We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Jumia TravelUS$137*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 312: English reviews
Start your review of Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
 Click to rate
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Rooms are very clean and private. good dining with an array of menu to choose from and friendly staff that make you feel welcome. well lit at night and have a swimming pool that helps one cool off the hot sun.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana N
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Because of the location of this place, its closeness to wildlife, and the size of the rooms, we expected everything to be perfect, but found ourselves disappointed at many, many things. First of all, the wifi didnt reach our room through out our stay!!! Its 2017, people! Not to mention there was no phone, and we had to leave our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alunood A
Josphat N, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Alunood, Thank you for staying with us. We thank you for those kind remarks to our associates; food and wonderful environment. We wish also to appreciate your concerns on our wi-fi and would like to assure you that we have already engaged our IT team to sort out this issue. We apologize for the challenge in securing you the...

Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at the lodge were exceptional and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Very friendly, keen to help out and great with our kids. All rooms are river facing and comfortable. There was a lot of variety with the meals, so you didn't feel as though you were repeating meals. I also liked that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashah_008
Josphat N, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ashah, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our associates hospitality. Thank you for those kind remarks. We apologize on the areas you have highlighted and we will work on them. Thank you for highlighting them and we look forward to hosting you once again in Sarova Shaba. Kind regards

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All rooms facing the Ewaso Nyiro river, they have a shower and a bath tab, can do double, twin, triple and single rooms. You have a safe in the room but in this region i though a fridge in the room would be a plus its quite hot throughout the year no wonder all rooms are fitted with vans. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful place to be, the sceneries are breathtaking. I enjoyed my stay in Shaba....very pleasant staff like Moses Mathenge who really treated us so well. I would recommend this place to anyone anyday

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AggieKihara
Josphat N, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Aggie Kihara, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate those kind remarks and glad that you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sarova Shaba has to be one of the places we have visited the most, a proper little paradise and ideal location to unwind, staff are always willing to go the extra mile in their service, food is good and always plenty of choice. rooms are clean and have an excellent view of the river.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
Josphat N, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Keith, Thank you for visiting Sarova Shaba. It was a privilege to serve you and we are glad you had a good time. Thank you for those kind remarks and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Sarova shaba game lodge really disappointed me this weekend. It's either the staff was overwhelmed with the service rendered, the waiter rooms too long too serve, and for over one hour they refused to make an effort to serve my guest who had visited from Simba lodge. The food needs an improvement, the service efficiency and clean up was wanting....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Njuguna R
Josphat N, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Njuguna, Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry for what you experienced. We shall look into those areas you have highlighted. It is our desire that our guests enjoy our services and we strive to improve for the seek of our guests. Kindly accept our apologies and we wish to welcome you again in Shaba. Kind...

Reviewed 21 March 2017

Our room faced the river and was well appointed. There are no phones to the rooms and the staff advise that if there is an emergency (I presume medical) that you should call the hotel reception on your mobile phone! There is no air-conditioning , but that doesn't seem to cause a problem as the nights are quite cool. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
Josphat N, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you for staying with us. We are glad we made your stay memorable. Thank you for those observations. We shall look into them. We look forward to welcoming you again in Shaba Kind regards

ahmedabad
Reviewed 18 March 2017

stayed at shaba game lodge on 3/4 - 3/6/17, amazing place, very good hospitality and very good food. They have crocodile viewing and feeding , have an amazing pool to relax.The rooms were clean , wifi was good enough. They should have sauna, refrigerators in all rooms- missed cold water in the rooms. Very peaceful stay. Highly recommeded for future...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheth17
Josphat N, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sheth, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was a privilege to be of service. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay. We have noted your concerns and we shall look into the areas you have highlighted. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards

CORVALLIS, OREGON
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We stayed here on safari. The lodge is on a river, which was full of baboons when we got there. Our room looked over the river, the grounds are lovely, lots of monkeys and hornbills. One evening, they put some chicken carcasses near the river (on the other side of the fence!) and attracted 4 Nile Crocodiles that really put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELJUNKIES01
Josphat N, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay with us. We appreciate your kind remarks and we hope you will find time to visit us again. Asante sana (Thank you very much) Kind regards

318 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (304)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (146)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaba National Reserve
5.2 km away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
327 reviews
26.0 km away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
442 reviews
14.4 km away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#13 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
22 reviews
20.4 km away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
276 reviews
0.0 km away
Samburu Riverside CAMP
Samburu Riverside CAMP
#2 of 3 in Archers Post
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Address: Valley Road, Shaba National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Eastern Province > Shaba National Reserve
Price Range: $206 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Shaba Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarova Shaba Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Shaba Game Hotel Shaba National Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sarova Shaba Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Sarova Shaba Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on first floor have a better view”
charleswD8272MK, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“choose room closer to the main lobby , wifi connection ll be better”
Sheth17, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 69 was great”
kisaj, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are good!!”
stevieb692016, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have less noise.”
lizzie20172017, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Jumia Travel
US$137* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$175
Hotwire.comUS$155
TravelocityUS$155
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates