We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Camperdown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Camperdown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 495: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I came to stay at the hotel for the NYE period and was told that I must pay a $200 to stay in the room. I was never informed prior that I must pay this "NYE bond" which was a pain. The elevators close on you which is quite dangerous. Our bathroom had random holes, paint peeling, rust, dirty bathtub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monalizaplatini
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear monalizaplatini, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are disappointed to see you stay was not as enjoyable as we would have hoped and apologies for the inconvenience caused. Your feedback about your room has been passed to our Executive Housekeeper. All guests staying over the New Year's Period were required to provide a $200...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently needed to find accommodation near to RPA Hospital - Rydge's was within walking distance so suited my needs. The room was 7th floor,very clean and the bed was so comfortable. Aircon was a great asset with hot weather. Reception was easy and very pleasant. Room service and restaurant were limited due to time of year, however there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Sam M, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. First of all i hope everything was ok ? I am glad to hear that you find the location of the hotel was convenient and that everything went well during your stay. You will be glad to hear that we are in...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We got a room in 7 floor and the air conditioner didn't work, so we got moved to 5 floor the working condition of the air conditioner in that room could be better ....it wasn't cool enough at all. Pool area needs some care. We decided not to swim. If your intentions are to do some sight seeing to Sydney...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback and I sincerely apologies for the poor experience you had during your stay. We are located on the city fringe of the Sydney CBD however it is easily accessible by bus or taxi. You will be glad to...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The rooms at Rydges Missenden Rd are of a good size, the décor is tired but the all is clean with comfortable beds. the hotel is located close to RPA and King St. There is a bar and restaurant which offer good food and a decent glass of wine. The hotel is surprising quite

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaylene E
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Kaylene E, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback as we strive to improve on our products and services. You will be glad to hear we are in the process of planning an complete upgrade and we do hope that we can welcome you back in the...

Bali, Indonesia
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

This would have to be the most overpriced , badly kept , mouldy, hotel in the area. The rooms are really run down, lifts are filthy, bathrooms mouldy and the whole place looks unclean and rundown. If you are going to charge $280 a night for this place it is time to get your act together and clean it all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dwwheeler2016
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear dwwheeler2016, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback and I sincerely apologies for the poor experience you had during your stay. We are currently in the process of planning a complete upgrade of the entire hotel and I do hope I can welcome you back again once...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 27 November 2016

First the good news. The location is close to University and the fun Newtown neighbourhood. Also, the staff are friendly and the breakfast was good. Now the bad. This place is at least 20 years late in getting any type of a reno. The carpet in on our room was badly stained, the furniture chipped and scratched, the closet door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMWsView99
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear DMWsView99, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback as we strive to improve on our products and services. You will be pleased to hear that we are in the process of planning a complete upgrade of the hotel. I am glad to hear that our staff was...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Rydge's Camperdown (not to be confused with airport Rydge's) is perfectly placed for the university and hospital. If you're a Priority Guest Member you'll get a good discount if booking online, as well as a late checkout. There's a good food market/shop really close, with gluten free foods, and lactose free milk if you don't want to pay $20 for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CA C
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear CA C, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback as we strive to improve on our products and services and we hope that you will return soon. Warm Regards Jason Chen Business Development Manager

Reviewed 22 November 2016

I say here quite regularly for work because of the location and access. Newtown is definitely my vibe and I adore the cafes, parks and surrounding neighbourhood. I find the architecture really endearing and some of the rooms are great, although not the place for you if you must have contemporary finishes. The beds are comfy, although there are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abigayle T
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Abigayle T, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback as we strive to improve on our products and services. I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team and specially with our Housekeeping Department to and ensure that further training is provided. You will be...

Reviewed 18 November 2016

Spent 6 nights while visiting University of Sydney. Ideally located for this purpose and really handy for exploring Newtown. As noted by many reviewers it is a little long in the tooth. I am not one obsessed with luxurious amenities so it served my purposes well. My room was huge, the bed was comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross U
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Ross U, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback as we strive to improve on our products and services. We have taken your feedback onboard in regards to breakfast options and will pass this on to our head chef. I am pleased to hear that our staff...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Rooms clean, bathrooms needs upgrade. Pool facilities fair pool need upgrade. Staff where friendly and helpful. Garage parking overpriced at $25 a night on premises or in garage. Parking should be included in that price range. Breakfast should have been included in that price range as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caseycorbain
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear caseycorbain, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. Our prices are determined by the demand and the market and I believe we are still very competitive amongst a lot of the hotels in the surrounding areas. In regards to breakfast and parking charges we do have a number of packages which...

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Adara Camperdown
#103 of 178 in Sydney
146 reviews
Camperdown Suites
#133 of 178 in Sydney
14 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glebe Space
#156 of 178 in Sydney
29 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#120 of 178 in Sydney
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $133 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lower floors are a bit better”
 of 5 bubbles 178abigaylet, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“City view is probably a marginal advantage with early sun to wake you.”
 of 5 bubbles GKSWanderlust, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for one, the staff will help”
 of 5 bubbles JimboGil, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go below the 3rd floor (apparently) Rooms are even worse - we checked!”
 of 5 bubbles C2614EQstephenm, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors and city views”
 of 5 bubbles MarcusBVictoria, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay