We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kirketon Hotel

Expedia.comUS$67*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 150: English reviews
Start your review of Kirketon Hotel
 Click to rate
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We checked into this "hotel" and immediately checked out loosing the full cost. It's dirty, run down and disgusting. Certainly not a 4* in my opinion, a 2* at best! Small rooms dirty run down and in need of full renovation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl2382
KirketonManager, Front Office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to advise of your recent experience with us. We are really disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We have shared them with our team and we will utilise your feedback to improve in all different areas. Personally, I'm really apologise for all of...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very small room, no opening windows. No power point for kettle so have to use the kettle on the one tiny shelf in the bathroom. No storage space in bathroom. Rooms full of dust behind cupboards, under bed and air conditioning unit. Didn't even bother washing our dirty mugs. No lifts so had to lug suitcases up stairs. TV remote...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamStella23
KirketonManager, Front Office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Kirketon Hotel. It is disappointing to know that cleanliness didn't reach your expectations . This level of service is certainly not acceptable and was addressed with our housekeeping team. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back. Kind Regards Marcel Mai Receptionist

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

At first sight and arrival it seemed like a lovely boutique hotel with a friendly attendant. The room was ok. The staff, specially a Russian sounding older lady, was obtuse and plain rude when we noticed my phone had been 'lost'. My house keys also 'disappeared' from the room, to which, she seemed even angry to talk about. I ended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S Enrique G
KirketonManager, Front Office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Enrique, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Feedback from our guests is very important to us as it allows us to continually improve the products and services that we offer at our wonderful hotel. I apologise for the bad experience at your recent stay with us. I will share it with our team in...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So when we arrived the first thing that didn't work were the keys, then when we finally get to the room and not only is the showers covered in mould but the roof looks like it is about to collapse in. The availability of power points are not only limited but when you try to speak to a receptionist let's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barry B
KirketonManager, Front office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to advise of your recent experience with us. We are really sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We have shared them with our team and we will utilise your feedback to improve in all different areas. Personally, I'm really apologise for all of...

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Stayed at this hotel for two nights and I would never stay here again. I was on the first floor due to how much luggage I had (there is no lift & no one to help with the bags). Every time someone walked in the room above mine I heard every single footstep and creak. Not to mention the walls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paola C
KirketonManager, Front Office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to advise of your recent experience with us. We are really disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We have shared them with our team and we will utilise your feedback to improve in all different areas. Personally, I'm really apologise for all of...

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Pretty dissappointed. For the price and location this is a let down. The room was tiny, dark and just too small. I cannot understand how this hotel is rated 4 stars. Lumpy pillows and an uncomfortable bed made the room just unpleasant. The bathroom is tiny and towels poor quality or just old. We stayed for 2 nights. When our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leticia M
KirketonManager, Public Relations Manager at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for the review. We constantly monitor our service and quality standards, your view in this regards will aid us to make our-self better. However, we also apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. We hope to see u again for more richer experience then this.

Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Travelling for business I've stayed in most hotels & a few Airbnbs in the Kings Cross / Darlinghurst area. The Kirketon has become my preferred choice. Great location, everything you need & it has a bit of character so it's not like all the other big cookie-cutter/Same-Same hotels. Reasonably priced & great for business travel. Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rasselman
KirketonManager, Public Relations Manager at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for review. Indeed, we constantly monitor our service and quality standards, and review by our valued guest, helps to maintain our standards and check the loop holes if any. Thanking you once again.

Melbourne
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately The Kirkton is showing its age and is looking very tired and in need of an update. Great location and friendly staff are there, but the rooom and hotel itself needs work. The wi fi was ok, but tv reception was sporadic. For Sydney, the price is very reasonable, and recommended for that reason alone, but alas, it's days...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maurieh
KirketonManager, Front Office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

I certainly apologise that you have bad experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Feedback from our guests is very important to us as it allows us to continually improve the products and services that we offer at our wonderful hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Arrived in torrential rain storm, soaked to the skin. Told by reception that room would not be available for a couple of hours, but, if we paid 20 dollars a room would be available immediately. How does that work? Room was dark, with a brick wall a couple of metres from the windows. Four flights of stairs up to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roseglen1
KirketonManager, Front Office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay at Kirketon hotel didn't reach your expectations. Only from feedback like yours we are able to improve quality of our services . Kind regards Marcel Mai

Reviewed 9 March 2017

I stayed this hotel for the first time, it was neither good nor bad. However, next time I visited, it was very bad room. Empty amenities box, old towels, broken furniture, and no safety box etc. I thought the hotel was good, so I'm very sad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kei M
KirketonManager, Front Office Receptionist at Kirketon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Kirketon Hotel. It is disappointing to know that cleanliness didn't reach your expectations . This level of service is certainly not acceptable and was addressed with our housekeeping team. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back. Kind Regards Marcel Mai Receptionist

258 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (144)
Viewed
Executive Room (27)
Viewed
Premium Room (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
Superior Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#106 of 175 in Sydney
25 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#115 of 175 in Sydney
649 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 175 in Sydney
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 175 in Sydney
2,253 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Darlinghurst

Neighbourhood Profile
Darlinghurst
Home of the small bar revolution in Sydney, Darlinghurst has more bars per capita than any other suburb. Themes range from American whiskey bars and 1950’s theme bars to hidden bars requiring secret passwords. Oxford Street is the "Gay Capital" of Australia, where gay and lesbian-friendly venues feature “diva shows” and dancing until the morning. Vintage lovers flock to Crown Street, and small designer boutiques can be found along Victoria and Bourke Streets. Dining in Darlinghurst is a gastronomic adventure. Food from all over the world is on the menu, from American ribs to tapas, sushi to gelato and every ethnicity in between.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Renowned for friendly and effortless service, the Kirketon Hotel welcomes its guests to experience the genuine warmth and charm of the professional team whose prime objective is to look after the guests. The intimate 40 room iconic boutique hotel is located in the heart of Sydney's restaurant, bar and nightclub district, moments from Oxford Street and Kings Cross Station and nestled in a quiet corner of the Darlinghurst, Potts Point and Kings Cross Triangle. Moments walk to Woolloomooloo, the Sydney Financial District, and Botanic Gardens, home to the award winning cocktail bar 'Eau de Vie' and renowned Asian restaurant 'Fu Man Chu'. The Kirketon is ideally located for all accommodation needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kirketon Hotel

Address: 229 Darlinghurst Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Price Range: $112 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirketon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kirketon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirketon Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kirketon Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Kirketon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get the standard room it's the size of a prison cell”
SamStella23, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Try and stay on the top floor so you don't hear people walking above you”
paolacQ5468NH, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not sure if there is one.”
roseglen1, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Suite was good.”
, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't book”
D9008JIsuem, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$67* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$136
Booking.comUS$70
Hotwire.comUS$67
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates