We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Rancho Motel

Save
Share
214 Highway 1, Dayton, Nova Scotia B5A 4A5 Canada
Hotels.com
eDreams
Priceline
StayForLong
Booking.com
Hurb
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (1)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Dayton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
El Rancho Motel in Yarmouth, the Senice lakeview motel has changed the management and carried out upgrading project with significant changes and improvements. Improving our guest’s satisfactions is our focus, you now can feel and experience the changes
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
30Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1
  • 10
  • 4
  • 4
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
KJ Addy wrote a review Sep. 2020
1 contribution
The place was clean and the staff was very helpful! Good outdoor space for a limited number of people. I would return. Great view of the water. We were travelling as a family and didn’t have a credit card. They took a deposit and saved our trip.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Ronald M wrote a review Oct. 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed here one night and will never go back again. The floors in the first room they gave us were filthy and the TV wouldn't work. The manager spent a fair amount of time talking to the presumed owner on the phone trying to fix the TV but in the end moved us to a different room that he had just finished cleaning. I will say the floors were better in the 2nd room but the room was not adequate. Neither room had a hairdryer in the bathroom which is normal standard in any hotel/motel. This room did not have an outside door like the first room did so we were unable to leave the inside door open at any time in order to get fresh air. The blind in the bathroom had a slat missing in it and in order to have privacy we had to stuff toilet tissue along the whole width of the blind to block it off. The stopper in the sink was broken and in order to release it and drain the sink my husband had to work around under the sink. We had a small dog with us and the extra fee for her had been waived but I am at a loss to know what sort of damage any dog could have done to this place. Our dog sleeps in a kennel and I am glad she had the cleanliness of her own spot for sleeping. If this place has been upgraded I am so glad we were not there when it was any worse than this. We were very surprised in the evening when the man who appeared to be managing the place asked us if we were going to need anything from him as he was leaving and would be back at 8 o'clock in the morning. Apparently there was no one there for emergencies during the night, no telephone in the room, and there appeared to be 5 other rooms occupied. I have to give him credit though and that is why I have given the rating a 1. He was obliging and tried to help and was very polite and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Bonnie Minard wrote a review Jul. 2019
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We booked a suite online as we were attending a family reunion for 3 days.Booked online through booking.com as the pictures showed a lovely spot with a beautiful view. We are from the area but have been away since 2001.As we were anxious to see family, we went there first and did not check in until after dark. We paid upfront for the room and when we were taken out back were in for quite a schock. Hazardous walkway and stairs, screen door jammed open stuck in the stairs on the next flight and broken, gross dirty windows, holes in screens, uncomfortable soft saggy mattresses.Hair dryer cord taped with electrical tape. I ended up not staying, some family stayed a second night as we had no where to go, and the 3rd night no one stayed. We asked for a refund but the owner refused saying they had paid booking.com. Booking.com refunded 15% but we are still out $500
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Choose anywhere but here!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from El R, Manager at El Rancho Motel
Responded Aug. 3, 2019
This is at least 2nd sites, 3 different guest's names that you placed nagative diverse comments with attempting to tear us a part and chop us down. Moneytary anger comment! The fact , you booked 03 nights in peak days and your husband came to us at 9AM of the 3rd night to ask for cancellation due to you got a free night stay in your family. This request violated our cancellation policy and we had that right to refuse refund. There was no complaint mentioned at all when you asked for cancellation. We always appreciate guest 's constructive comment to improve our operation so Your real comments are not exceptional, they were already improved and fixed. We blocked 03 nights for you and refused other booking request, how can we fill in that night once you cancel on the same night? Seems you want to get free stay!
Read more
FellowTraveler486693 wrote a review Sep. 2018
1 contribution2 helpful votes
This motel was disgusting. It was very dirty. The fridge was mouldy and not cleaned. But worst of all was the bedding. Everything was stained from the bed spread , blanket, sheets and pillow cases. I mean body fluid stains. The pillow case had blood on it. It was horrible. We had to go to Walmart to purchase bedding as everything else in town was booked. Stay somewhere else not here for 40.00 more.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from El R, Manager at El Rancho Motel
Responded Jul. 30, 2019
We are new management and we are sorry for these problems you had on behalf of our brand Since 2019, we have replaced all towels, bed sheets, bedspread, pillow, ect. Room was changed and renovated. Upgrading project has been ongoing. That will be a different El Rancho that you used to stay.
Read more
Brad K wrote a review Sep. 2018
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Was on the phone with the owner trying to deal with a situation, and it was the most unprofessional and most awful customer service. I explained to him the situation that i was going there for an LGBT event and had to cancel one night and he wouldn’t allow me to. I found him homophobic when I spoke to him and he was agressive on the phone. He didn’t care one bit, do not book here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaSouthwest Nova ScotiaDayton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about El Rancho Motel
Which popular attractions are close to El Rancho Motel?
Nearby attractions include Frost Park (3.2 km), W. Laurence Sweeney Fisheries Museum (3.0 km), and Yarmouth County Museum and Archives (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at El Rancho Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at El Rancho Motel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at El Rancho Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Rancho Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shanty Cafe, Gaia Global Kitchen, and The Red Shed.
Does El Rancho Motel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, El Rancho Motel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is El Rancho Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Dayton.
Are pets allowed at El Rancho Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to El Rancho Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Argyle Township Court House & Gaol (10.8 km).