We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Yaxkin Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Yaxkin Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yaxkin Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I arrived at this hostel having walked from the bus station in over 30C with a very big back pack, and I was very hot and red. The receptionist was exceptionally rude to be when I arrived name cause I was hot and red and was joking around with another member of staff about it. Felt very uncomfortable, and it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fiona L
Brisbane
Reviewed 28 June 2014

As others have mentioned this hostel seems a bit more like a hotel. Service wasn't particularly great when I arrived dripping wet from the rain and stood at reception where the two staff just stared at me for a minute or two without asking me anything, probably because of the language barrier. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, though I the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TripMember112420141
Genoa, Italy
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hostel seems very interesting. I stayed 1 night, the room was small with a small window. The price was 350pesos. AC is necessary because Palenque is very hot. There is a cafe attached to the hostel which serves good food and a restaurant bar upstairs Only for 1 night. www.donatoaquaro.net

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daquaro
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This hostel seems more like a hotel ? It's nice reception and kitchen give it a homely feel. The staff don't speak English,so communicating can be awkward. No free breakfast,instead an expensive cafe is adjacent to the hostel ! Tours can be booked at over inflated prices,so go into town and book. Dorms are spacious and showers are warm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justinmarley_12
New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Missed the combis back to the reserve to camp and decided to stay in town. Should have just paid the taxi to go back. El Yaxkin looks like it could be a great spot, but I value my health and safety over amenities and bedbugs are an absolute terror and easily transportable. I laid down to rest and felt itchy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank itsmisscs
yaxkin1, Propietario at Yaxkin Hostel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about the experience you had at our hostel. We know how serious this matter is and request an opportunity to explain. When initially notified of the potential issue in one of our rooms, we immediately blocked, treated, and renovated the room in question, and the 3 adjoining rooms; installing new wooden ceilings, disposing of and...

Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We were travelling with a group on a tour and my partner and I booked a private room. This was clean, had a massive bed and the air-con and bathroom were great. There is a cafe attached to the hostel which serves good food and a restaurant bar upstairs. Some if our guys were in a shared room above us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djshaw1979
Kleve, Germany
Reviewed 6 February 2014

For our base we went to Yaxkin Hostel in Palenque. It is a nice hostel with dorm options. There is a nice cafee in front. The kitchen is amazing and there is a bbq avaidble. What was really nice. The only thing is their staf is a helpfull guy. But it take a long time to check in or being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margarita1198458
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Recently stayed at Yaxkin Hostel in Palenque, and enjoyed it immensely. The staff were young and eager, which made up for some of their inexperience - nothing big, just little things here and there. Stayed in the 8-bed dorm, 130pesos a night, there are private rooms available as well. It was clean, quiet, had lockers, the main reception area and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cansurvivor
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a private room. Thought it was a good little budget place to get to the ruins from. There was a kitchen, nice garden and a parrot. Unfortunately we woke up early to catch a bus on the 2nd morning and found our bed and mosquito net crawling with bed bugs. We had thought we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank OllieSet
yaxkin1, Propietario at Yaxkin Hostel, responded to this review

Our commitment to our clients is to ensure that they enjoy each stay, and to address and resolve any potential issue when given the opportunity. First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincerest apology that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay, and due to the early departure time, our lack of opportunity to properly address your...

Gerlingen, Germany
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed at Yaxkin for two nights in December 2013 iun a private room. yaxkin Hostel is located in a quiet Hostel/Hotel-Zone, a few minutes from the city centre (which is not worth visiting). The Hostel apparently lost my reservation from Hostelworld.com, which was quite an unpleasent experience. After talking to the recepionists, they offered me to stay alone in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Knomex

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Xibalba
Hotel Xibalba
#10 of 34 in Palenque
266 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
561 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#4 of 34 in Palenque
450 reviews
3.8 km away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#5 of 34 in Palenque
553 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Ciudad Real Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Yaxkin Hostel

Address: Prolongacion Av. Hidalgo esquina 5ta poniente norte Num 1 | Zona ecoturistica la Canada, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Price Range: $25 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yaxkin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaxkin Hotel Palenque
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yaxkin Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Yaxkin Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid this hostel !!”
 of 5 bubbles 289marlij, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Double bedroom with shared bathroom has just about enough space for a double bed. Don't bump your head going in the tiny triangular door.”
 of 5 bubbles Lucocinn, 8 Aug 2015 | Read review
“you get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles BMfifty2, 13 Apr 2015 | Read review
“pick a cabin seperate from the main area, yet close to it as there are few lights to walk in the dark”
 of 5 bubbles BamberAmberBamber, 5 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Private room away from the main entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles lindsay255100, 4 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5