We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Camperdown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Camperdown
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

508 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Camperdown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 501: English reviews
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Room needs a good painting and carpet clean. 1 light not working but wasn't a big enough preoblem to request fixing since we stayed only 1 night. Very convenient location to Sydney Uni & RPA hospital.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 101oztraveller
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am pleased to see you found our location convenient for the purpose of your visit. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Clair Warner

Cowra, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We stayed on the 7th floor, the air conditioning didn't work so we had to chock open the door and open the window to get some cool air into the room, we informed reception but as it was the weekend it was not fixed. The bathroom also looked dirty but this may be old worn tiles, I am hoping. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 995holidayer
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologise for your air conditioning not working in your room. If we couldn't offer a room move due to occupancy, we can always offer a fan to your room. I have made sure housekeeping are aware of the tiles in the bathroom, they will rectify this immediately....

Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We are members of the Rydges Priority Reward Program , and have stayed here several times before , but how standards have slipped ... The staff are still friendly and helpful , but it is the little things which let it down - the net curtains are diary and falling apart , the bathroom was dirty and full of mould...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Good Evening David. Thank you for the review. I have spoken with our maintenance manager about the pool area and the stairs leading to the pool. We will be putting smoking bins out in these areas from now to prevent this problem happening in the future. We appreciate your positive feedback about the hotel staff. Thank you for choosing to...

Gunnedah, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2015

The reception staff were amazing. I was having a bad day with my partner having cancer surgery so I was looking slightly frazzled but they were great. The hotel itself is disappointing. Mouldy showers, dirty carpet and the rooms stink of cigarette. Parking is a rip off for what you get. The underground carpark is some kind of LSD trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bangers M
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the issues you had with your room regarding the housekeeping. I have taken your concerns to our executive housekeeper to rectify immediately. Thank you for your positive feedback about our front office staff. Kind Regards, Shaun Dregmans Guest Relations

Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

Dirty, old and not cleaned from previous occupant, used towels and toiletries in room on arrival, dirt spray marks on wall, parking is not secure and yet they charged $25, if your choice was this hotel or sleeping in your car...choose your car!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YvonneHi
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry your stay with us wasn't as enjoyable as it should have been. I have spoken with our executive housekeeper about the issues in your room to rectify immediately. If you choose to stay with us again, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Kind Regards, Shaun Dregmans Guest...

Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Very old hotel that could use a facelift. I have stayed here 3 times over past few months. The only reason I chose this hotel was because it is an easy walk to the RPA Hospital. I would not choose to stay in this hotel for any other reason. The rooms are tired, the carpet is old & grotty, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jandjandsome
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your continued patronage at the hotel. We are currently undergoing small cosmetic changes in all guest rooms which will improve the overall appearance. I have passed your compliments on to our chefs in our restaurant, as well as our front office staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 27 September 2015

SO, I was dreaming about a freight train... oh, wait - it was just the lift... This place really is a poor reflection upon the Rydges name. Old and tired, it's tough to find redeeming features. When we arrived, one of the two lifts were not working - and going by the reviews I am now reading on this site,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Helen M
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Helen M, Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. I do apologise for the lift noise in your room. If you choose to stay with us again, we can do our best to allocate you a room as far from the lift as possible. In regards to the maintenance in your room, we are in the...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

This place is gross. Unless you get a FANTASTIC rate on the room, give this place a miss. Outdated furnishings, rooms that smell heavily of smoke (despite it being a non-smoking room), poor overall cleaning of the rooms (see attached photos), showers that turn cold when you turn on the tap...this place has it all. On the bright side, staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wanderlustnurse
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I apologise for the smell of smoke in your room. Our hotel does have a strict non smoking policy and heavy fines are in place for people who are caught smoking in any rooms. Thank you for your compliments about our staff, I will pass this on to our...

Berry, NSW
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Stayed in a very comfortable room with a queen and single bed, which was ideal as our grand-daughter was staying with us. The hotel is close to many restaurants and shops. We had a birthday meal at the Newtown Hotel, which was very pleasant and then breakfast nearby also

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joram48
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Joram48, Thanks for the great review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your son enjoyed his birthday in Sydney! I hope your family had a great night at the Newtown Hotel. Hope to see you back again in the future, Kind Regards, Shaun Dregmans Guest Relations

Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Per booked 2 rooms and requested interconnecting rooms. Rooms were not even next to one another. One room we had was open and unlocked for the vacant interconnecting room next door. No apology or sorry. No email or phone call to say our children could not be close to parents. Old dirty noisy lifts. Lifts grimy with dirt. Downstairs basement...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hotelsareourlife
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your feedback. Unfortunately due to the limited number of interconnecting rooms we have at the hotel, sometimes it is hard to allocate them. We always try our best to keep families as close as we can, sorry on this occasion we couldn't get you an interconnecting room. I have made our executive housekeeper aware of your...

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Adara Camperdown
#105 of 179 in Sydney
145 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
414 reviews
Camperdown Suites
#133 of 179 in Sydney
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#120 of 179 in Sydney
49 reviews
Y Hotel City South
#113 of 179 in Sydney
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $146 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lower floors are a bit better”
 of 5 bubbles 178abigaylet, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“City view is probably a marginal advantage with early sun to wake you.”
 of 5 bubbles GKSWanderlust, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for one, the staff will help”
 of 5 bubbles JimboGil, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go below the 3rd floor (apparently) Rooms are even worse - we checked!”
 of 5 bubbles C2614EQstephenm, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors and city views”
 of 5 bubbles MarcusBVictoria, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5