We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berry's Motel

Save
Share
71 Robie St, Lower Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1K8 Canada
eDreams
Agoda.com
Priceline
Booking.com
FindHotel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (24)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Lower Truro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Berry's Motel is centrally located in Truro, known as the 'hub' of Nova Scotia. Many of the province's favorite tourist attractions are located within a daytrip of the motel, so you can make us your one stop destination while visiting beautiful Nova Scotia! Berry's Best Features: Friendly staff, spacious grounds, small-dog friendly (sorry, no cats please), drive-up rooms (no stairs to climb), close to many eating establishments (only footsteps away), amenities available at the front office, iron & blow dryer available, free WI-FI, picnic area, free ice, cable PLUS, free local calls, air conditioning, fridges and microwaves in all rooms. Plan to stay a while? Special monthly rates available. We have both regular motel units and mini-apartment suites.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
48Car recommended
Grade: 48 out of 100
24Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
60Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 18
  • 11
  • 5
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jamie D wrote a review Sep. 2021
Lincoln, Vermont11 contributions11 helpful votes
okay, the room isn't beautiful BUT everything else was top notch. Great hot water, had a bath, tea kettle, mini fridge and coffee maker and the bed was comfortable. Owner is as pleasant as can be. Road noise was not an issue. Trying to cross the street to the markets and restaurant, well that was a challenge. So glad we stayed there. Only two items for sure that could be improved, 1) a second cup in the room for tea and 2) black out curtains to keep the light out.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
thomas b wrote a review Sep. 2021
Edmonton, Canada10 contributions5 helpful votes
Not top of the line but for people that are budget minded it is a great place to stay. Stayed there Sept. 13 _ 17th. Most all are kitchenettes. A major market across the street for groceries. Instead of eating out ( costing a fortune ) save a few bucks and eat in your own room. Many fast food places within a 2- 4 min. walk
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Loro Koski wrote a review Oct. 2019
Bridgewater, Canada3 contributions
Very reasonably priced and friendly staff. Just in town for an overnight stay but thoroughly enjoyed the motel, definitely will be staying again. Close to several restaurants and shopping, quiet and clean. Great little place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: very accessible and close to shopping
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Snowgirl73 wrote a review Jul. 2019
10 contributions2 helpful votes
Great wifi and beds were comfortable. Honestly the only thing I didn’t like was the cleanliness of the room. But that to me is the most important thing. And I’m not fussy. I actually went to the store and bought Lysol wipes to clean.. I realized the room was cheap so not being painted and not enough outlets and no fan or outlet in the bathroom was all acceptable, I felt, for the price. But I think no matter what the price the room should be clean. The microwave and mirrors were full of fingerprints. The remote had chocolate (I hope it was chocolate 😳) smeared all over it. In one side of the room the foor had a large area of something sticky which had collected a lot of hair, it looked like pop to me... we wore our flip flops the whole time in the room.) the floor needed to be moped. The microwave smelled of pizza pockets and the fridges freezer had a lot of ice build up so we could barely get anything in it. Then I found a half drank beer can sitting on the dresser!? How did that get missed.. I took it to the front desk and was told it would be reported to the daytime manager. In the morning I crossed paths with the person I handed the beer can with three times and he wouldn’t even look in my direction. A dandy long legs spider had made a home in the corner of the shower. My daughters bed had a huge amount of navy blue fuzz all over the bed sheets but there was nothing navy blue in the bed? 😟 Towels and pillowcases had stains. They are obviously making upgrades so perhaps these other things are being left go. Next time I will spend the extra $50 and stay where I don’t have to clean my room. I posted this review on another website and the owner replied that I’d requested a full refund and then “threatened to leave a bad review online if he didn’t give me a free night.” I’m not sure who he is referring to (Maybe he has me mixed up with another quest) but I NEVER requested a refund or even mentioned it! Makes me wonder even more. But quite honestly when you have to clean your room before you feel comfortable I should have left but I had seen the “30 minutes to request a refund” and realized I was well over that time frame. I had thought maybe it was a room that had been forgotten but after getting the childish response from the owner I’m assuming otherwise.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel
Responded Jul. 21, 2019
Strange thing...if the room was as terrible as you described, shouldn't you have noticed well before 30 minutes had passed? You demanded a refund, which is fine because as the notices posted in each room say, we'll gladly give you a refund if you're not happy with your room (within 30 minutes of check-in as long as the beds and bathroom have not been used), However, you wanted to get a refund AND still stay the night in your room! I'll happily give you a refund but I won't let anybody stay overnight for free. You threatened to write a nasty review if you didn't get your "free night", so I'm not surprised to see it here. It's not the first time somebody threatened to write a bad review if they didn't get a free night and it won't be the last. Happy trails!
Read more
mikedoiron wrote a review Jul. 2019
Halifax, Canada85 contributions43 helpful votes
No major complaints! Friendly front desk staff, comfy bed and a hot shower with great water pressure. HUGE Tv - at least a 50 inch. Also very quiet. Well worth the very reasonable rate. A bathroom fan would be a great addition, but there is a window that you can open to let out the steam. Our room had a towel rack that came out of the wall and wasn’t repaired. There was a new one in the room under the TV but not hung yet, so there was no where to put towels in the bathroom. Minor though. Will stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel
Responded Jul. 18, 2019
Yep, the occasional reviewer mentions the lack of bathroom fan, but this place was built in the 1970s and for some reason bathroom fans weren't a big deal then I guess. Someday I might look into installing bathroom fans but that's a huge wiring/installation job, and like you said, it's just a matter of opening the bathroom window an inch or two. And yes, replacing that towel rack is on my long to-do list, lol. Thanks for not being harsh; I appreciate it. Thanks for staying!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$41 - US$80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaLower Truro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Berry's Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Berry's Motel?
Nearby attractions include Truro Tidal Bore Viewing Visitor Centre (0.7 km), Hunt Indoor Gun Range (1.1 km), and Kiwanis Park (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Berry's Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at Berry's Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Berry's Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Berry's Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Berry's Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Frank and Gino's, Swiss Chalet, and Smitty's Licensed Family.
Are pets allowed at Berry's Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Berry's Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Enter The Bunker (12.1 km).