We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Crossways

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Crossways
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Crossways
See the most recent reviews
Showing 272: English reviews
Liverpool, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Crossways staff were all very polite and helpful. The accommodation was of good quality and the food was excellent. Very quiet and peaceful. Good walks from the hotel and lots of parking. The specials board was a little limited but the menu was varied.

Helpful?
Thank RegimentaFoot1
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We booked The Crossways for our wedding ceremony and reception on 1st May 2016 and after a shaky start, we can't praise them enough. The venue - sublime - excellent rooms, good space for ceremony, evening reception and bar. The staff - can't be faulted - nothing was too much trouble - from Dumitru and Derek to all the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen D
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2016

On arrival the hotel looks beautiful. It was a warm sunny day and the bar, eating area and outside terrace all looked superb, but as the stay went on the mistakes in this hotel slowly became became apparent. I wish to state firstly that any future criticism does not reflect upon the staff - they were all superb. Check in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Edgewood48
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Pros : We got the best room of the hotel, with a private steaming hot outdoors jacuzzi. Really nice private space, modern room and his tech. 4 stars Cons : staff is overworked (endless hours), tired and lack of tact and attention. Breakfast is disgraceful and selection of breakfast tea is miserable. Restaurant is beyond expensive. Very hard to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bernardo A
Nailsea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for my parents 40th anniversary! ! It was amazing, before arriving I had emailed the hotel many times for different requests and they were so obliging! ! The hotel is stunning and all of my requests had been done better than I had imagined!! My parents had the avalon suite which is unbelievable to have your own... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise M
birmingham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We were staying here for a wedding with friends. The wedding was not in the hotel but there was a wedding in the hotel the two nights we stayed.I found it clean with friendly staff and well appointed and decorated ensuite bedrooms. It is a strange place, in that it is very large with a huge carpark with many function... More 

Helpful?
Thank sanwat
CrosswaysInn, General Manager at The Crossways, responded to this review

Dear Sanwat, Thank you for your feedback - we take all Guests comments very seriously and welcome the opportunity to improve. I should clarify your misconception - the Hotel was sold out over the Bank Holiday Weekend on Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday so I am bewildered as to how and why you would suggest otherwise? It is also worthy... More 

Berkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights with a group of friends. The hotel is attractively located in a small Somerset village. Although the outside of the building is slightly barrack - like the inside has been attractively decorated. The bedrooms are well - furnished with excellent bathroom facilities. The staff are friendly, welcoming and very helpful. The high point for... More 

Helpful?
Thank BerkshireGrecian
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

A lovely hotel hidden away amongst the quiet Somerset countryside.ideal to use as a base to explore the area. Staff were warm friendly and helpful not that we needed help,room was neat tidy and contained all the things you need. Good plentiful choices for breakfast and evening meals and they will change what is required if you have an allergy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy B
Beaworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed this weekend while visiting friends. Staff were very friendly and helpful. When I arrived at 14.30 unfortunately my room was not ready, however I had help up with the luggage, the room was moved up the clean schedule and I was given a glass of wine on the house and took the time to enjoy some quiet reading... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2016

I stayed at Crossways all through my children's time at a nearby boarding school. We celebrated two 18th birthdays and I have really good memories. My last two stays have been poor, in particular, in January when I arrived at 10.45 pm and found myself at an empty hotel that had been locked up. I had to knock on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank shelaghslade
CrosswaysInn, General Manager at The Crossways, responded to this review

Good Day Shelagh, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back - We welcome all honest reviews. I was disappointed to read you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Crossways and can recall our telephone conversation. I apologize again for not being able to offer you a discounted rate of £49.00 that you enjoyed... More 

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wootton
4.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel
6.9 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
899 reviews
4.5 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wells
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
6.5 km away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
867 reviews
5.2 km away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling in the heart of Somerset, one of the UK's most beautiful counties, Crossways offers great food and superb accommodation. Situated near to the beautiful city of Wells, we are an AA-rated 4-star Inn and our bar and restaurant is open to non-residents. So whether you are looking for an overnight stay in Somerset or a week or more of rest and relaxation or perhaps you're searching for a place to eat in or around Bath or Wells, Crossways offers you the perfect location for visiting the county's most popular attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crossways

Address: Stocks Lane, North Wootton, Wells BA4 4EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > North Wootton
Price Range: $78 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossways 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Crossways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crossways staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Crossways staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms clean, comfortable and spacious”
 of 5 bubbles Damma02, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great Views”
 of 5 bubbles suzybrooks035, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room and you have a view of the field with sheep.”
 of 5 bubbles kobebay, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any of the rooms seem fine”
 of 5 bubbles lakesideboy, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“The lower numbers ( 101 to 105) look out on quiet fields”
 of 5 bubbles andrewjameswarren, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay