We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Base Backpackers

Traveller (97)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (11)
Overview
477 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia See on map
AMENITIES
Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Wheelchair Access
1 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveller rating
204
207
158
97
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
204
207
158
97
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviews travel desk east coast trip darling harbour big kitchen bunk beds town hall station shared bathroom opera house straighteners woolworths drawers cbd
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 787 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I will start with the positives, staff are great really freindly and there are a good choice of tours and some good free activities. The negatives: If you want to talk to anyone learn sign language the music is so loud everywhere, reception, kitchen, chillout...More

Date of stay: January 2019
4  Thank steveeY2423HA
Response from Katie W, receptionist at Base BackpackersResponded 3 days ago

Hi Steve, Thanks for your review - we appreciate the feedback and suggestions. We are happy to hear you were treated so well by staff; everyone here works hard to ensure each individual guest receives a warm welcome and is looked after for the duration...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The room (133) was so dirty upon arrival that I couldn't even put my stuff down anywhere. I stayed in a room with staff members who talked loudly all night (until 2am). At 11pm, after I had been laying in my bed already for an...More

Date of stay: January 2019
5  Thank foco08
Response from Katie W, General Manager at Base BackpackersResponded 4 days ago

Hi foco08, Thank you for your review - we really appreciate the feedback. We are terribly sorry to hear that you were kept up most of the night by noise in your room. This does tend to happen in hostels, of course, but we understand...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place has potential but I cancelled the second stay I had planned, because I just couldn't stay there again. The toilets and showers were grim, 90% of the time the sanitary bins were overflowing, I'm not sure if this is due to the guests...More

Date of stay: January 2019
5  Thank mizkezb
Response from Katie W, receptionist at Base BackpackersResponded 3 days ago

Hey Guest, Thanks for your review - we appreciate the feedback and suggestions. We apologize that your stay here at base was a such bad experience for you, because our aim is on the happiness our customers. We try our best to give you here...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment you walk in here, you just feel like you're gonna meet great people here. Loud music playing, the bar is one of the best onsite bar I've seen. There's just great atmosphere for backpackers and people who want to have fun. Staff...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank 638kelseyv
Response from Katie W, receptionist at Base BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Hallo Kelsey, Top dat je de tijd hebt genomen om ons een review te schrijven. We zijn erg blij om...More

Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

I have stayed in a couple of hostels in Sydney and this was by far the best. The staff are so helpful, especially the German guy Scott and bianca who were always so helpful with any issues that I had! The activities that are run...More

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank Towie309
Response from Katie W, Manager at Base BackpackersResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Towie thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear positive things about your stay in our hostel. That's why we offer such activities for our costumer to have fun. Hopefully we'll see you again Cheers Base Team

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Bar/Lounge
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Restaurant
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
50
Price range
US$41 - US$188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Wanderers on Kent
Also Known As
Base Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
50
Price range
US$41 - US$188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Wanderers on Kent
Also Known As
Base Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Photos
Traveller (97)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (11)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Nearby
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with
energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise
buildings and after-work drink places, high-end
shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners
frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a
dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit
the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle,
reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 191 nearby hotels
Seasons Harbour Plaza
824 reviews
.10 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
3,132 reviews
.13 km away
Mantra on Kent
1,870 reviews
.16 km away
Fraser Suites Sydney
1,267 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 6,957 nearby restaurants
Sepia
624 reviews
.14 km away
Bona Fides Cafe Restaurant
171 reviews
.09 km away
Spicy China
40 reviews
.10 km away
QVB Jet Bar Caffe
234 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,836 nearby attractions
Queen Victoria Building (QVB)
5,420 reviews
.21 km away
Sydney Town Hall
330 reviews
.20 km away
The Art Of Dr Suess Gallery
8 reviews
.20 km away
Genesia Theatre
7 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jkune5
December 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sunset_pursuer | Reviewed this property |
It does, Auckland is a great place to get a job anyway so you shouldn’t have any issues, lots of work to be had maybe try find a job first if you don’t succeed then ask hostel for help.
0
Votes
cg2792
July 19, 2018|
Answer
Response from bardh6 | Reviewed this property |
Some of the room Locatod 2nd floor of the bar/club, but u may request others room.chill
-2
Votes
Room Tips
"Try to get a floor as high as possible to get away from the club noise."
oja2014
Dec. 1, 2018
Read review
"Good rooms, ideal for young party people!"
175liand
Oct. 21, 2018
Read review
"If you don't want to here the base of Scarys go to floor 3 or 4"
maya943
Jun. 25, 2018
Read review
"Book a smaller dorm"
F6874DTsaraa
Jun. 21, 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing