We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast

10434 Horlings Rd, Lake Kathlyn, British Columbia V0J 2N2 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 B&B in Lake Kathlyn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level

B & B is in the Lake Kathlyn Area, beside Huds.Bay Mount. We are in a wildlife area right beside the Silvern Lake Trail with views to the Kathlyn Glacier, Twin Falls. The Trail is ideal for hiking a. biking in the summer and snowmobiling/X-Country in the winter.

After that you can relax in our Outdoor Hot-Tub with glacierview. All Rooms are with wildlifemotive decor and wildlife-flanellbedding, some with glacierview, separate entrance, Cozy Guest Lounge with Fireplace.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Heated pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Aerobics offsite
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Squash offsite
Walking tours
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.5 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, German
32Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 8
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
J D wrote a review Aug 2020
Prince George, Canada33 contributions11 helpful votes
Stunning views, cute little area but only a 15 min drive to town, close to twin falls,comfy beds. 2020 is a different kind of year to be a b&b but these folks have still managed to provide a great stay. Breakfast was a little different than what they would usually provide but that was expected. It was still a tasty thoughtful package.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
69davidmb wrote a review Jul 2019
Huntsville, Alabama3 contributions
Every other B&B proprietor I've ever encountered goes out of their way to ensure that guests are accommodated and comfortable. On June 26th, I made reservations at the Silvern Lake Trail B&B, whose web site lists a very narrow, 4-8 pm check-in window. Our US cell phones didn't work at all on the road to Smithers B.C. that day, and when we finally found a place with coverage, we called the B&B proprietor, Michaela Bork, to ask about our late arrival. Michaela refused to be bothered with a late check-in, and insisted we were no-shows who would not be allowed to use her B&B that night. I didn't protest much because she promised a full refund: all we would have to do was contact booking.com and have them contact her. I immediately did so, made other reservations at a different hotel, and proceeded there. As of July 8th, Silvern Lake's charge still appeared. I called Michaela to ask her why, and she said "booking.com never contacted me." I asked her to look again and after some searching, she found the booking.com e-mail. I was relieved. "Good, so I did what you asked, booking.com did what you asked, and you'll provide our refund now, like you said you would?" No, for Michaela Bork had now changed her mind. Was it because she knew that all we had was a telephonic agreement, so she could get away with it? When I implored her to keep the promise she made on the phone that night, she interrupted and lectured me about check-in times. I reminded her that her spoken word should override any previous, written policy, but she just shouted all the louder, inviting me to "go ahead" and try to dispute the charge. This is not the kind of treatment weary customers deserve while traveling or trying to get their promised money back. Other travelers have a right to know.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Julionator wrote a review Jul 2018
Vancouver, Canada209 contributions23 helpful votes
I stayed at this place in June and this month....a week each time. Working in New Hazelton but read good reviews and decides to stay here. The host was super nice and accommodating. The house is warm and welcoming. The breakfast never worked for me because I had to leave early, however she always packed me stuff to go. I tried her dinner one time and it was quite the treat, soo good!!!!!! Too bad she's a busy lady or I would had dinner there everyday. I was really happy with the whole experience and would definitely stay here again next time I return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Slipstream11 wrote a review Sep 2017
Ottawa, Canada16 contributions10 helpful votes
We definitely chose a perfect location for us to get out of the city and away from the hustle & bustle! Quiet, secluded, awesome views, and great hosts. Makala & Helmut were superb hosts offering wonderful advice about many great opportunities for climbing, hiking, birding, historical sightseeing, and photography! Of course the breakfasts were extremely tasty - lots of food for sure! The B & B grounds offered some of the very best view of stars and the milky way!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
GypsyJax wrote a review Sep 2017
Andover, United Kingdom96 contributions37 helpful votes
Chose this for its location - wanted somewhere out of town and with great views. I wasn't disappointed. Glacier view room was comfortable but rather small and the bathroom was on the floor above, which wasn't ideal but it was well stocked. Hosts were friendly, wifi was ok given the location, and breakfast was tasty (one of the better breakfasts I've had this trip). Hosts are native German speakers - worth bearing in mind if you speak German and fancy a break from speaking English 24/7.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John S wrote a review Sep 2017
Vancouver, Canada468 contributions279 helpful votes
Given my experience I don't comprehend the number of good reviews. It has me questioning the value and reliability of Tripadvisor. Silvern Lake was a mediocre experience at best. Our greeting of "you're early" set the tone and it really didn't improve much from there. By the third lecture / scolding at breakfast it felt like the experience was to please the hosts. We booked after reading reviews and Silvern's description stating our room would have a private bath -- which I interpreted as if not en-suite, for our exclusive use . With four rooms in the basement and only two bathrooms the math doesn't add up. We only had a bathroom to ourselves because we were the only guests. Only the queen / single room is en-suite which also serves as the laundry & mechanical room. Not sure how the bathrooms are allocated when fully booked. We found the (larger) Wolf Room to be knock-a-knee-on-the-way-to-the-batroom small. The smaller "Glacier" room has a peek-a-boo view of the glacier across the front lawn. The hot tub was also turned off. Silvern Lake Trail B&B is a good 10-minutes drive from downtown Smithers and any amenities like restaurants. You'll want to consider this as the property isn't conducive to hanging out, nor is the common room in the basement. The location is okay for a stop, flop and go the next morning. Breakfast was nothing to rave about. Morning one was an undercooked waffle with strawberries and bananas on it. Day two was a cheese omelette, no sausage, ham or bacon offered. Not on par with the many B&B offerings we've experienced elsewhere, or the included buffet breakfasts at low cost hotels. I wouldn't return or recommend Silvern, the offering doesn't line up with the cost.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michaela B, Owner at Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast
Responded Sep 17, 2017
Dear John, we are not surprised by your review, since you arrived 3 hours earlier then the check-in-time for our B&B is announced. You were already negatively informed by your wife, that you were earlier than anticipated, Since we are a privat couple and B&B hosts, we need time to get our guest rooms ready to satisfaction for our next guests arrival. Therefore, not everything was ready for your arrival and we apologized for that, even if it wasn't our wrongdoing. Guest, who arrive already with complains and negativity in mind are hard to satisfy and your review shows just that. You obviously expected 5* Hotel service for a Hostel price. Our Breakfast was - except by you-.always recognized with an Ahhh, Oh so nice or wow, that guest took pictures of it., some even mentioned that they have not had a great breakfast like this one on their whole trip, as you can read on many other reviews. We are sorry, that you didn't come with an open mind to appreciate what a private B&B has to offer. Bye the way , we do have 4 Bathrooms in the House and the Hot Tub is ready for guests, who ask if they can use it. You never did.We wish you all the best on your way home.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ougelthorpe wrote a review Jul 2017
Smithers, Canada7 contributions1 helpful vote
awesome breakfast,clean rooms,great people to talk to... The hosts had great tips for us for restaurants and nearby attractions. Very quiet location,exactly what we were looking for.We will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michaela B, Manager at Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast
Responded Jul 27, 2017
Dear Ougelthorpe, thank you so much for your kind review, it was a pleasure for us as well to have met you and we wish you a save and awesome trip through our beautiful Province of British Columbia. :))
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David W wrote a review Sep 2013
Egremont, United Kingdom19 contributions13 helpful votes
We spent 2 nights at Silvern Lake on our way from Prince Rupert to Prince George and on to Jasper. A wonderful location with great views of the glacier our room was very comfortable with access to our own bathroom and the guest lounge was nice with a fridge and microwave. It would have been nice to have been offered a choice for breakfast rather then just being presented with a hard boiled egg, fruit and toast. I was surprised that when I asked about local hiking Michaela just said to go down to the Tourist Information! Other reviews said about the local knowledge. One last point is that they no longer give guest use of the Internet which means you have to go down to the town, a 10 min drive, buy a coffee and sit in a cafe to send an email.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Remco-Ophof wrote a review Jul 2013
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands25 contributions6 helpful votes
We just stayed for one night on our travel from Prince Rupert to Jasper. We had to stop over. The B&B was arranged by our travell agency and we had a map to find it. On the highway the location was clearly signed, and after 3 km we turned on the drive way. Unfortunately we had a cloudy day and could only see some parts of the mountain and snow, but I'm sure in clear sky the view would be great. We could make ourselves some tea or coffee, and the sleep at night was very good. The breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, yoghurt, home made waffels and warm fruit for topping. Tea and coffee, juice everything was there and fine. The hostess is very neatly and helped us with the must see things in the area. Will recommend this place to others.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
diane l wrote a review Jan 2013
Ketchikan, Alaska1 contribution
We stay with Michaela and Helmut every time we come to smithers to ski. We made our first visit about 8 years ago and liked it so much we don't even consider staying anywhere else when we visit smithers. They welcome us like old friends. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. The breakfasts are tasty and huge, alway more than we can eat. The sitting area is comfortable and the whole establishment impeccably clean. Our son loves the hot tub and playing in the yard. It is about 15 minutes from town, but the quiet and comfort are worth it. Our whole family highly recommends the Silvern Lake Trail Bed and Breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lake Kathlyn area.
PRICE RANGE
C$155 - C$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaLake Kathlyn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Lake Kathlyn, British Columbia) - B&B - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Twin Falls/Glacier Gulch Trails (3.4 km), Moricetown Canyon (4.4 km), and Double D-Lux Ranch (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool during their stay.
Does Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast have airport transportation?
Yes, Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.