We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Show Prices
#38 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Panoramas (35)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

883 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 822: English reviews
Start your review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel
 Click to rate
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and booked a one room apartment but got a three room apartment!!!the location is great, easy walk to Westfield tower or the aquarium and there are many bus stops and the metro station almost in front of the york. The pool is really nice and beautiful, there were just some residents who where to loud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elke1984
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our one bedroom apartment was well presented. It had the added bonus of a washing machine and a separate dryer. Bed was comfortable and just loved the pillows. The only criticism would have to be that the kitchen had very few cooking utensils and crockery. This could be an issue for people who wanted to cook their own meals. Supermarkets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melanie823
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are appreciative of your comments and I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

The apartment was spacious, clean would suit 3 couples easily in the two bed apartment as there is a second lounge with a fold out bed, two full bathrooms full laundry and full size fridge, two balconies with out door furniture, only down point was the TV was a bit small for the size of the apartment and were recommended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helen_greig
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. I do apologies if the breakfast was not up to your expectations, We are communicating with the team there to check what went wrong. we look forward to have you again soon with us kind...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights. When we got to the room on the first night, we looked under the beds. Wow, totally disgusting. dust bunnies, toe or finger nails, not sure. socks, money, pens, paper. jelly beans on the floor in the kitchen. Grease on the stove fan. Dishes had dried food on them. we complained to the manager,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don D
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback online. Service is certainly an integral element of any experience and we are disappointed we have failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Please rest assured your comments have been addressed with the wider management team. We place great importance on training and developing our associates and have...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights after our arrival in Oz. The hotel is very well located for all major central sights. The accommodation was pretty good - not the highest but great value for money. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend for a short stay in this city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen1912
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the awesome ratings of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic time visiting Sydney your stay with us! We can't wait for you and your family to come back and see us again!

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is good, it is within walking distance of the major sights and there is also a train station very close by. For the price we paid I think the hotel was good value for money due to the location. We stayed in a room that had not been refurbished yet. The room showed it's age,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rialin
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We are appreciative of your review following your recent visit at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are delighted you took advantage of our central location and took comfort in our apartments. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Sam

Ottawa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My experience was terrible. This was purchased as a 4.5 star on Hotwire. This is only a 2 star at best. The only thing going for it is the size. The room smelled, stains on couch, rips in curtains, peeling dirty wallpaper, carpet stained and bunched up, water stains in ceiling. When I refused to stay in the room(we prepaid)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaniaCarriere
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel As published online and on our website Our apartments are categorized in Deluxe and Standard types with description and details, I am sorry to learn that resulted in a less than satisfactory stay for you even with upgrade provided upon your check in . Your...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here post-cruise and were able to walk to the hotel from the ship which docked at Darling Harbour. We were pleasantly surprised to discover that we had been upgraded from a one-bedroom apartment to a two-bedroom, two bathroom apartment with full kitchen, dining area with balcony, sitting room with balcony, and washer and dryer. The unit had all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback. I am happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us Location is extremely convenient, regardless of the destination. With public transport just minutes walk away, and a couple minutes walk to George street it does make the day more productive, We look forward to welcoming you back...

Richmond NSW Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were very happy with our accommodation at The York Apartments York St Sydney. We had a 2 room apartment and it was very clean, spacious and very well equipped. I especially enjoyed the crystal clean pool. The reception staff were extremely polite, friendly, professional & helpful. We booked an apartment for 2 nights - the night before our sons...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiBailey
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that the location was desirable for your needs while in Sydney. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Congratulations Sam

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a 1 night stopover here and the location for central Sydney could hardly be better. A short walk from Wyndham station and then an easy walk to the Rocks, Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and midtown Sydney CBD. Good value for money for the location alone. The hotel itself is getting quite dated. It could be so much better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waihua
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Location is extremely convenient, regardless of the destination. With public transport just minutes walk away, and a couple minutes walk to George street, it does make the day more productive. The process of refurbishing our Standard type apartments is gradually bringing the quantity of Deluxe apartments up. Looking forward to have you again with us Kind Regards

637 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (371)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (48)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (118)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (237)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Studio Apartment (54)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Bedroom Executive Apartment (106)
Viewed
Pool and Jacuzzi (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 179 in Sydney
1,887 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
599 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Price Range: $229 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The York by Swiss-Belhotel staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from The York by Swiss-Belhotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“corner suits have two balconies and a fab view”
 of 5 bubbles helen_greig, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check your bed first”
 of 5 bubbles 695dond, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the ninth floor. A bit noisy with the early morning traffic”
 of 5 bubbles HappyH805, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High up facing Jamison Street”
 of 5 bubbles Maxim3m, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We needed a 3 bedroom apartment which was on the top level. Was a real find.”
 of 5 bubbles 433clairet, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5