We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Governor's Mansion

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Governor\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Governor's Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2015

My partner and I stayed at the Governors Mansion for 4 nights and we fell in love with the place as soon as we arrived! The building itself is gorgeous, but the grounds and views surrounding it are spectacular! The garden is so colourful; it reminded us of some gardens we had been to back in England, but with better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelBeans8
chrismanagergm, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

It was a privilege and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to show our “own brand of hospitality”. It is so encouraging to note that all our efforts to bring back the Mansion to its past glory and offer you our valued guests the experience of enjoying the Mansion replicating the original past is well appreciated. This is...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

As you drive up from Hatton and Dickoya along the broken down path, you wonder what you have let yourselves in for as. Hatton is nothing but a provincial town with few leftovers from the colonial era. However, as you take the last bend after the abandoned tea factory, the view of the Governors Mansion hits you and from that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tigergulati
chrismanagergm, General Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We whole-heartedly agree that Hatton is a provincial town. It was and is still very much a town that has retained most of the colonial influence, discipline and way of life. We are blessed with so many places of importance, heritage sites and so much to do for the discerning traveler. We have had it...

Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

We were greeted by the owners of the residence, frank and joy, who were very friendly hosts and made us feel right at home over a cup of tea. We stayed in the queen suite which was old school with amazing views over the plantation and had a proper 4 poster bed. We were there for only one night and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sean E
chrismanagergm, General Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We too were happy to have the owners of the Mansion present when you arrived for your experience at the Governor’s Mansion. We appreciate all reviews through which we can be responsive to our guests’ views, needs and wishes however small they may be. We try our utmost to maintain the Mansion in its past...

Lombok, Indonesia
Reviewed 9 May 2015

We spent only one night after climbing Adams Peak and were incredibly lucky to have the whole place to ourselves. It truly felt like were were in our own private home. Service is excellent and the staff are incredibly well trained and helpful. The free wifi is also good here. My big surprise was the cuisine : The food is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DARoberts
chrismanagergm, General Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

It was indeed our pleasure and privilege to offer our own brand of services to you, during your short experience at the Governor’s Mansion. May is a quiet month for us. We tend to plan any minor improvements to the premises during such periods. We were delighted to reschedule our work to offer you exclusive services requested. It is so...

Reviewed 24 April 2015 via mobile

By far one of the best getaways in sri lanka. We visited the mansion last week and had an amazing vacation with family. It was a great experience. The rocky road drive leads up to an amazing and grand entrance hidden amongst the lush green tea plantation. The 200 year old building takes you through a journey back in time...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Randall D
chrismanagergm, General Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

It was indeed our pleasure and privilege to offer our exclusive services to you and your family. It is beyond our dreams when our valued guests enjoy the total experience at the Governor’s Mansion and appreciate the grandeur of the Mansion based on years of history. We are delighted to note that your perception of the GM is exactly what...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

We booked GM for 3 nights in April. We were travelling with our 3 month old son - and just wanted a place to chill! Had a fantastic experience there - couldn't have asked for more! The location is amazing with absolutely beautiful views. The short hikes in the tea plantation around were fantastic. The property has a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pyxdust
chrismanagergm, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

We are delighted to note that you have experienced the Governor’s Mansion for some of the main aspects it is meant to offer. A beautiful place to chill and have a fantastic experience. We endorse your remarks. We have the benefit of our Executive Chef Madusanka(Award winning), his guru Chef Wasantha and a couple of other chefs who will discuss...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 8 April 2015

In simple terms, we really enjoyed our stay at Governor's Mansion!! :) It's an absolutely beautiful place in a stunning, scenic location. The scenery is one of best at GM and I loved the view of Adam's Peak, especially in the night when the path is lit. Besides the location and scenery, it is worth mentioning that the staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DNatasha2015
DelightedChris, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

It was a pleasure and a delight to offer the services at the Governor’s Mansion. It gives us so much encouragement when we note you our valued guests have experienced the GM to the fullest and have enjoyed all what we try to offer. We were delighted with your stay at the Governor's Mansion. Our operational staff were very happy...

Reviewed 5 April 2015

$365 a night. Yes you read that correctly. Hence, I would expect so so much more than this. Location is fantastic, but the rest is a good 3/4 star European hotel at best. Staff are super friendly, although taking 30+ minutes to find the key to our room was not impressive. Food decent but above average at best. Bed not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clintonbuble
chrismanagergm, General Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

I have spent a couple of hours looking at all the reviews the contributor claims to have written. Not a single review is complimentary and they all underline one thing and one thing only, which is "THE PRICE IS TOO HIGH". He/she states "$365 a night" This alone questions the authenticity of the person. It is never $365.00 but could...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2015

In February 2015, my wife and I got married at Warleigh Church and stayed at GM with our family (15 people) for two nights. The hotel, scenery and gardens were spectacular and the service was impeccable without being insincere as can be the case at some hotels. We stayed in the Governor's suite which is very romantic thanks to its...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tim W
chrismanagergm, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

Congratulations again to the newly wedded couple. It was the first wedding we have held at the Governor’s Mansion. It was so fitting that the wedding service was held at Warleigh church which too was built by late William Scott who owned and built Governor’s Mansion. We must thank the couple for reserving most of the Mansion for their wedding....

Colombo
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Iv been to this beautiful property twice now, it has always extended our expectations! I refuse to believe in the reviews that are so negative! The staff members are very eager to please and are very polite and helpful. The food is heavenly - never had a better lam chop anywhere else in the world! The suites are fantastic -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dat-gal-88
chrismanagergm, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

We are delighted to note that we have exceeded your expectations. It is a testimony when you our valued guests pay us return visits. We will continue to offer you more and more with our on going enhancement program of additional facilities around the Governor's Mansion. Our operational staff are pleased to and are at your service to give you...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dickoya
24.9 km away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
2,393 reviews
17.5 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
1,413 reviews
16.9 km away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 km away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
130 reviews
17.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
1,887 reviews
4.7 km away
Tea Hill's Bungalow
Tea Hill's Bungalow
#1 of 12 in Hatton
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
FULLY RESTORED ENGLISH STYLE MANSION SET ABOVE 4700 FEET ABOVE SEA LEAVEL IN THE TEA VALLEY OF DICKOYA. OFFERS THE GUESTS A TRIP BACK IN TIME WHERE BRITISH PLANTERS MADE IT AN EXCLUSIVE HOME. FREQUENTED BY ROYALTY IN THE PAST. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Governor's Mansion

Address: Ottery Estate, Dickoya 22050, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dickoya
Price Range: $475 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Governor's Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Mansion Hotel Hatton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Governor's Mansion staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Governor's Mansion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the Queen's Suite. The then Princess Elizabeth stayed in it.”
 of 5 bubbles 729catherinen, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Chill out and trust them. We did and was not disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles Seuke8441, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms have their own hot water so if you like a hot bath (rather than a shower) ask to make sure you have a suitable room”
 of 5 bubbles 378clairet, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Queen's Room”
 of 5 bubbles 619rafid, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms in the first floor gives a better view of the surroundings. Ask for Barbecue in the night.”
 of 5 bubbles MapnGo, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5