We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Pilgrim Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Pilgrim Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

477 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 471: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I had booked this hotel for a night away for my husbands birthday. We had a drink in the pub prior to checking in. The rooms are in a separate building on the same site. When we went to the room we felt its was spacious. It could have been cleaner though and there was lots of dust. Unfortunately I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarvarh
Stuart E, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sarvarh Thank you for you letting me know of your disappointment on our policy of charging as per our cancellation policy, I am sorry you did not feel this was correct. I hope you are feeling better since you returned home and as a gesture will hold your money for 2 months. If you wish to return please contact...

Southampton
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Loved it, can't wait to stay again. Very warm welcome. Absolutely loved the food , and the staff were very friendly. And room are big clean and fantastic, and huge bathroom which was very clean too and loved all the little touches

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikkib911
Stuart E, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this review

Dear nikkib911 Thank you for such a positive review after your recent visit, it was great to read your feedback. We hope to see you again soon Regards Stuart

Mitcham
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

stayed 2 nights room was great the flasks of fresh milk a nice touch. breakfast was good and the evening meal 1st night good. 2nd night ran out of 2 choices buy 8.15 pm when not busy staff did there best to make up for it .spoke to the manager checking out and he was most apologetic but all said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank russellj337
Stuart E, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this review

Dear russellj337 Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay, I am sorry on the second night that we ran out of certain items on the menu this is very disappointing to read after should good feedback on your stay. We hope you revisit soon Regards Stuart

Ryde, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great place, amazing staff and good location for the Forrest! Have stayed twice now and will definitely be back.... Rooms are spacious and really clean, breakfast is really hearty and a warm welcome both times we have stayed! Reasonably priced as well - win win all round!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah n
Stuart E, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this review

Dear sarah n Thank you for such a glowing review and its great you have revisit the Pilgrim. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Stuart

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel far exceeded our expectations, the bedroom and bathroom were really spacious and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent, we had a superb dinner the day we checked in and a wonderful breakfast the following morning (prior to a cruise).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 612beverleyt
Stuart E, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this review

Dear 612beverleyt Thank you for taking the time to review the Pilgrim prior to your cruise. I appreciate the great review and hope you had a great cruise. Regards Stuart

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Great Inn the rooms were very spacious and clean. A nice touch were the small flasks of cold milk so we could have a cup of tea in the room. The restaurant was great for an evening meal and the breakfast was extensive and good quality. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Would recommend to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
Stuart E, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this review

Dear Joe W Thank you for your recommendation following your recent visit to the Pilgrim. We hope to see you again soon Regards Stuart

.
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The large rooms were to a very good standard. The great touch of fresh milk in small flasks means a nice cup of tea in the morning. Restaurant was great for breakfast and evening meals. Staff very helpful and friendly Would stay again and recommend to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joewC8216YN
Stuart E, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this review

Dear joewC8216YN Thank you for taking the trouble to review the Pilgrim following your recent stay. It was great to read such a positive review. We hope to see you again soon Regards Stuart

We Bicester
Reviewed 1 week ago

Family gathering meeting once a year, cousins and partners (wife's/husband's). All over 65 with a total of circ 200 years of married life. Wonderful get together. Perfect for a meeting point for 4 who live the other side of the New Forest in Hampshire and for 2 coming from Oxfordshire and 2 from Cambridgeshire

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 988mrr
Stuart E, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this review

Dear 988mrr Thank you for visiting the Pilgrim to meet up with family, it was great to have you with us for your get together. We hope to see you all again soon. Regards Stuart

Birmingham
Reviewed 1 week ago

Random hotel choice turned out to be a total winner. The food and beer are amazing, some decent cider too. Rooms were really nice and just away from the main bar enough so there was no noise. Heated smoking hut outside, great evening meals at the pub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnlR9534OQ
Stuart E, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this review

Dear johnlR9534OQ Thank you for taking the time to review the Pilgrim, We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon Regards Stuart

Wantage
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a large room and it was furnished very well, only a 10 meter walk from the pub which was very helpful later on. Great food in the evening and can't recommend the breakfast enough, staff very helpful when I enquired about good walks. If you love a thatched cottage and a cosy pub this place is perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 247tobyc
Stuart E, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this review

Dear 247tobyc Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate you taking the time to post it after your visit. We hope to see you again soon Regards Stuart

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marchwood
3.4 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#18 of 24 in Southampton
1,456 reviews
3.4 km away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,520 reviews
9.0 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
937 reviews
7.4 km away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,052 reviews
7.0 km away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Pilgrim Inn

Address: Hythe Road | Marchwood, Marchwood SO40 4WU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Marchwood
Price Range: $102 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pilgrim Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pilgrim Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrim Hotel Marchwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pilgrim Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Pilgrim Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a ground floor room which was convenient to the car park”
 of 5 bubbles Q8299JGkarenr, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is mix of old and new. I can't remember whether there was a microwave as we didn't need to use one.”
 of 5 bubbles joy55, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just pay a visit you will not be disappointed!”
 of 5 bubbles GaryD26, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“check the bar prices before ordering”
 of 5 bubbles RichardG12, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go to a local b&b”
 of 5 bubbles karenj356, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay