 267: English reviews
North Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 August 2015

A Grand Historic Hotel with sweeping views, but don't be fooled in to thinking you will get luxury accommodations that go along with the highly priced room rates. Most of the people interacting with guests are college-age folks who are very kind but absolutely clueless regarding hospitality. I was waiting to receive significant info regarding a room change from the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank A G
Management response:

We were sorry to read this review and upper management has been notified. The Spring House Hotel prides it's self on customer service. We want to treat each guest like a VIP from the moment they arrive to the moment they leave. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We do hope we have the chance to earn your...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Had a great 4-night stay at the Spring House Hotel. When we checked in, we weren't thrilled with our initial room, but Kevin the desk manager worked with us to find a room that we were very happy with, and were fortunate that there were a few room options available to us for our mid-week stay. Overall, the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brad781
Tanya B, Public Relations Manager at Spring House Hotel, responded to this review

Brad, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm very glad to hear that your visit was able to be improved, and that our staff was accommodating. We hope to see you again! Tanya Brenton Social Media/Public Relations

Canton, Ohio
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We recently returned from a wedding on Block Island and stayed at Spring House Hotel (Mott House) it was a very clean and grounds and views amazing. The staff was friendly and courteous, especially Kevin who went out of his way to help us. It was like going back to the era of the 1920's so quaint and charming. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandy S
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write these kind words about our hotel and staff. Each and every day our staff aims to exceed expectations and reading this review lets us know they did just that. We are glad you enjoyed the view and we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Cheers!

Long Island, New York
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We stayed there for two nights in a standard room. We wanted a suite but there was only one room available in the whole place. We wanted to stay Tuesday - Thursday but they said that with a child, Thursday may not have been a good idea because the room available was right over the Bistro and there would be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wa_ha_ka
Tanya B, Public Relations Manager at Spring House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. I am very glad to hear you were impressed with our staff and your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Tanya Brenton Social Media/Public Relations

Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 22 July 2015

We had our first weekend on Block Island and I knew I wanted to stay at The Spring House after seeing it on a day trip many years ago. It is an historic hotel, so I certainly knew not to expect a modern-day hotel. It was just my husband and myself on a weekend get-away and we wanted to experience...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TLHM
Tanya B, Public Relations Manager at Spring House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this honest review! We appreciate your kind words, along with your criticisms. Your comments on the bathrooms and drapes have been brought up to management. I'm very glad that you enjoyed our restaurant, and we hope to see you again soon! Tanya Brenton Social Media/Public Relations

Burlington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 July 2015

We started in the Mott House immediately adjacent to the main building. Weather was very hot and humid but we had AC so it was cool and comfortable. Beautiful view of the gardens and very quiet. The veranda, or Adirondack chairs on the sprawling lawn are lovely any time of day. Breakfast cafe, bar and restaurant service are excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn B
Tanya B, Public Relations Manager at Spring House Hotel, responded to this review

MaryAnn, It sounds like you had an enjoyable visit, and I am so glad to hear so! I hope you visit us again. Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments. Tanya Brenton Social Media/Public Relations

New York City, New York
Reviewed 12 July 2015

We've been going to Spring House for six years. The grounds are beautiful & as you approach the Spring House, it's a gorgeous, majestic Victorian structure. Simply grand. Last year we were disappointed by what seems to be a lot of cutting back. We own a small business, so we understand how important it is to manage costs - but...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Zumbagirlnyc
Management response:

Thank You for making the Spring House Hotel a tradition for the past six years. We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations this year and we have shared your comments with upper management. We have changed our coffee vender and we always allow guests extra coffee packs if they ask for them at no charge. We...

Reviewed 10 July 2015

We stayed the 5th-10th of July and enjoyed every minute. Our room was at the back of the house and with the exception of the family party on the terrace one afternoon, it was extremely peaceful. We were especially pleased that we could not hear the happy times being had during martini night on Thursday when we went back to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colette R
Tanya B, Public Relations Manager at Spring House Hotel, responded to this review

Colette, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Martini Night is great fun, but I am also glad that you were able to retreat from the party. I appreciate your feedback and tips for potential customers. Thank you, Tanya Brenton Social Media/Public Relations

Reviewed 8 July 2015

The Spring House is a beautiful hotel, you cant argue that. Its the perfect place to watch the sunrise. The restaurant is fine dining and they have a awesome cocktail lawn and outside bar. Its a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WaterMoth
Management response:

Thank You for your kind words. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here at the Spring House Hotel. We know that a favorite feature of our hotel is the view that you get overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We hope we have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future. Cheers!

Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

The most relaxing experience on Block Island is the springhouse hotel I returned it every year for a comfortable stay it's run by the Di Biase family whose presence is seen daily running the operations the rooms are immaculate the towels and shower was a luxurious experience The staff is polite and accommodating The food Is fresh and appetizing due...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barbara I
Tanya B, Public Relations Manager at Spring House Hotel, responded to this review

Barbara, We appreciate your kind comments and your loyalty. We take great pride in our building and in our food. I'm very glad you continue to enjoy your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, Tanya Brenton Social Media/Public Relations

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Shoreham
0.3 km away
Hotel Manisses
Hotel Manisses
#2 of 7 in Block Island
75 reviews
0.7 km away
National Hotel
National Hotel
#2 of 6 in New Shoreham
234 reviews
0.8 km away
Surf Hotel Block Island
Surf Hotel Block Island
#3 of 6 in New Shoreham
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 km away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
194 reviews
27.7 km away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
298 reviews
0.1 km away
The 1661 Inn
The 1661 Inn
#2 of 27 in New Shoreham
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Spring House Hotel, built in 1852, is Block Island's largest and oldest hotel. Set atop a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean as well as the spring from which we take our name, the property provides views which cannot be beat. Being a ten minute walk from Old Harbor, the Spring House provides an oasis which can be enjoyed from our Adirondack chairs, wrap-around porch, and East overlook patio. Great pride is taken in our seed-to-table mission in both of our two on-site restaurants. Three gardens and a greenhouse provide fresh produce creating delicious dining options on both our Dining Room and Bistro menus. Simply choose your preference of formal or casual food and setting upon arrival. Indoor and outdoor seating is available for both. Between the Main Building and the Mott House (an Annex Building located 20 yards away), there are 50 hotel rooms to rent, ranging from 1-bed standards up to studios and suites. Two apartments and four houses are also available to rent on property, as well as off-property Town Homes. Block Island thrives during the summer, between Memorial Day and Labor Day. During this time, all of the above-listed dining and hotel options are available. Outside of this time frame, the Dining Room menu is closed. The Bistro menu remains open along with the Main Building Hotel from April through October. The Spring House Hotel provides a beautiful setting for weddings and special events which are frequently hosted on the weekends. In the effort to provide our nuptial couples the exclusive setting, our food and beverage outlets may be closed during these events. During the off-season (November-April), the Main Building Hotel is closed and only our Barn Suites and Houses are available for rent. Last winter was the grand opening of The Barn Restaurant, providing an intimate dining experience Wednesdays-Sundays for dinner only. The restaurant, fitting only 30-35 patrons, features an open-concept kitchen and a truly unique experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spring House Hotel

Address: 52 Spring Street, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island > New Shoreham
Price Range: $341 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spring House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Spring House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Hotel Block Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Spring House Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Fall River, Massachusetts
7 months ago
Ramsey, New Jersey
Boston, Massachusetts
over a year ago
Boston, Massachusetts
Hampton Bays, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Spring House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can book a room, just book one as they will not last long!”
jmdig55, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the Third Floor Northwest corner. Very quiet, great views but no elevator if you have difficulty with stairs”
203susann, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Most all rooms have a great view. We had a corner, northwest side and was excellent.”
M269FYjonathanc, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would go to another hotel.”
GACRhodeIsland, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Could use a tabletop or counter space in bathroom. New pedestal sink but nowhere to place your toiletries”
419essieg, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5