Dundee Resort & Golf Club

Dundee Resort & Golf Club

2750 West Bay Rd, Dundee, Nova Scotia B0E 3K0 Canada
Traveller (115)
The View From Our Cabin
Room & Suite (23)
See green algae in pool?  and it was <70F.
Pool & Beach (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, Jun 6
Get rewarded with One Key
C$161
Fully refundable before Thu, Jun 6
Get rewarded with One Key
C$144
Fully refundable before Wed, Jun 5
Multiple ways to pay
C$104
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Dundee
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Dundee Resort and Golf Club is located on Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia only 20 minutes from the Canso Causeway. Dundee is the perfect place to get away from it all and relax, enjoy a game of golf, let the kids have fun at the adventure centre and join the scheduled children's activities with the recreation staff. Dundee has a full-service restaurant & Pub serving fabulous food. Our 18 hole golf course offers amazing views of the Bra d'Or Lake and surrounding vista. The Lakeside Activity centre (open July & Aug) has canoes, kayaks and paddle boats, available complimentary for guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Boating
Canoeing
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Golf course
Hiking
Evening entertainment
Patio
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

2750 West Bay Rd, Dundee, Nova Scotia B0E 3K0 Canada
Getting there
Sydney Airport
95.2 km
See all flights
228Reviews3Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 49
  • 52
  • 47
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
dmacd316 wrote a review Jun 2020
Antigonish, Canada5 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The setting for the Dundee resort is second to none!
The golf course is beautiful and well maintained
The staff were friendly and helpful.
BUT
My visit was extremely disappointing!
After reading many reviews on how great the food was I decided to book Dundee Romance pkg for our 50th wedding anniversary .
The pkg included one night in a deluxe room, or you could upgrade to a room with a balcony and fireplace. I upgraded.
Dinner for two and breakfast the next morning, a bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberries in the room upon arrival. The strawberries were delicious.
I added a round of golf for my husband and I.
When we arrived we checked in ,put our luggage in the room and went out to do our round of golf, which was great .
When we came back to the room I went to open the window but the window crank was broken off. My husband flushed the toilet and found the the flush kept sticking.
We went to go out on the balcony but there was a big wasp nest in the corner.
We had a drink and decided that we would just go to dinner.
The dining room was closed but you could go to the clubhouse. We presented our dinner voucher for two and order seafood platters from a very limited menu. My husband ordered a beer and I ordered a glass of red wine. No red wine!
The waitress arrived with one plate of DEEP Fried food (like you would get at any fast food spot, even clam strips not even clams and small deep fried scallops)
when I asked when the other was coming she didn't realize it was for two!
That was the dinner - no appetizer, no desert, no coffee!
This was not at all what I had planned for my 50th.
If I had known before that the dining room was closed I never would have booked.
It was exactly 50 years to the day of our wedding and I wanted it to be special. In my book it was EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
55Going wrote a review Sep 2020
Calgary,Canada8 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The views were great, the cottages were very old and dated but clean. Our biggest complaint was the package deal which included 2 dinners, 2 breakfast and lunch. The dining was closed even though we checked prior to making the reservation no mention. We were sent to their golf course restaurant where the food was pub food only and the dinner menus included salmon or sirloin steak but those two items were unavailablef!!! If you have any dietary or want any food that is not deep fried for the 4 meals it was challenging. The staff was courteous and tried their best; we complained to the manager who was "unavailable" but never tried to contact us. Overall our memories of Dundee from years ago have been replaced with a fairly run down resort and does not justify the cost.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathryn M wrote a review Aug 2020
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent the night at Dundee Resort on Saturday, Aug. 1 to attend a wedding. I can't speak to golfing conditions. The wedding was fabulous despite Covid and the meal was delicious. So many windows in this resort that over look some pretty impressive views. Beautiful area. The accommodations were not even close to being worth the $186 plus taxes that we paid for two queen beds in the hotel. Upon arrival, staff did not offer any info. We had to ask where our room was located, breakfast times (pricey!!! our waitress was wonderful), directions to wedding room, wifi, vending machine (drinks only), ice machine. We arrived on about day 7 or more of a heat wave in NS. The ac had not been turned on for us. The temperature in the room according to the thermostat was 29 c. When we turned it on it sputtered to life but did very little to reduce the temperature. When we got up Sunday morning it was finally down to 21. This is a very dated building. Everything is old. Don't get me started on the pillows. The phone didn't work and had visible dust on it. Really?? During a pandemic?? The sink was plugged. There was no sign on the entrance door of the hotel asking guests to wear masks although a mandatory mask order was in place. When an establishment has "resort" in the name I expect much better!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Yllom Singh, General Manager at Dundee Resort & Golf Club
Responded Sep 11, 2020
We are sorry you had a poor experience on the Resort. We will be sure to check in with our team in regards to your concerns. please send you contact information by email info@dundeeresort.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon MacKay wrote a review Sep 2020
Cape Breton Island, Canada10 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Went today with the family for a bite to eat. We were not staying thank goodness and were not playing golf so the course is not included in the review. On first arrival the grounds look OK but on closer inspection are clearly very tired and poorly maintained with the tennis courts looking like they wouldn't be out of place in Chebonyl. We walked up the hill to the clubhouse. Which when you enter looks like it is stuck in the 90s however decor isn't everything. The waitresses were polite when they served us, they did however seem completely disinterested in their job. We were served our drinks food order was taken promptly and after a reasonable wait the food arrived and things went south fast.
The kids meals had been made double compared to what we ordered but fine we can take the extra back. The onion rings we ordered never came and nor did a waitress to check to see if everything was OK so we could flag this.
What did we get;
Kids Mac n cheese which was half a box of kd chucked on each plate at $ 5 per plate.

Kids pizza which was a 1 dollar frozen pizza plopped onto a plate. $8 per pizza

Adult honey garlic chicken wings tossed in a plastic basket which for all cooked well were cold on the edges clearly waiting for the rest of the food to be cooked had got cold. $15

Adult chicken Thai nachos that had raw onion and raw carrots on them on deep fried nachos again $15

Which two apple juices for the kids
(as they couldn't find any milk) two waters and a can of Keith's we paid $70.

Its a ridiculous mark up and downright disgusting that when we are all being forced to holiday at home the local attractions and resorts serve food that the dirtiest little dive would ashamed to serve and then we are made to pay 4star prices.

This is a review not slam the servers who lacked any direction or leadership or the chef in the open plan kitchen who looked lost and over worked but to the owners who are ripping everyone off. Its in a beautiful setting with no alternatives around it but it is in desperate need for an appearance on a Ramsay show or new owners as currently its a disgrace to the island.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Yllom Singh, General Manager at Dundee Resort & Golf Club
Responded Sep 11, 2020
We are sorry you had a poor experience on the Resort. We will be sure to check in with our team in regards to your concerns. please send you contact information by email info@dundeeresort.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bruce H wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We checked into a standard room. Quality so poor we upgraded to a deluxe unit. Fridge didn't work so they rolled in a replacement and left it on the dolly in middle of room. Then phone didn't work and they replaced it but it didn't work. Said it was the phone line. Bathroom sink was clogged. Air condition unit so loud we couldn't sleep with it on. Next morning on check out, the rate was discounted to the original standard room rate and MC charge put through and a receipt provided. After returning home, I checked my MC account and they had subsequently added the difference in price between the standard and deluxe rates. Don't stay there unless you want to be ripped off.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn Martin wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a girls weekend in June and what a time we had! The food was incredible I am still thinking about those mussels and the service was amazing. The staff is so friendly anyone we passed stopped to make sure we had everything we needed. We stayed in a cabin it was spotless and we had a beautiful view of the Bras D’or Lakes. We can’t wait to go back for the next get away!! Thank you for the perfect hospitality!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris S wrote a review Jul 2020
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival the cottage was in poor condition. There were taco chips on the kitchen floor in cottage 35 so how sterile could it have been? As well there was a smoke alarm hanging by its wires. The stove had aluminum foil for drip trays on the burners, the mattresses were beyond useful age. When we went to the clubhouse for supper and were seated outside. approx 10 people were there in total. The waitress left us after seating and we had to hunt her down in 20 minutes for drinks. When we asked for a menu she gave us two that were on an occupied table, I'm sure that is a covid violation! When we tried to order she said she would come back, she didn't. When we went to pay for our drinks she was serving new patrons inside. We left and luckily had food we cooked at the cottage.

When we went to the restaurant in the am before our tee time we discovered it didn't open until 8. So much for that.

Pro shop staff get two thumbs up for their knowledge and professionalism!

I spoke to reception staff about the cottage condition and emailed the resort on our return to home re: conditions, after a week I have received no reply!
Its definitely worth a play but don't stay!

Overall four thumbs down!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: There are no good rooms that I saw.....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Yllom Singh, General Manager at Dundee Resort & Golf Club
Responded Sep 11, 2020
We are sorry you had a poor experience on the Resort. We will be sure to check in with our team in regards to your concerns. please send you contact information by email info@dundeeresort.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bluenosekub wrote a review Aug 2022
Halifax, Canada36 contributions32 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Window stuck open toilet running door to hall leaking sound as the seals gone, waited 90 min to get seated on wing night and ran out of wings, fireplace was inoperable die to it's planned removal, food took an hour to come out soup took 70 min icecream at 12 $ took 30 min though only 20 ppl there no breakfast Al a cart cause chef didn't know how to make the items, heated pool was only 25 c sink don't drain, offered 15 % on 700 room charge but no deal on the 350 in food men's bathroom off lobby had a slippery floor. Broken chair on dining room No hot water for showers etc etc I could go on and on
Stayed here 5 years ago and it was absolutely despicable me horrible but when we called this time we asked if it was New management we were told yes seems the new management it's just copying with the old management did

We were told because the restaurant was a catering business even though we build the food to our room there was nothing that the hotel could do for us. Val tried her best to help us but her manager wouldn't allow her to waive the one that would have made us happy.

The fact that there was no place to eat within a half an hour's drive made it somewhat of a trap where we had to spend $12 for a scoop of ice cream avoid like the plague do not go here never go here
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SAndrews wrote a review Jun 2021
5 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Part of a group that has held an annual three day tournament at Dundee for many years. Golf course in excellent condition this year and new carts for some (a few of the older carts are very tired). Cottages are small & rustic but quite adequate and refurbishments have brightened them significantly. Wi-fi sketchy by times far from the lodge. F&B service and food quality both excellent. Staff exceedingly accommodating to the group's needs. Met and surpassed expectations even though cobbled by pandemic restrictions (all meals had to be taken in the upper dining area and outdoors, main dining in the lodge hadn't yet opened due to covid). Members of the group will be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Comments refer to the cottages, not the main hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Suze M wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I drove to the resort to check it out and have lunch. We remember Dundee years ago being beautiful and the resort beautiful. That has changed. We couldn’t believe how run down the grounds were. The gardens outside the main bldg and the clubhouse were over a foot high in weeds. I looked hard and did see a tiny hydrangea in bloom in the middle of one garden. Trees in parking lot were half dead not pruned. The tennis court was completely full of weeds. Weeds growing up in every crevasse on the paved areas and everywhere. No nice flowers in planters as one would expect a resort to have. I can’t comment on the golf course as we did not golf.

Upon entering the clubhouse the white entrance door above and below the doorknob was black/brown. Had I noticed this when we entered I would have left. The door was open when we arrived. It doesn’t make a person feeling good about Covid cleanliness after seeing that. While on the patio there was two other couples who were sitting and ordered. They both eventually got up and went inside leaving their tables. We were there an hour after they left. The tables were never disinfected.

The meal was not good. Beer was warm. We waited an hour for one order food that was soggy from sitting and not brought to us when it was made.

So disappointing. I feel sad for those paying to stay here or those planning a wedding and paying resort prices. The only nice thing about it was the gorgeous view of the Bras d’Or Lake from the clubhouse.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Yllom Singh, General Manager at Dundee Resort & Golf Club
Responded Sep 11, 2020
We are sorry you had a poor experience on the Resort. We will be sure to check in with our team in regards to your concerns. please send you contact information by email info@dundeeresort.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne G asked a question Feb 2018
New Canaan, Connecticut41 contributions5 helpful votes
Hi Lynn, I don't supposed you recall your room number? That sounds ideal! What floor also?
Fairmont Hot Springs, Canada19 contributions8 helpful votes
There is an extra charge. It is $10 per hour or $15 per day per person. There is also a Family pass of $60 per day. Some of our packages, which are on our website, include pass.
Fairmont Hot Springs, Canada19 contributions8 helpful votes
Hello Alex, Great to hear that you will be staying with us soon. We do have bikes available, however, it would be quite a long ride to the nearest town. You can definitely swim in the lake, and we also have an outdoor pool and an indoor pool. We have canoes, kayaks, paddle boats and paddles boards as well. Regards, Paul Stackhouse, General Manager
Leslie P wrote a tip Oct 2023
9 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very poor cell service, but wifi is reliable. Only a few cable channels so bring streaming devices for kids. "
Read full review
Solange S wrote a tip Oct 2023
Charlottetown, Canada23 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I have no idea how this could be improved in my opinion."
Read full review
Brenda R wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you bring snacks as there is no food available between 2 and 4 PM"
Read full review
Philip M wrote a tip Oct 2023
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you get there early if you want to book a meal"
Read full review
happyNovaScotia wrote a tip Sep 2023
nova scotia40 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cottage was a wee bit musty odour maybe bring a air freshener or two "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dundee area.
PRICE RANGE
C$113 - C$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dundee resort & golf club hotel cape breton island, dundee resort and golf club, dundee hotel cape breton island
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaCape Breton IslandDundee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Dundee Resort & Golf Club - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Dundee Resort & Golf Club
What are some of the property amenities at Dundee Resort & Golf Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Dundee Resort & Golf Club?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Dundee Resort & Golf Club?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Dundee Resort & Golf Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dundee Resort & Golf Club?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Dundee Resort & Golf Club?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Dundee Resort & Golf Club offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Dundee Resort & Golf Club have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Dundee Resort & Golf Club accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.