We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carmichael Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Carmichael Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carmichael Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 225: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Carmichael Guesthouse is a spacious traditional house with style. Representing great value, and with very helpful hosts, this is an excellent place to stay, close to the university but also with excellent access to Cape Town, the botanic gardens, and major routes from the city.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertfC2298DT
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Robert, A warm thank you for these kind few lines. We are glad you chose to even come back for your last night. Hopefully we'll get to see you again in the near future, should you come back for another academic venue at UCT or simply just for leisure. In the meanwhile, keep well. Best regards / Yves

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Just 1 night for a business meeting. Lovely, airy, peaceful rooms. Yves welcomed us to work there in the afternoon after check out until our evening flight. Best breakfast during my week-long visit to 2 other places.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherinecV5709SN
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, Thank you for having stayed with us and even though it was indeed a quick stay, we are glad that you've got to enjoy our beautiful house and it's facilities. Hopefully you or Sheila will get the opportunity to come back in the near future. In the meantime, keep well. Best regards / Yves

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 23 October 2015

I have one regular client always asking to be booked at Carmichael House. The service is superb! They go out of their way to help you and responding time is always very fast. I had to book 4 nights for my client in November. Unfortunately they were fully booked for one of those evenings. Carmichael House went out of their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole V
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Nicole, Firstly I would like to thank you for having taken the time to write such pleasant comment. As a travel agent we value such comment. We deal daily with various travel agents, but it's the first time that we've received some feedback. Secondly, a warm thank you for booking Tinashe regularly with us, besides the fact that we...

gauteng
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Nice and clean and very well kept, friendly owners, very safe location and was very suitable for my business trip. I loved the garden layout and their is also a lovely pool for hot days. Rooms are lovely decorated and clean and I also found the owners to be very helpful and accommodating. i would highly recommend Carmichael guesthouse for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 567dianee
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Diane, A warm thank you for having taken the time to drop us such rewarding comment. Not only were we blessed to host you once, but we had the great pleasure in having you again with your colleagues. It's been a pleasure hosting you all. I am glad that you found our position convenient whilst having to go to...

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Our stay at Carmichael Guesthouse was perfect. The bed and breakfast was so charming, comfortable, and accomodating. Yves and Valerie were welcoming and very friendly. Breakfast is provided and not only were they delicious, it was served in a delightful sunny room. We stayed in a large room that fit all five of our family members and it was very...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dougw805
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Doug, Thank you so much for these kind words. It's been a pleasure hosting the five of you. It's true that our Family Suites are ideal for large families, allowing decent space for all at a decent price as oppose to most other places where you'd have to book 2 rooms or more. Our area is indeed a very quiet,...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Very friendly and helpful owners. Very good location to visit Cape Town and surroundings, a car is highly recommended and be parked on-sit or (for free) on the street. Beach towels and rain umbrellas available for guests. Wi-Fi signal was a little weak in our room. Very comfortable bed. and spacious room on the ground floor. Unfortunately, some of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaartenTraveller
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Maarten, Thank you for your review, we value our guest feedback. We are happy that you had an excellent stay with us. Our croissant are so good that some guests take more than one per person, leaving fewer for the other guests. Had you told us, we'd have gladly put one aside for you. Wifi and old houses can...

Edina, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

We chose the Carmichael guest house due to its proximity to UCT (university of Cape Town) while visiting our son on his junior year abroad. We stayed one night-a Sunday in September. The house itself is a beautiful old mansion style home with creaky wood floors, lovely stained glass and soaring ceilings. We stayed in room 2 on the ground...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimRiesterer
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for your review as we value your input. I am sorry that you were under the wrong assumption. We are indeed a four stars guest house and as such duly comply with all requirements enforced by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa (TGCSA). We have been accredited our fourth star three years ago, and are...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2015

The accommodation is beautiful, with wonderful period furnishings and decor. Breakfast (healthy options, graciously offered) is served in a sunny room overlooking an oasis of a garden. But beyond the lovely surroundings the service and warm hospitality made this visit memorable. Yves and Valerie booked restaurants for us, arranged transportation and treated us with great kindness. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelawJ9137MT
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Thank you for your kind review. It's been a pleasure hosting you and Sally, whilst you were attending the UCT conference. We are glad you appreciated both our service and our facility and we trust you had a fruitful conference. We wish you both a wonderful autumn and hopefully, we'll get to host you again in the near...

Provo, Utah
Reviewed 12 September 2015

The breakfasts are cooked to order with lots of fresh fruit, veggies, cereal, rolls, etc, on the side.. Remember, don't come to Africa if you don't want your electricity to pop off for a few hours unexpectedly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 283jillj
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Jill, Thank you for having taken the time to send this kind review. We pride ourselves in providing the best possible service and are glad when it is both noticed and appreciated. As much as SA is indeed experiencing load shedding due to insufficient power capacity during peak demands, we have put in place a few alternatives such as...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We had the pleasure of spending a week at the Carmichael and we can't say enough good things about the experience. The guesthouse is beautiful, our room was huge, the breakfast is excellent and the gardens are spectacular (we were lucky to be there in the rainy season). Best of all are the the hosts: Yves and Valerie. They are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Alan and dear Wendy, Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's always a pleasure hosting guests that appreciate our guest house and it's services. Thank you for your trust in following most of our recommendations and I believe you were not disappointed. We are glad that you've managed to also get some time outside the conferencing, to...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
2.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
8.1 km away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
6.4 km away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,414 reviews
3.2 km away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,239 reviews
6.2 km away
Parker Cottage
Parker Cottage
#1 of 163 in Cape Town Central
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Guest House is a stylish Victorian mansion, offering comfortable accommodation with 6 en-suite tastefully decorated rooms. Situated on the slopes of Table Mountain, our guesthouse is within walking distance to the University of Cape Town (UCT). Carmichael Guesthouse is 15 min away from Cape Town city bowl and Cape Town international airport via easily accessible highways. The original stained glass windows, wooden floors and original Victorian fireplaces add warmth and ambiance. You will enjoy the peaceful garden, resting on a long chair by the sparkling swimming pool. The Guest House is very central. Nearby lie Cape Town's most famous touristic attractions such as Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, Robben Island, V&A Waterfront, Constantia Winelands, Rhodes Memorial and many more...Golf courses, Cricket and Rugby Stadiums are also just around the corner. Yves, Valerie and their daughters Chloe and Charlotte will ensure that "home from home" feeling. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carmichael Guesthouse

Address: 11 Wolmunster Road | Rosebank, Rosebank 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rosebank
Price Range: $123 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmichael Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carmichael Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carmichael Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
UK
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Carmichael Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all great rooms”
 of 5 bubbles keith0806, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great service for the price”
 of 5 bubbles kruegercath, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“all lovely, but room we stayed in could easily accommodate 6 in a family”
 of 5 bubbles SpiritoftheWind, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I think any of the rooms would be fine. Guesthouse is located on a quiet street and has nice grounds surrounding it.”
 of 5 bubbles bakerliu2, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“I've always stayed in Room 6, but I have seen all the other guest rooms and there's not a bad one in the bunch.”
 of 5 bubbles bethebarnes, 5 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5