We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rachel's Motel and Cottages

4827 Trans Canada Hwy Near Eldon, Belfast, Prince Edward Island C0A 1A0 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (3)
Family and Play Areas (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 motel in Belfast
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on the TransCanada Hwy, 24km west of Wood Islands ferry, 38km east of Charlottetown, Rachel's offers thermostatically controlled electric heat and large equipped playground.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
46Reviews2Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 18
  • 5
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
939rahul wrote a review Sep 2021
Fort McMurray, Canada9 contributions9 helpful votes
I was traumatized by the check in experience! My wife was sitting in the vehicle while I walked into check in. I simply asked the lady who checked me in that if there was an emergency at night, whom would we need to contact, since there wasn't a 24 hours front desk. The owner, Mr. William, was sneakily listening (that's how it came across) to the conversation during the check in process from the back office and came yelling outside at the top of lungs to the lady at the front desk " NO NO NO - he is not going to stay here. Why is he asking that there is an emergency? It is my intuition there is something shady here". I politely explained to him that it was a simple question about an emergency, such as hot water issue in the room or what if the door lock wouldn't work. We had checked in at approximately 9:45 pm, which was 15 min prior to the front desk closing down for the evening. Mr. William (the owner) continued to yell at me "No, I do not want you here. It is my intuition that something is wrong. Why would you be asking about an emergency? Please take your package an go away from here. I don't want you here. I will give you a full refund". The lady was apologetic and shocked at the same time. She explained to William that it was a simple question in their own language (it seemed to be an Asian language). She gave me the room key in my hand and William had the audacity and cheek to throw another metallic key on her head and tried to injure her because she continued to check me in. I was stranded and in the middle of nowhere and there was no other hotel around in the vicinity. Hence, we continued to check in. This was overall an extremely traumatic experience for me!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AMsays wrote a review Aug 2021
Thornhill, Canada4121 contributions895 helpful votes
No internet, no cable, no ice, no fan, no concern. I have done 300+ accommodation reviews all over the world and this is one of the worst. No accommodation, no island hospitality, no concern. Embarrassing shame that this place is in my native Canada. I came here many years ago with my children. I always remember the gracious, giving, previous owner, Jeanette Cantelo. Since 2018, the new owner’s goal is to get customers in once and don’t care if they ever come back, there will be another one soon. PT Barnum once said, “there is a sucker born every minute”. He was right. Caveat Emptor. A real rip-off.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
anyoneforgolf wrote a review Mar 2021
pei13 contributions8 helpful votes
It was great place to stay, clean comfortable rooms with air conditioning, friendly hosts, and close to a golf course and only 25 minutes into Charlottetown on a good highway. It is only a few minutes away from the Lord Selkirk Park and Belfast Highland Greens golf course where the is a canteen and 2 swimming pools. 1/2 mile away is the Chuckwagon Restaurant with a super play area for kids. A very scenic part of he Island to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mala W wrote a review Aug 2020
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Wonderful owner couple. Cottage was clean, nicely furnished. Beds are comfortable; coverings are of good quality. Kitchenette was very handy as area restaurants; especially for breakfast, are scarce. Surroundings are serene with wildflower garden. Fire pit and lounge chairs behind cottages. We had a very relaxing stay. Shall certainly stay there again when visiting that area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bryanbalkam wrote a review Jul 2020
New Minas, Canada25 contributions4 helpful votes
Happy to have accidentally found this gem. It’s small, cozy, affordable, clean and has what ya need. Large yard for the kids. Basketball net and swings. Fire pit for the family. Coin laundry with soap and bounce sheets. Fridge and coffee in rooms. Owners are cheerful and pleasant. I can’t say enough, this is a great place. Row house or cottage style available.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Athina078 wrote a review Sep 2019
Lunenburg, Canada151 contributions47 helpful votes
Nothing fancy, but this cottage was lovely and clean. Service was great The area is very quiet. I could not have asked for anything more perfect for my business trip to Wood Islands. Definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TamaraLLangstroth wrote a review Aug 2019
Saint John, Canada13 contributions1 helpful vote
A Friend & I had pre-booked this location through the net. We arrived very late in the evening and they had our cottage ready and unlocked. The Cottages are basic cottages. We had a 2 bedroom( double beds)..small kitchen area( stove/fridge incl.)..toaster, coffee pot, pans, toaster oven included. 1 bedroom had an air conditioner and the other a pedestal fan. It had a small front landing and sat amongst the other cottages. There is a bon fire pit ot back...But!!! no one used it for our 2 night stay. The Owner was friendly & very accomodating ! I would most definitely stay here again !!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RachelsMotel, Owner at Rachel's Motel and Cottages
Responded Sep 13, 2019
Thank you for your kind review Tamara. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
J-Mo613 wrote a review Aug 2019
Halifax, Canada57 contributions19 helpful votes
My husband and I were looking for an inexpensive place to stay for one night while we had our dog in PEI to visit the Atlantic Veterinary Collage, that’s how we came across Rachel’s Motel and Cottages. They allowed both of our dogs to stay and the price was right for one night. We were put in the motel section, room A. It was exactly what you’d expect for a motel room, a little out dated but we weren’t there for the decor. The bed was comfortable enough. The room had air conditioning, a bar fridge and a coffee maker. The shower water was hot and the water pressure was perfect. The grounds were beautiful, surrounded by a hay field. There was a nice communal fire pit to use. Laundry facilities available. The owners were very friendly. The only suggestion I could make is to have bbqs available, we didn’t see any around, not even at the cabins. We ended up having to drive in to Montague for grab some food. Other than that I would stay here again without question.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RachelsMotel, Owner at Rachel's Motel and Cottages
Responded Sep 13, 2019
We always aim to deliver a great experience. We regret that our service did not satisfy your expectations. Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will use the feedback to make us better.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laurie wrote a review Jul 2019
Lanark, Canada2 contributions
First of all we were told that we were getting a cabin where we could cook in.A hot plate and a toaster are not considered cooking appliances. Every time you tried to make toast the smoke detector woukd go off. It was fine until the last night. We had told William that we would be leaving the monday only to come back the sunday night to find our cabin had been rented out and all of our stuff had been moved to their garage so after a long battle we had to pay for another night and put us in a différent cabin. Why they didnt just put the people who were now in our cabin in the free cabin and left our stuff alone. I dont like people touching my stuff. In know way are you anywhere near the ocean like th.e website says. Really disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RachelsMotel, Owner at Rachel's Motel and Cottages
Responded Sep 13, 2019
Dear Laurie12345678, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience. We were unable to extend your reservation as all of our units were reserved for that Monday. The 'free cabin' you stayed at the last night was actually reserved by another guest who luckily did not arrive that day. We apologize for the misunderstanding. Please feel free to reach out to info@rachelsmotelandcottages.com with any further comments, concerns, or suggestions you wish to share. We would love to make things right if you give us another chance.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TomsScreen wrote a review Jun 2019
Holmdel, New Jersey8 contributions3 helpful votes
We were out in the boondocks of Nova Scotia getting desperate to find a place to stay the night when we found Rachel's Motel and Cottages. Willam Zaho and wife welcomed us heartily and even supplied us with several bagels because there was no restaurant close by. We had a choice between cabins and a long unit. Both were very nice, clean and acceptable. The setting is beautiful except for the mosquitoes. We could have even lit a campfire while we were there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Belfast area.
PRICE RANGE
C$126 - C$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rachel`s motel and cottages hotel prince edward island
LOCATION
CanadaPrince Edward IslandBelfast
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Rachel's Motel and Cottages - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Rachel's Motel and Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Rachel's Motel and Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Belfast Mini Mills (6.9 km), Fleece & Harmony (1.1 km), and Acadian-Scottish Ancient Burial Ground (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rachel's Motel and Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Rachel's Motel and Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Rachel's Motel and Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rachel's Motel and Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Country Taste Kitchen And Bakery, Bryson Family Bakery, and Bar Vela Pizzeria & Mercato.
Are pets allowed at Rachel's Motel and Cottages?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Rachel's Motel and Cottages?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sir Andrew Macphail Homestead (9.3 km).