We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heritage Lodge & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heritage Lodge & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heritage Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Wow. What a find. Only weeks after retirement and looking forward to time travelling Australia, I was struck down with a debilitating illness. After a few months of treatment my family organised a week in the daintree to recoup and reflect. I can hardly put into words the sense of peace I found at the lodge , amongst the oldest...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank retiredbutnotout
Reviewed 21 January 2015 via mobile

This hotel was good as the restaurant was fab, it was clean and spacious and the staff were friendly. It was low season so a lot of places are shut at this time of year - so it's good to have a nice place to eat close to home. The staff were good at making recommendations for things to do....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Charlottemlove
heritagelodge, Owner at Heritage Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and it's great that you enjoyed your stay with us. The restaurant is very special overlooking Cooper Creek and we are so fortunate to have our Chef Andrew produce such wonderful meals. It is the quiet season but with that comes the amazing storms and plenty of rain. Seeing the water...

Lane Cove, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2015

WOW! Thankyou Vicki for your amazing hospitality & magnificent stay at Heritage Lodge & Spa. My family & I thoroughly enjoyed your scrumptious breakfast & fantastic candlelight dinners, whilst sitting on the gorgeous deck, surrounded by the richness of the rainforest, overlooking Cooper Creek....it was pure bliss. Cabin was well equipped, extremely comfortable & set in a lush, tranquil environment....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
heritagelodge, Owner at Heritage Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

I hope your trip was safe and uneventful back home. As wonderful as it is to have such a great review, it is not only what the resort can offer but what the guests bring to the rainforest and it was a real delight to have you stay with us. Some guests might enjoy their stay but others such as...

Port Douglas
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We stayed at Heritage Lodge for three nights and didn't want to leave. The amount of birdlife is outstanding and I saw my first Cassowary! The surrounding rainforest just blew my mind away. The creek was a highlight, crystal clear water and a perfect way to cool off after sightseeing all day. Candelit dinner at the restaurant was amazing with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maserati81
heritagelodge, Owner at Heritage Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

I am so glad you were able to see your fist cassowary. Such an amazing prehistoric looking animal and so fearless. I never tire of seeing them and am in awe of such a magestic bird. I havent seen many over the last few months and wonder if it has been because of the lack of rain that we had...

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2014

We were so looking forward to ths experience based on other reviews-we were so underwhelmed unfortunately : no water in the creek ( that can't be helped and nature takes it's course ) , there are many things that could have been dealt with....there is no spa, there were no night time walks , the walks through the rainforest were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
heritagelodge, Owner at Heritage Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear David. I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I can fully understand your frustration with the works being carried out on the property, Unfortunately the car ports were being installed and it was a rush by the insurance Co. to have it done before Christmas. We had been waiting for this work...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 6 December 2014

Beautiful resort in a unique location. Caring staff and lovely owners. Plenty of wildlife: musky rat kangaroos (cute things really), Barney the bandicoot, cassowaries down the road, ulysses butterflies, turtles.. Recommend it to anyone. We had a memorable stay in the rainforest and hopefully we ll come back someday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiphaine C
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 22 November 2014

My husband and I spent a night at the Heritage Lodge and Spa near the end of our time in Australia. What a gorgeous little resort in an absolutely stunning location. The rainforest is like nothing we'd experienced before. We immediately felt incredibly relaxed on arrival at the resort. Our cabin was lovely - very quiet and we slept incredibly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theRoamingMurphys
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2014

My partner and I visited Heritage Lodge October '13 and we loved it so much that we decided to come back. Driving down the dirt road was like coming home. I was afraid that we would be disappointed coming back the second time around. There was no disappointment. We stayed last year for a week and it wasn't long enough,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
Sydney
Reviewed 12 October 2014

About 25 cabins in amongst rainforest. Cabins tidy, clean and though single roomed with bathroom, very atmospheric. Fantastic dinner at restaurant - too much food to be honest (never said that before). Breakfast included - fresh and tasy also. A lovely place to relax in the dining area - overlooking creek, with turtles, Uylsess butterflies overhead, etc etc. Well cared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Redissue
buffalo, ny
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My husband, two daughters (ages 7 and 9) and I spent three nights here last week. We had a lovely time, due in large part to the natural beauty of the Daintree Rainforest, and to the graciousness of our hosts at the Heritage Lodge and Spa. The lodge is located right in the heart of the rainforest. The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seeingtheworld_10

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
12.9 km away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
507 reviews
4.0 km away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
5.1 km away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
505 reviews
10.3 km away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
335 reviews
34.5 km away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step back in time and experience the magic of the 'Heritage Lodge & Spa in the Daintree'. Only two hours North of Cairns and just over an hour from Port Douglas, this is the only place in the world where two world heritage listed National Parks meet. This section of the Daintree rainforest, is where the world's most ancient rainforest, meets the reef. The beautiful pristine white sandy beaches are only minutes away. Heritage Lodge & Spa is a 3 1/2 star small unique Lodge featuring 20 Rainforest cabins set within the quite serenity of the Daintree Rainforest, and are perfect for Cassowary, butterfly, bird watching or musky rat kangaroo spotting. Sit back, relax on your own private balcony to enjoy nature at its best. Each Cabin has high ceilings which are designed to maximise your rainforest experience whilst enjoying home comforts. Our Restaurant "On the Turps" will tantalise your tastebuds using quality local produce, overlooking the beautiful Cooper Creek and the lodge swimming pool amongst the tropical gardens and rainforest surroundings. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The crystal Clear waters of Cooper Creek is untouched winding through the Lodge en-route from the mountains to the sea, offering safe swimming all year round. Experience the Daintree Rainforest at night, allow our experienced guide to take you through the property spotting the nocturnal flora and fauna with only a torch. Bookings can be made on arrival. As soon as you step foot into the lodge you are made to feel at home by our staff who are able to assist you to maximise your time in this magnificent destination. Or simply, relax and enjoy a massage in our day spa, whilst listening to the sounds of the rainforest. The Heritage Lodge & Spa in the Daintree, offers personalised service in a magical and rejuvenating environment. Staying at the Lodge is more then just a holiday, it is an experience! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heritage Lodge & Spa

Address: Lot 236 / R96 Turpentine Rd, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Price Range: $189 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heritage Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Heritage Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Lodge And Spa
Heritage Hotel Diwan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritage Lodge & Spa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Heritage Lodge & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 825karanl, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to go for a swim in the creek on a hot day. Very refreshing!”
 of 5 bubbles polarbear32, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Setting and overall experience is geared to experiencing the natural forest environment - perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles 560dennis, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“This place allows you to soak up the sounds and noises of the Daintree Forest - its quite special.”
 of 5 bubbles 648PaulB648, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Cabins at the end of the road have a track to private swimming holes”
 of 5 bubbles RosemaryC964, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5