We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Falls Inn & Spa

Save
Share
140 Front St W, Walters Falls, Ontario N0H 2S0 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Destinia.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (211)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Am Ontario's Finest Inn on the site of Walter's Falls historic sawmill overlooking Walter's Falls, a privately owned 45' double plunge waterfall near Owen Sound and Collingwood Ontario. Fine Dining, spa services, local golf courses and many winter attractions. Please note: this property, waterfall viewing and trails are for use by Falls Inn guests with guestroom or dining reservations only.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
302Reviews5Q+A91Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 169
  • 100
  • 18
  • 7
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lmd wrote a review Oct. 22
3 contributions2 helpful votes
We wanted a quiet getaway to look at the fall colours and relax and unwind! This is the place. The room was very clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed! The service at the front desk and the restaurant was exceptional. We did the 4.5 km hike on the Bruce Trail and it was a little mucky because of the rain but really beautiful! I have to give a shout out to the chef every meal was excellent. We had the beet salad and lake trout which was delicious. We also had traditional fish and chips which were very good, and don’t even get me started on the homemade scones at breakfast!!! A couple of suggestions my partner is gluten free and they did not have GF toast or pasta. The Inn says all rooms have a view of the falls but we were in room 203 and the sumac had grown so high it blocked the view. No worries we live on the water year round so did not impact our stay but ask for a higher room to ensure you see the falls. We will return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for third floor room for a full view of falls
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Tosh wrote a review Oct. 14
2 contributions
Totally disappointed. The only amazing part of our two night stay was the property. We loved our hike through the forest. Also, we quite enjoyed the Wednesday Wing night music even though the hotel furnishings for dining were definitely substandard. The room was spacious, however, my husband spent the first hour swatting at flies and ladybugs. When we went to dinner on our second evening we were placed at a table that looked out onto the parking lot. We decided to go up to our room and order dinner because both the view and the furniture were better. I feel that the hotel caters to the locals and not to the paying guests. The food was not worth the cost. The presentation was very sloppy and the food not great. This is definitely NOT ONE OF ONTARIO ‘s FINEST INNS any longer. This was our third time and definitely our last time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dwayne Hallman, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Hi, Thank you for the feedback. As we have 28 doors into the building, washroom vents and through-the-wall air/heaters we agree that flies are difficult from Sept until the snow falls. They feel the heat from inside the building and crawl in. Especially as the band props the door open to unload their gear. Public Health does not allow the removal of flies once dinner service has started. We do everything possible to trap, hunt and remove them. But they are relentless during the season. We have seen the same thing at other locations. It is a cause of the season that we all deal with. The extra warm Oct days gave you the lovely hike and visit you mentioned create this issue. But we are grateful for the sutra summer like days after months of indoor issolation. I am not sure what is substandard about chiavari chairs and tables? They are traditional in an Inn setting. When you were seated for dinner at the garden table at the front we indicated that you could start there and be relocated when another table opened up. You chose to do room service instead. As Covid has made it illegal to use half our tables we are doing the best we can to get everyone a table that wants one. As in-house guests are assigned tables before allowing local reservations, full-house evenings including your stay force us to refuse local guests in order to make the tables available to the guests staying at the Inn, especially on rainy nights where the patio is closed as it was during your stay. Had your table been available for us to offer to a local guest, we could have accepted one of the many reservations we refused to keep the table available for you. Your comments about the food are not usual for us. However, room service changes the way meals are presented and creates its own logistic issues, so the change in format may be a part of the issue there. Especially as presentation is what you mentioned, not flavour or quality. It is also unusual for a guest to review their stay while they are still here as a discussion at check-out usually resolves some misconceptions, like we give priority to local guests when in fact they are blocked to accommodate in-house guests first, etc. We appreciate an opportunity to resolve things together. But limited tables during a Pandemic, room service being less than ideal presentation and insects in the country in the fall are not unexpected. But we'll see you at check out soon. Thank you again, and stay well. Dwayne Hallman Innkeeper
Read more
Marta B wrote a review Sep. 2021
9 contributions2 helpful votes
It’s nice place but in the middle of nowhere so not much to do. We made mistake of booking 2 night , one will be enough. At this time because of COVID restrictions we had to eat outside and they have nice settings overlooking Walters Falls. Unfortunately on the second night it was raining so dinner in the room 😏
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Mark P wrote a review Sep. 2021
Tiverton, Canada83 contributions35 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at the Inn in mid-September 2021 for two nights while the weather was still warm, and the leaves were just starting to change to fall colours. We enjoy hiking the Bruce Trail and the Inn is a convenient location at Walters Falls for access to the Bruce Trail. We used an offer from Travelzoo to book the Inn with some meal discounts, reduced rates and vouchers. All in all, we are happy with the Travelzoo booking, all of the discounts were honoured and the booking wasn’t overly cumbersome. There may be other discount packages to explore out there. The Inn itself is a modern building with 3 levels and 14 rooms. This makes it a quaint place to visit with a quiet atmosphere. All of the rooms, complete with balconies, face the falls which is neat. The balconies are small but adequate for two people. At night the grounds and falls are illuminated. On the ground level, there are patio tables for larger groups. The grounds are well kept, not lush gardens but still pleasant. You can go walk out over the falls/dam on a walkway that is protected by a fence. There is another area you can walk on further upstream with a metal gazebo. The room (Maple room for us) was very clean and well decorated. You can tell the Inn is a bit older but is well maintained. The bed/bedding was very comfortable. There is satellite TV and adequate bathroom amenities. We wouldn’t say it was overly fancy but certainly comfortable. The balcony view of the Falls was nice. There is a coffee maker and a mini-fridge. It is nice that the Inn is non-smoking (there are some designated areas but they are not near public areas). Wifi is available throughout the Inn. The meals were good as was the service. If the weather is nice you can sit outside on a heated patio, or inside in the dining room. We tried the steak, lamb shank, and fish and chips. All were very tasty. There was also a bar area with the same sort of atmosphere as the dining room but had a flat-screen TV. We didn’t actually spend time there but the room did look inviting. Breakfast offered scones and jam (with yogurt) as part of the meal. The bacon and eggs were great, our eggs benedict the day earlier was over poached but that’s ok (maybe ask for soft poached?). There was a great amount of thought and detail put into the presentation of the meals. For example, they garnished the dishes with various herbs and flowers. The food is good at the Inn and the prices are in line with most quality restaurants. One thing to note is that Inn is currently on the Walters Falls Bruce Trail Side Trail, not the actual Bruce Trail. It’s a couple of km hike to the Bruce Trail. It’s a nice side trail that loops around to both sides of the Inn. It isn’t a boardwalk kind of trail, so there are some up and down spots to consider if you have mobility issues. I think most people should navigate it easily. Including the side trail and Bruce Trail, we hiked 28km over two days which was just about enough for us. When we visited it was definitely an older crowd staying at the Inn (over 60). That may be a different case in the summer rather than fall. This would be a great place to host a small event or wedding. In summary, it was a nice stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Close to the Bruce Trail for Hikers, and on the Walters Falls Side Trail
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Dwayne Hallman, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the through review. I am personally sorry for the overcooked eggs. I must have mistimed them as it was a busy service. Please point this out to your server in the future. I want to get it right for you! The only correction is the Inn is a new build in 2005. However, we are fans of classic buildings and décor so we'll take it as a compliment that you were fooled ;) Most of the wood paneling was done by hand (we have photos of our young children staining the wood) and you don't see that often anymore giving the building a classic feel. As most of the Inn and rooms were painted in the past 2 years I'll assume it was not wear that inspired that comment. Yes, we do see an up-tick in retired travelers just as the school year starts. They tend to wait patiently until families return to their routine and then they hit the road before the weather turns. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you another time! Dwayne Hallman Innkeeper The Falls Inn
Read more
Sella K wrote a review Sep. 2021
2 contributions
We had a gift certificate for this Inn and we needed a few days away. First off their rates- $330- insane. Our favourite In In Goderich, the Ben Miller, was $100 cheaper per night and much nicer. We were welcomed by about 20 flies in our room- I understand perhaps they wanted to air the room out...but we decided to make a game of swatting flies for two days. The check in staff were lovely and helpful. The decor...quite dated and nothing special. The Falls, lovely but honestly after sitting and watching them for about an hour...you're good. The meals were sub-par for the price. We had two entres, water and a soda and our bill was over $100 with tip. I had salmon which was ok but served with lentils? the flavours were not complimentary. My husbands Steak not really the best cut.. Honestly, for the price? I would say save your shekels.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Dwayne Hallman, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review. While I agree that flies are terrible this time of year, they are terrible everywhere. With a patio door directly into the room, an air vent in the bathroom and a trough-the-wall heat/cooling system the flies that nest in the 40 acres of forest can and do find their way in to enjoy the warmth of the indoors. We work hard to eliminate, but they out number us. From mid-August to mid-September this is a loosing battle. It can be best to avoided nature locations during this time if the issue is a deal breaker. Yes, your room is slated for redecorating this winter. We have done 10 out of 15 rooms the past 2 winters. But classic décor over contemporary is not dated. Our location would not look right in modern dress. You did not mention your 12' ceilings, had made cove-moldings, spacious washroom with separate tub and shower, comfortable pillow-top beds and your room was closest to the falls showing the entire top-to-bottom view with electric fireplace. As we were sold-out the week you joined us we cannot apologize for our rates. Rate is determined by demand. If they were out of hand our occupancy would reflect that. As Blue Mountain is commanding over $450/nt just down the road and another inn in the area is over $600/nt it may just be this area that is more than you expect. I am sorry to hear you did not find the food enjoyable. That is unusual feedback. A quick internet search will show dozens of salmon and lentil recipes. We did not invent the combination and this dish is a big seller for us. I am also surprised you did not mention how inconvenienced you felt when you were asked to provide your vaccine documents when arriving for breakfast on the day Public Health enacted the new measure. Even though you had them in your room. The way you raised your voice to the front desk as the owner ensured these important guidelines were met made it seem to us that following the law was your real issue with your stay. In any case I am glad you gave us a try and I am glad everyone in your party is well. We have learned over the years that we are not for everyone. And that's OK. All the best. Dwayne Hallman Innkeeper The Falls Inn
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$136 - US$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the falls inn - walter`s falls hotel walters falls
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioGrey CountyWalters Falls
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Falls Inn & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Falls Inn & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Windsong Horse & Carriage Ranch - Horseback Trail Rides (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Falls Inn & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Falls Inn & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Falls Inn & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Falls Inn & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Is The Falls Inn & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Walters Falls.
Does The Falls Inn & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does The Falls Inn & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is The Falls Inn & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.