We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Show Prices
#41 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Panoramas (35)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

902 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 841: English reviews
Start your review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel
 Click to rate
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great apartments in a great location for cruisers. Walking distance to the Overseas Passenger Terminal. We stayed in a fully equipped apartment, seperate bedroom, kitchen, big bathroom with a concealed laundry. Glimpses of the harbour from the large balcony. Would stay here again on our next visit to Sydney

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RaeB59
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a three bedroom apartment, top floor. It was a lovely apartment. Convenient locations as its walking distance to all the sights. We loved our stay. Apartment was serviced daily and Staff helpful. I would stay again and recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank naomicH9028ES
Eureka, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I know that the York is renovating rooms and that is the excuse given for worn furniture and less-than ideal conditions mentioned in other reviews, but why can't the cleaning staff at least spot clean the carpeting? The furniture and fixtures in our unit looked good - but the carpet told a different story. It was not worn at all,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dub1955
Central Oregon, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

There was three of us and we were given a very large suite with sleeping for two in the bedroom and one in the living room. Each room had its own wall-mounted a/c unit. A roomy covered balcony was accessible from both rooms, although the traffic noise was very loud outside, even on the 14th floor, so I doubt one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walkalot4ever
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are appreciative of your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location for sightseeing with most places within easy walking distance. We had two bedroom apartment on 27th floor.Two balconies, but unfortunately only had partial view of harbour as there are several high rise buildings in the vicinity. Rooms was large and light, with enough windows to let in the light 10 mins walk from circular quay, lovely walk through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Location is extremely convenient, regardless of the destination. With public transport just minutes walk away, and a couple minutes walk to George street, it does make the day more productive. We look forward to have you again with us

Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed on the 19th floor. Two bedroom, one bathroom, washer and drier, fully equipped kitchen, dining table and tv area. Nice hot spa and a pool, although tooooo cold for me, heated would be better. Nice little gym too. Easy access to the opera house, bridge , circular quay. Also train, buses and loads of eateries and woolies to buy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jojakest
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the good ratings of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic time visiting Sydney and your and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We can't wait for you and your family to come back and see us again!

Campbelltown, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The York in Sydney is handy to The Rocks, Circular Quay, The Opera House and the theatre district. We stayed in a Queen Suite with balcony, full kitchen and sizeable living area on a special deal. Only disappointing thing was the age and condition of the bathroom with the shower screen doors especially being loose and hard to keep in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that the location was desirable for your needs while in Sydney. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a deluxe studio and it was smashing It was very well thought out Got most thing except oven but it was a studio not apartment Aircon was good Shower and bath was good Cleaned Everyday Washer and tumble dryer in very large bathroom Free wifi Loved this studio felt very comfy Balcony looking out to buildings but you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JEANDALBY
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked as friends had also booked. I was a little apprehensive as some reviews weren't complementary. I booked executive one bedroom apartment. It was very clean, full kitchen with enough cooking utensils, etc. The lounge & dining room were Hugh with a balcony off this area. Plenty of comfortable lounge furniture & large dining glass top table. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank enjoytravelling_10
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are large with balconies looking over the city. The hotel was clean with helpful staff. Close to shops and restaurants. Elevator, pool, air-con, cable channels helped make it a relaxing stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eilenep2017
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are appreciative of your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

658 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (392)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from Room (52)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (122)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (237)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Studio Apartment (54)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Bedroom Executive Apartment (106)
Viewed
Pool and Jacuzzi (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#66 of 174 in Sydney
1,962 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 174 in Sydney
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,243 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Price Range: $208 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The York by Swiss-Belhotel staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from The York by Swiss-Belhotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request an upper floor to minimize street and train noise”
walkalot4ever, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Construction work on road meant we had noisy mornings as rooms not double glazed. Apartment in general was good”
, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on higher floors there is a bit of noise from the approach to the Harbour Bridge, not really annoying enough to spoil the stay.”
  • View from balcony across to harbour bridge on ramp.
alanb210, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for quite rooms however consider where the best views are”
  • main bedroom with ensuit
  • view from front balcony
  • view from front balcony (room 2403)
  • view from front balcony
  • Dining Room
Roamen, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“corner suits have two balconies and a fab view”
helen_greig, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5