We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wake Up! Sydney

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wake Up! Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wake Up! Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,109: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016

I can see the appeal of the Hostel, it just wasn't for us. When we arrived it seemed really cool and a young place which it fits with their demographic. We checked in thinking everything was ok, went out for the rest of the day to come back to find out that our booking hadn't gone through which was quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Lucy A, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we appreciate all feedback and are always looking to better our property. I will certainly be following up your feedback in regards to your bathroom and make sure it’s up to our high standards. As a 6ft3 gentleman I certainly can sympathise with your situation however some...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2016

You get what you pay for, rooms are clean, each bed has a light and power socket, staff very helpful, the downside is the kitchen is too small for the amount of guests in the hostel, and the tv room is open and next to the kitchen so it was usually pretty noisy and you couldn't hear the tv. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simmo2158
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Simmo2158, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We have recently fitted every dorm room with individual power points and reading lights as we know even backpackers enjoy the small creature comforts! I will be letting housekeeping know how impressed you were with the cleanliness as they work very hard to ensure our high Wake Up!...

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Great hostel, lovely staff who were really helpful. Facilities are brilliant and there are lots of things to get involved in. Felt safe in our shared room where lockers were provided, was clean even in shared shower facilities and toilets. Fast wifi. Only downside was it was quite a walk from the main attractions but there is a shuttle bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie M
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Ellie M, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review and thanks for your perfect rating. I am so glad you had such an awesome stay with us and think we are the best hostel you have stayed in. I will be letting the reception staff and the house keeping staff know that their efforts have not...

Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

Expensive for a hostel but cheap for a hotel...and that's exactly what your getting...the cleanliness of a hotel and the customer service to match!!! Entertainment organised each eve so your never bored from live bands to pool tournaments and during the day free tours around the city and beaches. Great family atmosphere from the staff starting with John at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nailer16383
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Nailer16383, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and thanks for your perfect rating. We all certainly work extremely hard to ensure everyone has the best possible experience not just in Wake Up! but also in Sydney. I will certainly let John and the Side Bar crew know how impressed you were with their service. We...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

My first experience in an aussie hostel and I would recommend. I stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm and met great people. Light and plug socket next to your bed is very handy. Lockers not huge but decent sized and able to unpack a few bits. If you get a bottom bunk then under bed storage a plus too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia L
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Alicia L, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It certainly sounds like your first aussie hostel experience was an awesome one. The Wake Up! Building originally was a department store all the way back in the early 1900's! Because of this all the levels and rooms are different sizes. In regards to the kitchen I...

Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

This hostel is ridiculously big, but the amount of people you get to meet is awesome! Facilities are good and clean, beds are comfy, staff are friendly and polite. The travel desk is really helpful and were able to answer any questions I had. Cafe is nice if a little overpriced. Location is amazing - you can get anywhere as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Emma H, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review and thanks for your perfect rating. I am so glad you had such an awesome stay with us. I will certainly be sharing your review with all the staff here as I believe all their hard efforts have contributed to your amazing experience. Side Bar is a...

Perth
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

If you love the social vibe of international hostels you will love WakeUp! Location is awesome, situated across from Central station which makes it easy to get around the city by train. The walk to QV building takes about 15-20 mins but easier if you just get the train into the centre of town.There is also convenience stores/food outlets close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessfav94
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Jessfav94, Thanks for taking a moment to share your feedback, and thanks for your perfect rating. It certainly sounds like you made the most of your stay with us. We like to put on as many free activities as possible to ensure our guests see as much of Sydney as possible aswell as meeting new friends from the hostel....

Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

This hostel was my first hostel to stay in and I had a pleasant experience. The bathroom facilities were clean and pleasant. The kitchen area could do with some improvement as most of the hobs don't work, quite a small kitchen for the amount of people that are staying there. We had a problem on the second night of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayleigh494
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Kayleigh494, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am so glad we were able to make your first hostel experience such a memorable one. In regards to the kitchen I have done a complete audit on all the hobs and have fixed the broken hob. Our whole team here works very hard to ensure our...

Groenlo, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

My stay at Wake Up was awesome! Lot's of activities, great party's at Sidebar, good food and very friendly staff. The traveldesk is great as well, they arranged my whole eastcoast trip! Would recommend this hostel to everyone

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sannemeekes
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Sannemeekes, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback and thanks for your perfect rating. I am so glad you had such a great experience with us. I will certainly be letting the Travel Up! team and the Side Bar crew know how impressed you were with their efforts. I hope to see you again soon. Wake...

Bemmel
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Wake Up! is the hostel that stuck with me the most throughout all of my journeys. The hostel has a great bar (literally went there almost every evening) and best staff! Rooms were very spacious and tidy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fennevdw
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Fennevdw, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, and thanks for your perfect rating. I am so glad you had such a great experience with us. We pride ourselves on our great staff here. We have had such luck in getting the nicest hardest working people from all over the world. I wish you all the...

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#56 of 179 in Sydney
4,661 reviews
Surry Hills
Bounce Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 136 in Sydney
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 136 in Sydney
1,021 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 136 in Sydney
257 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#9 of 136 in Sydney
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner '3rd Best Extra Large Hostel Worldwide' and 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney' at the 2017 Hostelworld 'HOSCARS' awards. Wake Up! Sydney Central represents all that Sydney has to offer. It's modern, it's clean and it's the hub of backpacker activity, right in the heart of Sydney. With a fresh layout, friendly staff and funky activities, Wake Up aims to offer an experience, not just a bed Join us and experience Wake Up! Sydney today. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wake Up! Sydney

Address: 509 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $40 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Up! Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wake Up! Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wake Up! Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wake Up! Sydney staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Watsonville
8 months ago
6 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Wake Up! Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd recommend to ask for a room that is not on the street side as you may hear the music coming from side bar at this night.”
 of 5 bubbles jeannecharlottew, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“First floor is relatively close to the street and you can sometimes hear the music and noise from the bar downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles tarrynhassell, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any of the 06 or 10 bed dorms are the best- very spacious and sociable”
 of 5 bubbles Amy2062017, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“it's quite noisy on weekend nights”
 of 5 bubbles _missanhtran_, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“6th floor good, no street noise”
 of 5 bubbles Daylee-BH, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5