We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra
See the most recent reviews
Showing 426: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2016

I stayed at tall trees on my previous visit and was up to the standard of the my first visit. The staff are great and the food in the bistro was excellent. A little hiccup with the AC but was attended to quickly. Thanks again tall trees.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vivamelbourne
BWTallTrees, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Vivamelbourne Welcome Back! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us again and that your visit was as pleasant as your first. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Tall Trees soon. Kind Regards Brook Paulka

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Check in efficient. Allocated a room directly facing the car park. Canberra is getting cold (May) and the room was freezing. Reverse cycle air conditioning warms the room but doesn’t take away the cold that seeps into the bed mattress and base. Renovated bathroom, glossy black floor tiles, new fixtures and shower but noticeable mould in grout in shower –...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ExploretoDiscover
BWTallTrees, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review

Dear exploretodiscover Thank you for your time to pass on your experience. On behalf of the team please accept my apologies that you encountered a few issues during your stay. Unfortunately we did have a maintenance issue with a gas line. This was rectified and the hot water was once again flowing through the hotel. For this my apologies for...

Reviewed 24 May 2016

I stayed there two nights in 2015 on my way to Snow mountains from Sydney. This is awesome quiet place with so much helpful staff. Its cheap too. I would certainly revisit. Some of my friends are going on same way this year, i have suggested this place already

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jawad N
BWTallTrees, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Jawad N Thank you for your excellent review. We love to hear that our guests enjoy staying with us. We are ecstatic that you have recommended us to your friends. ON behalf of the team thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends to the Hotel this snow season. Kind Regards Brook Paulka

South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We stayed at the hotel and there is parking but not undercover and found the rooms really tiny. The bathroom is tiny and not big enough to swing a cat. The rooms with balconies out the front are bigger but more expensive $150 a night. The bed was ok and cable TV is on analogue so you need to change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
BWTallTrees, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Tim J Thank you for taking the time to pass on your experience. It seems that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and i am sorry that we did not meet with your expectation. Our standard rooms are compact in size but are still very comfortable. Located close to the hotel is the vibrant Dickson dining...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We purchased a groupon deal for a family room at this hotel. The booking process with the hotel was simple and pleasant. Check in was simple. We had room 219. Room had a queen bed and two single beds. The room was clean and reasonably modern with a nice large window looking out over the trees and street. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vincentjoseph
BWTallTrees, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review

Dear vincentjoseph Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. On behalf of the team thank you for such a wonderful review. I was delighted to read that the team exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to Tall Trees when you next Visit the Nations Capital. Kind Regards Brook Paulka

Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on 2 occassions during business trip. Price is very affordable and location is good close to everywhere. Bedroom is functional, nothing fancy but that's expected with the cheap rate. Bathroom is very tight and not many space for you to put your amenities. Drying off after a shower can be a challenge if you have a large frame....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gani T
BWTallTrees, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Gani T Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am sorry to read that you stay was interrupted by other guests early in the morning. We do try and monitor this as much as possible. We are striving to provide a better experience for all our guest and your feedback is important to us. Thank...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 May 2016

This week I stayed at the hotel recommended by my work colleague as he said it was really good and away from the hustles of Canberra. I was a little disappointed with the overall experience as there was a coach staying there at the same time and they were struggling to cope with it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank themitchells11
BWTallTrees, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review

Dear themitchells11 Thank you for taking the time to pass on your experience. During your stay with us we did have a coach group staying with us. After an initial few issues at the start the remaining days went very smoothly. I was disappointed to read that you felt we are not quite there, but other than the group i...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 May 2016

The room was OK. Quiet location, breakfast was very low standard. The motel had been sold and the new owners were under going renovations. The staff at the reception area were under stress due to a very loud noise coming from the computer, they said they have been told that it won't be fixed until the renovations were finished. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
BWTallTrees, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Wombat522 Thank you for taking the time to pass on your experience with us. I was very disappointed that you did not enjoy your say with us. If I may clarify a number of this issues that you have raised. The hotel has recently changed ownership and we are very excited by this change as the company will be...

Wodonga, Australia
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Once you find the hotel it is a great stay. Tall Trees certainly represents Best Western Hotel chain in a superb manner. Breakfast was excellent. Only down was the shower over the Shub being 6'3"makes these a little awkward. The heated floor made up for the shub experience.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
BWTallTrees, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Graig T Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Tall Trees Canberra, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as will the team. I will investigate the shower heads in the executive rooms but we are limited due to the height of the ceiling in those rooms. Once again Craig,...

Smeaton Grange
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Check your contents of mini bar on arrival because they will charge you days after your visit, maybe we were naieve, and didn't check. As a family on a budget we carry our own snacks,BUT hey there's nothing you can do after.. they can have their $16 and loose a customer. Dont take the the family.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark B
BWTallTrees, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Mark B Thank you for your time yesterday to discuss your concerns. I will be following up on the points you raised, with my team to ensure that we can rectify this issue from reoccurring. I was very pleased to hear that you and your kids enjoyed your stay with us. A refund for the mini bar has already...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.9 km away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 58 in Canberra
312 reviews
1.0 km away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
1.0 km away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#22 of 58 in Canberra
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,447 reviews
4.2 km away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#44 of 58 in Canberra
399 reviews
9.2 km away
Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quality boutique motel in a quiet, leafy, central location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra

Address: 21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Price Range: $127 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ainslie
Best Western Canberra
Canberra Best Western
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Canberra
#30 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“upstairs and towards the suited me nicely”
 of 5 bubbles WangarattaHeather, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All are Quiet and great surrounds.”
 of 5 bubbles bantam414, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you have heavy bags go the ground floor, if not they will carry them up the stairs for you”
 of 5 bubbles 474suev, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room was ground floor not far from the dining room for breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles mezandgaz, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't Go there”
 of 5 bubbles donnas532, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5