We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Viamede Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Viamede Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Viamede Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 235: English reviews
Canada
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Spent 2 nights at this resort and was disappointed with the hotel. First of all, upon checking into our room we discovered the toilet had not been cleaned properly from the previous guest (or housekeeping is non existent). The furniture needed dusting not only in the room but in the common areas etc. Construction is still going on and that...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank chacha
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear chacha, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay. We will look into the housekeeping concerns you mention. We have done extensive renovation at the resort with more to come, but we always appreciate guest feedback. Cheers, Ben

Woodbridge, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2015

This was our second time staying at Viamede. Last year we stayed in a “1 bedroom cabin” and it was pretty shabby, cramped, and definitely not what we expected. We heard there were new owners and they were updating, so we took a chance on staying again because the area was so beautiful. This year we stayed in cabin 420...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EHFoley
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear EHFoley, Thank you for your detailed review. You are correct, we have made a lot of improvements recently, with more to come this winter. I do apologize if housekeeping was not up to par during your stay. We are working to bring this in line with our guest's expectations. Cheers, Ben

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We made some great memories at Viamede Resort this summer. Fishing with my son, canoeing with my daughters and romantic moments with my wife at Mount Julian. This resort was 5 star on experience, service and food. AWESOME beds = awesome sleeps as well. Thanks you Viamede.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tony H, Thank you for your review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your family vacation. Hope to see you again soon! Cheers! Ben

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Was pleasantly surprised by our stay for business the week of September 21st. Service was fantastic. The staff really did go above and beyond to accommodate the almost 30 of us and everyone's "needs". The views were fantastic, weather was great and the food and service exceptional. Some of the cabins really DO need some updating and the construction was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Realmcc0y99
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Realmcc0y99, We enjoyed having your group here and look forward to seeing you all again! Thanks for your kind comments. Note that the pool construction will be finished in a few weeks, and the cottages will see some improvements over the winter as well. Thank you for sharing your wonderful photos! Cheers, Ben

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 October 2015

I recently went on vacation to Viamede for the 3rd time. Each visit has been great and well worth the trip from NYC, but what's most impressive is that Viamede knows how to keep things exciting for repeat customers - it had new activities, new cottages, and new menus - all of which made this trip the best one yet!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad C
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Brad C, Thank you for your review! It was great to see you again and I'm glad your group enjoyed themselves! Until next time, Ben

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We had been there before and it was average at best. Rooms are musty and dated. My wife and I thought we would give it another try because we had to be in Apsley for a charity fund raiser with our motorcycle club..the manager Ben was rude and not at all helpful..the place was under renovation and was a total...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank scott p
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear scott p, I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay. It's not my usual demeanor to be rude to guests, so I apologize if you felt that I was to you. We are building an indoor pool and fitness centre, but that certainly doesn't mean the entire resort is affected by renovation. We take safety here...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We stayed at this resort in mid September, 2015. There were many good points and many weak points. Our arrival was a bit difficult, as there were no signs for those arriving from the east. There was also no sign at the entrance. ( A workman pointed us in the right direction). The parking area was covered in stone dust...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stanita
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear stanita, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy some aspects of your stay. It is true that our rooms and cottages are not perfect. We are in the process of upgrading many things at the resort, including the addition of an indoor pool and gym, which will be completed late this fall. If you wish to discuss any...

Castries, St. Lucia
Reviewed 21 September 2015

This resort is on Stoney Lake, Ontario, two hour drive from Toronto; a great location with lots of space which affords privacy along the water with nice places to sit and enjoy the view of the lake. Good activities for children, water sports equipment, fishing poles, canoes, paddle boards and Toby the dog is a friendly bundle of love who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheTravellingPirate
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear TheTravellingPirate, Thank you for your comments. It is true, our cottages are not perfect and we do have construction happening with the addition of the indoor pool. We have been continuously upgrading the property, and the pool is scheduled to be completed in November and the cottages updated over the winter. We hope to see you again next summer!...

London, Canada
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely weekend stay with our toddler and infant. This is a great resort for children. A perfect beach, great pool and the all important playground! We were never at a loss of things to entertain our toddler! The farm was also a huge hit! A perfectly quaint, picturesque farm to table operation happening here. Our cabin was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irishkate22
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear irishkate22, Thanks for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon! Cheers! Ben

Chatham, Canada
Reviewed 11 September 2015

I found this resort very difficult to rate because there are many good things to say about it, but there are also some negatives. THE GOOD: The main building and property itself are beautiful. They provide lovely vistas of Stoney Lake. There are lots of activities available. It was nice and quiet, even though there were many children while we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John B
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear John B, Thank you for your feedback. I'm happy to hear you did enjoy your stay, the food and the setting. It is true that our rooms are not perfect, but we are working on extensive improvements throughout the resort. The Boathouse is also scheduled for a face-lift over the winter. I am surprised to hear that your room...

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kawartha
19.1 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
96 reviews
3.9 km away
Pine Vista Resort
Pine Vista Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
71 reviews
14.4 km away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
165 reviews
5.7 km away
Burleigh Falls Inn
Burleigh Falls Inn
#1 of 1 in Burleigh Falls
14 reviews
11.5 km away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Boathouse
The Boathouse
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Grill
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located only 40 minutes north of Peterborough, Viamede is nestled in the woods on the north shore of Stoney Lake, one of Ontario's most beautiful lakes. Our resort facilities are well suited to both relaxation and adventure. Explore the 165 acres of nature that Viamede offers by hiking our 6 km of private nature trails or canoeing the islands of beautiful Stoney Lake. Enjoy an evening barbecuing on your private patio or join us at the Boathouse Pub for live music, great food and cold craft beers for summer time fun. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viamede Resort

Address: 595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > North Kawartha
Hotel Class:3 star — Viamede Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Viamede Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viamede Hotel North Kawartha
Viamede Resort North Kawartha, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Viamede Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Viamede Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not bother”
 of 5 bubbles 860ginger, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great views from the cottages on the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles suesherban, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cottages provide private comfort!”
 of 5 bubbles jennalbw, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cabins are mostly all a water view, just a couple are behind so ask when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles 51shanah, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For internet the modernized hilltop rooms have the best connection along with those in the main lodge. The cabins I saw were really rustic.”
 of 5 bubbles MargaretS351, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5