We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel el Moro

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel el Moro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel el Moro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 226: English reviews
Bridgewater, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Interesting little hotel in the heart of downtown Puerto Morelos, close to the town square, the beachfront, and many, many, many restaurants, including the excellent one in the hotel itself. Our room was more like a suite, large, with a living/kitchen area, and a separate large bedroom. There was a full sized refrigerator, a tiny little stove, sink, plates, etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darylqu
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear darylqu: Thanks for your review. I am glad that overall you had a good staying that makes you come back to us. I am puzzled by your comment about no AC. You described one of our suites (full sized refrigerator, a tiny little stove, sink, plates, etc. In the bath area there was a nicely appointed large shower, a...

Karben, Germany
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Our flight was delayed. Therefore, we arrived at the hotel at around 5 o’clock in the morning instead of at around 9:30 pm. Even though we had written an email prior to our arrival informing the hotel that we were going to come in late, we found ourselves in front of locked doors. The reception was closed despite the fact...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Felix F
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear Felix F: We feel very sorry for your waiting for service and our miscommunication with you and your travel agent. After a long journey, we all look forward to a warm shower and bed to rest. Again, I apologize for this miscommunication. I sincerely hope that you had a better experience with our service during the rest of your...

Santa Clara, California
Reviewed 3 December 2015

This hotel is small gem in the heart of the town. Staff is very friendly, most of them speak good English. Rooms are big and clean. Ours was on the second floor with a king bed, an AC, fridge, sofa, and a roomy cloths closet . Property has a small pool but the hotel is only a block from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anne_valta
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear anne_valta: We all at Hotel el Moro thanks you for your visit and time to write your review of our services. We are glad when our guest find our rooms comfortable, clean and appropriate to have a good vacation. I am sorry that ceiling and floor fans were not on when you had breakfast. Because we live in an...

Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Great front desk guy, Allen. From there down hill. Had Master Suite because everything else was booked. Small, cramped and the smell of Raid bug spray and mustiness was awful. Did not feel comfortable and felt toxic. Very little sleep due to smell. Great location. Not for us.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nevera
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear nevera: First an apology for your bad experience which should have not happened. We recently installed a high pressure water system so we equalized hot and cold water pressure specially in the suites. Problem solved, but all of a sudden we had a water leak which affected the upper suites. We had instructed not to rent such suite until...

Newbury
Reviewed 25 November 2015

We found this hotel by chance when we were unhappy with the B&B we had actually booked. They offered us a room for 3 nights at what we considered to be a very reasonable price. Our room was well sized and equipped. We found the sofa particularly comfortable. Staff were very friendly, and we really fell for the baby Freda!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SuperDad1
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear Superdad1: We all at Hotel El Moro thank you for both your staying with us and your time to write this review. We are glad that by chance you find us and have a nice end for your vacation. Indeed Puerto Morelos is a great place to have a relaxing time surrounded by nature and friendly people. We hope...

jac8724
Reviewed 24 November 2015

We made a reservation over the phone to stay at this hotel this past Saturday. We arrived around 9pm that night to find out our reservation was never put into the computer and our room was given to someone else. This was bad news considering many hotels in our budget were booked that night. The chauffeur was nice enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jac8724
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear jac8724: First, I am sorry and embarrassed that we lost your reservation, and second thanks for returning to us after that bad experience. We just updated our web page and added new functions such as reservation and payment on line. We are getting used to new procedures and we are training our staff to handle it properly. This is...

Vista
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights awesome place it has a home feel close to everything our room service lady ( Juanita ) was the best food was good everybody at the hotel very friendly snorkeling everyday our guide was Noel took us to the best spots

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James G
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear James G: We all at Hotel el Moro thanks you for your preference and staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed not only our hospitality but also the nature beauties that surrounds Puerto Morelos. A swim in the ocean water around the reef and fresh water in the cenotes is really a pleasure. We thank you for...

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We have stayed here many times. The attractiveness of the property, the cleanliness of the rooms, accommodating staff, always make for an enjoyable visit. We were there in May of 2015. They have added a restaurant that serves breakfast lunch and dinner. This makes it even more convenient. AND the food is great. Previously they only served breakfast. We enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lilcookie
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear Lilcookie: First, many thanks for your repeated visit to Hotel El Moro. Our dear customers that year after year visit us motivate us to continue and improve the quality service that they are used to with us. In our restaurant Dona Lilia and Dona Socorro, our cooks, prepare all dishes form scratch and the best local ingredients and with...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015

My wife and I stayed five nights in September in a room called a single deluxe and we paid £264 through the online travel agency Travel Republic. We requested a top floor room facing the back rather than the street - which we got. Although the street wasn't noisy, as some have reported. Check-in was smooth, although the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MattBayleaf
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear MattBayleaf: Thanks for your staying with us at Hotel El Moro! We are happy to know that we met your expectations and had a nice time with us.I like your appreciation of our" mural on the floor". We decided to have a simple and different approach in our rooms with this kind of decoration. We think that they go...

California
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We enjoyed a 3 day stay in this lovely older colonial hotel. This nicely maintained garden oasis hotel, with a pool, is located approximately 1 block from the town square and 2 blocks from the ocean. We found that the restaurant located in the hotel very convenient, the food was very good and our server Gabriel was excellent. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judi B
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear Judi B: We all at Hotel el Moro thanks you for your visit! We feel very rewarding when we can meet our clients expectations. You are right that our best assets are our people. We hope to see you back soon to Puerto Morelos and our hotel. Thanks for your time to write your review, Sincerely, Alejandro Morelos Hotel...

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (210)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#16 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
66 reviews
2.8 km away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#18 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
100 reviews
3.5 km away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
3.0 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
7,413 reviews
3.0 km away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
10,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $78 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel el Moro staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel el Moro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no elevator so third floor is a good hike up”
 of 5 bubbles annesophie001, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No elevator and lots of stairs unless you are on the ground floor, but very doable. Rooms not directly on the street would be a bit quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbNGaryP, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Master suites face the road, sun comes in early but you have ocean views, better views in third floor master suites.”
  • Top floor master suite view
  • Room 14, kitchen.
  • Room 14 view master suite top floor
  • Room 14
  • Sea view from room 14 balcony
 of 5 bubbles 19Keys, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The second floor facing the main street was great.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelbB1848KJ, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book early...this is a popular boutique hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Denis-in-Sarnia-Ont, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay