We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel 59

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel 59
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel 59
See the most recent reviews
Showing 274: English reviews
Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 25 November 2010

There is a new owner as of about 10 years ago. He called the shuttle to the airport with insufficient time to get there and I missed an international flight. He thereafter ignored my letter of complaint. No dusting or vacuuming of the room. No staff on site, and no voicemail system in phone, so no messages after 3pm. No...

2Thank headingaway
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this review

Dear Visitorlosangeles Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am although saddened and confused to read them i thought you had left as a friend. Calling the shuttle is a free service we do for guests, we ask what time you wish to be picked and call for you. We only tell you they pick up...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Quiet location and accessible to Kings Cross and public transportation, high quality and clean bedrooms plus overall hotel premises, sumptuous and delicious breakfast (my complements to the chef!), great hospitality and efficiently friendly assistance from George himself. Will definitely stay at the hotel should we visit Sydney again. Highly recommended.

Thank Juita_H
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed 3 nights with George and Co at Hotel 59 and enjoyed it immensely. It's no luxury apartment - it's a cute little place. Our itinerary meant we didn't get to spend too much time at the hotel, but the room was lovely and clean, we slept well, and the breakfast was everything I hoped for after reading everyone...

Thank EastCapeNZ
Reviewed 19 November 2010

This hotel is an excellent value. It is an oldie but close to transportation, inexpensive, pleasant, and with breakfast, The clientele at breakfast seemed to be (besides the hotel guests) residents of the neighborhood which is very nice. Excellent shower and George is a helpful host. Wifi signal is strong in a room that was at the front of the...

Thank hahnecho
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Excellent location, very close to the city and to public transport , definitly great for the price. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are amazing, specially the french toast with maple syrup. The hosts are really helpful and welcoming. I would certainly stay there again!

Thank cortomaltese85
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I found Hotel 59 to be a great value. It's very close to public transport, but you can also walk to some attractions. My first day there I walked to the Royal Botanic Gardens then on to the harbour. It is in King's Cross which some people with children may not like, but I was ok with it. I was...

Thank saldate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel 59 for three nights. It was a nice place to stay at. George was very helpful and if there people who needed travel advice, he would be more than happy to help them out. A free breakfast was included in the accomodation price which was one of the main reasons I chose...

Thank abigailCarr
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We really enjoyed staying at this small, family-run hotel in Kings Cross. The rooms are small and a bit old-fashioned, but all in all nice and comfortable. The breakfasts at the streetside café are really delicious, a great way to start the day. We read some comments about the area having a bad reputation, but we never felt threatened and...

Thank Manu1861
Dallas, TX
Reviewed 9 September 2010

When I return to Sydney, I will be staying at Hotel 59! Thanks to the other great reviews on Trip Advisor I booked two rooms for two weeks each with George at Hotel 59. Not only are the rooms just as clean and spacious as described (we had the two family rooms), George is a great host, the breakfasts are...

Thank rmcareer
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I've been meaning to write this review for nearly a year. We stayed at Hotel59 for two weeks and were very happy with our choice. We based the choice of Hotel59 on reviews I had read here on Trip Advisor. The price was right, the hotel was clean and well maintained, the hosts were always helpful, the breakfasts were great,...

Thank PJCorey

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (71)
Dining (18)
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Bathroom (9)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (11)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (40)
Room/Suite (21)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
View from Room (2)
Bathroom (2)
Dining (4)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
4,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
759 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 63 in Sydney
474 reviews
The Maisonette
#7 of 63 in Sydney
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a boutique family owned hotel located in a great convenient spot to explore different parts of our beautiful city, public transport is very close so no need for a car. We are less than 2 kilometers from city centre and harbour. We have a great variety of local restaurants close by, supermarkets, laundries are all also close to us. The accommodation is a great inexpensive option for Sydney, if you wish to dine in our café a great value breakfast and lunch is offered if you wish, Free internet is offered. We look forward to meeting you all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel 59

Address: 59 Bayswater Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $94 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 59 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 59 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 59 Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel 59 staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel 59 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we were on the first floor and found room fine.”
 of 5 bubbles flynnybucks, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not budget and perfectly adequate, good bed,room was nice and clean”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Accessible to everything u need.”
 of 5 bubbles _anne_banez, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“single room has a double bed very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles TasmaniaLovesydney, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“there are only 9 rooms total spread among 3 floors”
 of 5 bubbles yclaymt, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay