We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Hotel Herman Bang

Save
Share
Tordenskjoldsgade 3, Frederikshavn 9900 Denmark
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-06
eDreams
Booking.comUS$90
getaroom.comUS$127
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 15 hotels in Frederikshavn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang is the oldest hotel in the city of Frederikshavn. The hotel has 53 renovated and refurbished rooms in different categories. THe hotel is situated in the heart of the city close to shopping, restaurants, harbour and the train station. Free wireless internet.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Danish
270Reviews0Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 102
  • 83
  • 53
  • 18
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
frunzad38 wrote a review Aug. 2021
1 contribution
The hotel is very central and the personal was very helpful and nice. We have had breakfast and dinner and the kitchen, specially the dinner was over our expectations. Delicious Our bathroom was bit tiny but nice and very good organised. We enjoyed our stay a lot
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Aaron M wrote a review Oct. 2019
1 contribution
We stayed at a BnB run by Best Western in Fredrikshavn Denmark and the two managers there were the most rude and unhelpful managers that I have ever had the displeasure to meet. The webpage advertised a shared lounge/tv area, a games area - pool table and table football, a tv in the room and coffee making facilities. NONE of these were at our BnB! They removed the games area, the shared tv lounge and the coffee making facilities, and the tv in our room didn’t work. We were traveling with two young children so were relying on these things to make our stay easier. When we told the manager about this, she just replied “Check out then!” Neither the old woman that we spoke to or the other manager called Lars tried to help us at all. It was the worst service I’ve ever received at a hotel/hostel/BnB, and I’ve travelled to over 30 countries. DO NOT STAY HERE! They should be ashamed and sacked.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelHermanBang, Manager at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Responded Oct. 21, 2019
Dear Aaron. We are sorry for missing Pooltable and Table football. This room is under construction and is closed off. For this misinformation we ofcourse accepted that you could find another hotel with no charge for the next days that was booked with us as a Nonrefundable rate. Also we offered you a later check out that gave you time to search for an alternative solution. Again, we are sorry for the misinformation. Hotel Herman Bang. Lars Dannervig. Manager
Read more
madatraveling wrote a review Aug. 2019
3 contributions
When making the booking, the hotel said that it only had business rooms available so we had to upgrade by paying 27 euro per person per night. However, the hotel was clearly empty when we arrived. Moreover, the parking is over 10 euro per night which is not specified anywhere. We had an offer of "alt går i fisk" which meant that all our meals were covered. However, the restaurant doesn't offer any vegetarian or fish meals whatsoever. Overall, horribly overpriced for the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelHermanBang, Front desk at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Responded Aug. 24, 2019
Dear Madalina, Thank you for your response, your feedback is important to us. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. When people call to book the offer '' alt går i fisk '', it may be that all the standard room are booked. We can offer you upgrading for an extra fee, if you do not want this you are welcome to refuse and possibly come up with a different date for your stay. Parking in our parking lot we offer at an extra cost, if you do not want to use this you are always welcome to find other parking around the city. You will find information about parking in your confirmation, that it is possible to park at the hotel for an extra fee. Regarding the restaurant we unfortunately have no fish dishes. It is possible to get vegetarian dishes such as pizza or burger. During your stay here our hotel were fully booked. Again we are sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Hope you have a great summer. Best regards Karoline Andersen Front desk Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Read more
ofenec259527 wrote a review Jul. 2019
1 contribution
The hotel is lovely, food is excellent and most importantly the staff is very helpful, polite and kind. We recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone visiting this beautiful area of Denmark. Well done!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelHermanBang, Front desk at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Responded Jul. 19, 2019
Thank you so much for your kind word, it means a lot to us. We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. We would love to welcome you again another time, if you are visiting Frederikshavn again. Have a great summer :-) Best regards Karoline Andersen Front desk Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Read more
mark wrote a review May 2019
Portsmouth, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
having stayed at the same hotel again on another business trip i am able to report that the next hotel room was a lot better than the last (417) i believe that this was one of the best rooms in the hotel and was exactly what you want from a hotel. nice layout, decent size bathroom and a comfy bed, however please read below as rooms do vary and this was a lot better. the hotel was of a reasonable standard and the staff were very nice. there was a couple of little problems with the room i had (219), 1- the bathroom extractor fan sounded like a jet engine was about to take off next to me. 2- there was no heater in the bathroom so when you got up in the night or in the morning to use the toilet or the shower, it was absolutely freezing. apart from this the room was ok, the breakfast was nothing special, the usual bread and cereals with one little station for some very salty and well cooked bacon, some scrambled eggs and some very small sausages.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: do not get room 219
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelHermanBang, Front desk at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Responded May 10, 2019
Dear Mark, Thank you for your response, it means a lot to us. Due to the variation is that the rooms are completely different, 219 is a twin room with separate beds, and room 417 is a suite. We are sorry that the room and the breakfast didn't live up to your expectations. Hope to see you again. Best Regards Karoline Andersen Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
DenmarkJutlandNorth JutlandFrederikshavn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
73
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
Nearby attractions include Frederikshavn Kirke (0.2 km), Krudttaarnet (0.3 km), and Freddy's bar (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Gratvaerk, Cafe Staehr, and Smorgaasen Restaurant.
Is Best Western Hotel Herman Bang located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Frederikshavn.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Danish.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bangsbo Museum (2.9 km), Knivholt Hovedgaard (3.3 km), and Jernalderkaeldrene (2.8 km).