We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mount Richmond Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mount Richmond Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Hobart
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

While the hotel was relatively basic, it was clean and comfortable. The king bed was brilliant and free wifi was an excellent bonus. The restaurant was also lovely, and well priced. We enjoyed our stay!

Helpful?
Thank zoef92
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very clean and tidy but a little rough around the edges (ie there was white stuff on the carpet...like chalk?} Found it hard to sleep properly, for even though the beds were clean and comfy the noises from outside and the next room and corridor kept us awake.

Helpful?
Thank Liz G
Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To some up this hotel extremely poor, it is very run down, untidy, key card does not open the outer door, rooms are very small and out dated and most of all untidy. I would not ever stay there again. And the cost was over the moon for its condition :(

Helpful?
Thank macc2177
GarethJ2, General Manager at Mount Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. I do encourage all our guests and guests of any establishment to notify the management of any issues, such as with your key card, at the time so we can rectify it there and then. We do have a very large number of frequent return guests that are... More 

Travellers are raving about these Mount Wellington hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The room was dated, dirty, noisy and cramped. The party goers upstairs ruined the stay and unable to find anyone to report noise to. Got 2 hours sleep as the upstairs guests dragged furniture across the floor, yahooed all night, constantly heard everytime the plumbing was used! 😞

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
GarethJ2, General Manager at Mount Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. The issues you have raised are being looked into. Kind Regards, Gareth Jones General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2016

shower was broken when I stayed small rooms noisy since its beside the road . definitely not a 4-star hotel. not worth what they are charging at all have stayed in better places for the same price around Auckland. only good thing is service i guess.

Helpful?
Thank Aki H
GarethJ2, General Manager at Mount Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly monitoring our rates to ensure we are offering them at as competitvely as possible. My apolagies about there being a problem with the shower, I do wish we had been notified at the time so I could have rectified this for you there and then. We are constantly investing in improving the... More 

Winmalee, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Staff were excellent and remembered guests names. Food was great - bar was adequate. Rooms a little small but clean. They arranged taxi to and from airport - charge $40 each way, which is cheaper than an unbooked taxi. Would certainly stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank clivew52
GarethJ2, General Manager at Mount Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Very happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Customer service is my passion which is shared throughout the team here. Your kind comments are what make our day so thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards, Gareth Jones General Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
210 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

The service was good but there were a few issues with the room. There was a puddle of water on the floor of the bathroom that dried out through my three day stay. It was not cleaned up. One of the windows had a broken catch - in fact the catch was missing. We were charged $35 a night extra... More 

Helpful?
Thank 911deb
GarethJ2, General Manager at Mount Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Mount Richmond. The latch and puddle issues you have brought up have been addressed, my apologies for these. Please do let us know of anything like this at the time so we can address them for you there and then. All our rooms are priced for double occupancy and there... More 

1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times and have enjoyed our stay everytime, the rooms are abut run down but I can see they are working hard to get them up to date and the staff do wonders in making up for this, they are friendly, welcoming and are there to help with whatever we needed, the restaurant was amazing great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pebstar122
GarethJ2, General Manager at Mount Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

I am very happy to hear you had another enjoyable stay. We are investing heavily in improving the rooms and property as a whole. This is ongoing so I hope you enjoy the next stage when you visit next. Customer service is our passion and your kind comments are what make our day, so thank you and we look forward... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Greeted with a great smile, staff are friendly bunch. The room i got was fine and clean, just a but smaller than I expected. But no major. The facilities available to you are exceptional. I would recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank BellaBunji27
GarethJ2, General Manager at Mount Richmond Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon. Kind Regards, Gareth Jones General Manager More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I had booked for a conference away for my Husband and myself. I always request a quiet room. . . Unfortunately it seems no room in this hotel is quiet :(. All the top floor rooms have large vent pipes going through them... They hum so loud you think a jet plane is taking off. Unfortunately the walls and floors... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adventure_Lass007

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Wellington
2.9 km away
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centr...
#1 of 3 in Mount Wellington
256 reviews
4.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Ellerslie International
6.4 km away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 3 in Ellerslie
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#28 of 68 in Auckland
593 reviews
7.0 km away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
5.8 km away
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 Star hotel, recently refurbished, just 10kms from Auckland city centre and 15kms from Airport. 8 conference/function venues & wedding facilities for up to 200 guests. Restaurant & Bar. Swimming pool, Spa & Gymnasium. Broadband internet throughout. Great food, great facilities and friendly staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Richmond Hotel

Address: 676 Mount Wellington Highway, Mount Wellington 1062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mount Wellington
Price Range: $116 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mount Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mount Richmond Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“take ear plugs”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Executive rooms are not worth the price”
 of 5 bubbles Zailie, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I imagine all rooms were equally unacceptable for noise”
 of 5 bubbles marieh706, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“they are all good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ReeseAgri, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms by the back (24hour) entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles andyhelenpb, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay