We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Slaley Hall

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Slaley Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,586 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Slaley Hall
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,579: English reviews
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a birthday treat weekend. Had such a nice time. The rooms are comfy and clean, the spa was nice to have a swim and relax and the breakfast was more than adequate! Food on the evening was a little pricey but that's what you would expect from such a nice place. The staff were really friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank SJH267
Andrew T, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Dear SJH267, 5 STARS WOW Thank you haste ye back Regards Andrew M Thresh General Manager More 

Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2015

I have stayed here many times and never been dissapointed a tranquil spot about 10 miles from Hexam. Great leisure facilities with a pool and spa, Outdoor activity centre including Quad Biking, Segway, Shooting, Archery and Paint Ball. There are 2 very challenging golf courses the championship course hosted the English Open. Spacious clean and comfortable rooms, casual dining in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Archie L
Andrew T, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Archie L, Thank you for the 4 stars and for you numerous visits we aim to please see you again soon Regards Andrew M Thresh General Manager More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2015

After a very smooth check-in and a well appointed room we enjoyed a very pleasant country break in this busy and comfortable hotel. A highlight of our stay was the very courteous and professional level of service we received from all the staff that we encountered. This large hotel is set in spectacular grounds with an 18 hole golf course... More 

Helpful?
Thank simontk
Andrew T, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Dear simontk, Thank you for your 4 stars and yes dogs are very welcome lots of fantastic walks around the estate to tire them out before a relaxing dinner although I do hope my retriever does not read this she will be hiding in my car next time I come to work Regards Andrew M Thresh General Manager More 

Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed on the 10th of October with the golf society from work. We had a complete ball staying here. Great room, staff and food. The whole weekend was brilliant. Rachael really looked after us in the Hunting room for our private dining and nothing was too much trouble. Even me asking for freebies!!! The golf was excellent and the pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy D
Andrew T, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Andy D, And I cannot fault your review the team including myself and especially Rachael are delighted with your 5 STAR Review Thank you Regards Andrew M Thresh General Manager More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2015

I turned up at check on 14th October 2015 to discover what I had booked and what was on website didn't match what was on file, and as I was already feeling unwell I wasn't best pleased. However, after discussions with helpful reception staff and the intervention of the Duty Manager (Jose) my expectations were met. Problem Solved. I will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
Andrew T, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Bill S, I am so glad we overcame the problem and thank you for acknowledging as much with your 5 STAR Review Regards Andrew M Thresh General Manager More 

scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Tricky to find but worth it when you do. The grounds are beautiful and vast. The room I stated in was adequate but perhaps in need of a but of redecoration. Beautifully clean and the bed was very comfortable. My advice would be skip room service and stick to the restaurant you might stand more chance of being served something... More 

Helpful?
Thank homegirlScotland
Andrew T, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Dear homegirlScotland, Thanks for the feedback and watch this space for announcements of a bedroom refurb the sample rooms have just been completed looking good. Regards Andrew M Thresh General Manager More 

Dunbar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Very comfortable bed. Room looking into courtyard so a bit noisy. Let themselves down badly with the roast potatoes with the carvery in Hadrians on Sunday night. They were awful and should never have been served. Otherwise food is very good.

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Andrew T, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Michael M, Thanks for the 4 stars as a roast potato lover disappointed we did not hit the mark generally they are outstanding Regards Andrew M Thresh General Manager More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night and 2 rounds through golf breaks and was excellent value for money. Priestman good course, unfortunately spiked greens but nothing you can do there. Hunting is exceptional, some very tough holes, very picturesque and really enjoyable. Halfway house closed with full golf course? Very strange. Bedrooms excellent good beds and linen. Good breakfast selection but no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
Andrew T, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Tom H, Great feedback overall glad you enjoyed your visit looking forward to see you back Regards Andrew M Thresh General Manager More 

Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We stayed here a few weekends ago with another two couples. We had arrived first and decided to go to the Claret Jug for a drink as we were too early for check in. We were a little surprised at the condition of the bar itself as it seemed to need a good clean! Several tables were still dirty from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Loubs2012
Andrew T, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Loubs2012, Your 3 stars are generous but does not take away from the need to address several issues experienced and we are on it Regards Andrew M Thresh General Manager More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We arrived in late September for a two day break DBB booked through the redoubtable Your Golf Travel. Signage on arrival a tad unclear and I was reprimanded for parking in the members car park, quite rightly and fairly, by the starter who like his colleague and the staff in the Pro shop proved helpful and communicative. Played the Priestman... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sean G
Andrew T, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Sean G, A most detailed and constructive review thank you I remember to dreaded top sheet incident well embarrassment does not cover it apologies again heads have rolled Regards Andrew M Thresh General Manager More 

828 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (599)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (141)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (109)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (245)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (194)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Ladywell Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room (16)
Viewed
Second Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slaley
16.9 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,002 reviews
16.5 km away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,388 reviews
9.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.1 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
16.5 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
620 reviews
9.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Not 100, not 500 but 1000 acres of Northumberland moorland and forest play home to this magnificent, elegant Edwardian mansion. That the interiors are almost as dramatic as the exterior says it all. This is very old world grandeur with a modern twist. Bask in the warmth of the reception you receive on arrival, dine at Hadrian's Brasserie, or at the Duke's Grill. Indulge with a Vichy water spa treatment or just flop in the fantastic indoor pool. The great outdoors doesn’t get much greater. After a bracing country walk in the wilds, or round on our championship golf course, retire to the Claret Jug and the 19th Bar for a stiff brandy. Surely you deserve it ? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Slaley Hall

Address: | Northumberland, Slaley, Hexham NE47 0BX, England (Formerly De Vere Slaley Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Slaley
Price Range: $144 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slaley Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Slaley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Slaley Hall Hotel Hexham
De Vere Slaley Hall Hexham
Hall Hotel Slaley
Hall Slaley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Slaley Hall staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Slaley Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We enjoyed the ground floor aspect of 210.”
 of 5 bubbles TrevorHall, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay”
 of 5 bubbles alexandra3210, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“corner suite gave great views in all directions”
  • Looking out over Golf course
 of 5 bubbles Annielou11, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Golf course view”
 of 5 bubbles ElizabethBunn, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Very quite place.”
 of 5 bubbles derekc481, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay