We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection

Show Prices
#1 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,098 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,033: English reviews
Utah
Reviewed 20 November 2014

We love Mauna Kea! We have been there 3 different times! Ask I told several members of the staff when they asked how we were doing....I am here, so I am perfect! They found out that I had been injured in Maui, and left me bath salts every day to use with the wonderful soaking tub! Above and beyond! Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cruisequeenutah
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Mahalo for returning to visit us! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we'll look forward to your return soon. Aloha.

andalasia
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Like others said, this resort was uncrowded, clean, and while a bit dated -- still sufficient for these yuppie SF travelers. Two issues: I was a bit disappointed in the food (apart from breakfast). The non fancy dinner at the grill was not good and most of it tasted as if it came out of the freezer. We actually sent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanna G
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for visiting. We are very surprised to hear your comments regarding our concierge who are known for their helpfulness but we will look into the matter for sure. We appreciate all your comments and sincerely hope you'll return to visit again. Mahalo.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 12 November 2014

We checked into the Mauna Kea for three nights celebrating my husband's birthday. The woman at the front desk offered no greeting, no smile, no 'welcome to the Mauna Kea'. Just a deadpan look and a 'may I help you?' Then, she proceeded to answer the phone, leaving me standing there. It was not a pleasant way to begin a...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Susansandiego72
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Aloha and happy birthday to your husband. We too are disappointed to hear that you were not welcomed with the warm Aloha for which we are known. We appreciate your comments so that we might research and improve for future guests. Mahalo.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 9 November 2014

Admittedly, there were a few hiccups, but this resort is all about service. It's an older design (not good or bad), but over a week's stay I recall feeling special...no crowds...nothing like Las Vegas or Florida. I rarely noticed the cleaning staff and when I did, they were neighborly, friendly and exactly what you'd expect from people who live Aloha....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Houston_Leimomi
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and mahalo for all your comments which we do appreciate. We hope you'll return again soon so we may once again greet you with our Aloha.

Sacramento
Reviewed 9 November 2014

Long-time guests may be disappointed by the changes to the guest rooms. The pre-renovation rooms had charm and Hawaiian style. One of the best aspects of the beach level rooms was making use of the wooden louver doors so you could hear the ocean at night and the birds in the morning. They have been replaced with heavy "tan-out" drapes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SacramentoDella
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for being such a loyal guest. We appreciate everything you had to say. Mahalo for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to your return. Aloha.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 4 November 2014

This year my wife and I celebrated our 29th wedding anniversary at the Mauna Kea, this is after celebrating our 28th, 27th, 26th and 25th anniversary there as well (My father recommended that we honeymoon there and it took us 25 years to give it a try). We enjoy being steps away from the best beach on the Big Island...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VagabundoDelMar
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Congratulations on your 29th anniversary and mahalo for returning to celebrate with us! We look forward to welcoming you in 2015 for your 30th....and our 50th! Aloha.

California
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here over the summer for 4 nights. I had stayed here years ago and had been wanting to return ever since. It was as great as I remembered. The setting is absolutely gorgeous and cannot be beat. The hotel is perfectly situated on a wonderful beach with amazing views every direction. The hotel is not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mish42
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

We're happy that your long-awaited return visit did not disappoint. Thank you for visiting and we hope it will not be long again before you're back on the shores of Kaunaoa Bay! Mahalo.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Beautiful hotel, wonderful beach, friendly staff. The room I stayed in was great (golf course view), large room, very nicely decorated. My only real complaint of this hotel is that they really take advantage of the fact there really isn't anything near by and charge more than a premium for food and beverages and the quality is not there. For...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alberta E
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for sharing your comments and mentioning our hard working staff which we appreciate. Mahalo.

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 2 November 2014

The rooms are very nice, have a small fridge but no microwave. The in-room coffee was disappointing. Like most hotels, not enough coffee to brew much more than brown water. The rooms were very expensive. After paying over $600 per night for our room, they have the gall to charge $15 per day for internet service. The gift shop had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and sharing your thoughts. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. Aloha.

Sydney
Reviewed 30 October 2014

I had first visited (but not stayed at) the Mauna Kea Hotel many years ago on a family holiday, so when the opportunity came to book a few nights here I jumped at the chance. In sort, the hotel is wonderful. We were in one of the oversized rooms facing the golf course, and apart from the slightly irritating air-conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sydneytraveller69
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

We're happy you had the opportunity to stay with us and that you enjoyed your visit. Please return soon! Mahalo.

1,381 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (792)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (153)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (162)
Viewed
View from Room (60)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
0:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (252)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (509)
Viewed
Amenities (144)
Viewed
Beach (34)
Viewed
Deluxe Ocean View (39)
Viewed
Mountain View (27)
Viewed
Plumeria Beach Club (28)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (177)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
1.1 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
10.0 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
44.6 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
8.0 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
26.4 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar
Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, Seafood
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel located on Hawaii Island's Kohala Coast. Legendary, timeless hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9706
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Price Range: $487 - $1,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauna Kea Beach Kamuela
Hotel Mauna Kea Beach
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#1 Spa Hotel in Puako
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#3 Family Hotel in Puako
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puako
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a high floor for the best ocean front view. 8th Floor is best.”
 of 5 bubbles WorldTravelerOR, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Splurge for ocean view room...definitely worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles StephanieRoth, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“7th and 8th floor offer the best views”
 of 5 bubbles Carpinteria93309, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a golf view room not ocean view but it was a deluxe with beautiful decks off the bedroom and huge bathroom. Very nice”
 of 5 bubbles phedras, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“First floor Ocean Front have no real views other than hedges and green grass”
 of 5 bubbles LordHow, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay