We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Railway Square YHA

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Railway Square YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 240: English reviews
Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is centrally located and the train station is within reach. I stayed in one of the female dorms and I had no problem when it comes to cleanliness and comfort. Free wifi in public areas but there is a charge when you want wifi inside your room. The bathroom is also clean and well-maintained. There are lockers outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jhezz
Epernay, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hostel. very clean. unfortunately too big but I guess it's the case of pretty much all the hostels in Sydney. you can sleep in some kind of train's carriage which is quite nice and typical as you litteraly sleep on the platform ! next.to the real trains ! (of course separated by a glass wall but still !)so you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice L
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a room for 1 night as I was passing through from Cairns to America and had a late flight in and an early flight out in the morning. Considering I just needed a place to lay my head for 9 hrs between flights, the location and price were ideal. The people at the front desk were friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaylie_Traveler
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Railway Square YHA, responded to this review

Hi Jaylie - We're really sorry that you were disturbed so late. If that ever is a problem again at a YHA, please see reception (you can phone them from your room!) and let them know so they can deal with it. Your feedback is really helpful and we do hope we will see you again.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night , was supposed to stay two, but checked out after a sleepless night with people up outside the cafe downstairs making a lot of noise till 3am in the morning. Staff were pretty unfriendly and unhelpful. I've seen a lot of reviews with complaints about the noise at night and am really unsure as to why they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Railway Square YHA, responded to this review

Hi Sally We're sorry that your stay was disturbed by some guests being inconsiderate of others. With hostels being communal accommodation, they do rely on everyone thinking of others. However, the night manager should have been able to help you with this so your review will help us improve our procedures and improve staff training.

Dubbo, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

School Holidays, nowhere to stay in Sydney as all booked out. Found out about the Railway Square YHA and finished up sleeping in a converted railway carriage. It was airconditioned, close to the shower block and cafe. Very very cheap and really very convenient to the railway and bus networks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ayling845
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Very noisy and overpriced hostel. It's in a pretty good location, but I felt that you weren't getting very good value for money at all. The staff are friendly, and it's pretty good for socialising, but I wouldn't stay here again. Wifi was terrible too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmawerthers
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Railway Square YHA, responded to this review

Hi Emma We are sorry that you didn't feel you had value for money but are not quite sure where we let you down. We offer a range of rates including weekly stays and also beds from $28 a night (as part of our 15 night ePack that can be used at YHAs across Australia). This is pretty competitive for...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I fell in love with this place. Arrived December 2015 left August 2016. Took full advantage of the weekly rate that the YHA offers. knew it was not the cheapest hostel in Sydney but worth every penny. The atmosphere is spot on its not to rowdy but good fun and seeing as I worked when I was staying here it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Railway were fantastic to me! The crowd was always good, the facilities were spotless and the reception staff were extremely helpful! Special shout out to Kelly, who went above and beyond in every way to make my time here extra special! Massive thanks to everyone, and I'm sure I'll see you all again before too long!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Thomas B
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

My room was above the entrance which is also the smoking area. Being continually woken up till 2.30am mid week is not acceptable. Staff are helpful and pleasant. If you stay here bring ear plugs and hold your nose when you open any of the fridges.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine M
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

This YHA is simply okay. I thought it was a bit over priced and found it disappointing. I was super annoyed that the cleaning staff were taking the sheets off the wrong beds and didn't listen to me when I tried to explain that there were people there and just literally ignored me as if I didn't exist. The people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabasaurus

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#58 of 179 in Sydney
4,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Sydney Central YHA
#10 of 133 in Sydney
640 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#5 of 133 in Sydney
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Tiger-flanked archways on Dixon Street mark the entrance to the “little Asia” of Sydney. A walk through Chinatown is a feast for the senses where aromas, tastes, sounds and visions of dancing tigers transport you to a different world. Chinatown visitors can expect a melting pot of Asian food at the neighbourhood's specialty delis and groceries. From yum cha to handmade noodles, BBQ ducks hanging in the window to Asian sweets and bakeries, there is something for all tastes. Paddy’s Markets is the largest flea market in Sydney where you can find souvenirs, clothing, gifts and fruit and vegetables at unbeatable prices. At night, Chinatown comes alive with entertainment including theatre, nightclubs and bars that are open until the early morning.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sydney's most laid back hostel, Railway Square YHA adjoins Central Station, in the heart of Sydney's backpacker district. Stay in one of the funky railway carriages on the former Platform Zero or one of the comfy rooms in the historic 1904 main building, now converted into contemporary accommodation. Hostel features a spa pool, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), 24-hour access, tour desk, indoor and outdoor communal areas, self-catering kitchen. Walking distance to the best pubs in Sydney, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Please note that our pool is currently under renovation and might be out of action. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Railway Square YHA

Address: Railway Square Yha 8 - 10 Lee St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Price Range: $39 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Railway Square YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Railway Square YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railway Square Yha Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Railway Square YHA staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Railway Square YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Carriages are a little quieter, there are lots of backpackers here but they are wonderful people.”
 of 5 bubbles ayling845, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the train carriages are super awesome and unique but slightly smaller than the rooms and you are by the train station so it can be nosier.”
 of 5 bubbles O2097VUrebeccam, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The carriages may be fancy, but they are somewhat quite smaller than the classic dorms.”
 of 5 bubbles 57JamieJB, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Approach from Railway Square bus interchange - walk 50 m, behind the Adina apartment block.”
 of 5 bubbles janetabula, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT stay in room 204 or anywhere near the communal kitchen- there are speakers blasting music until 10pm.”
 of 5 bubbles LouisaA19, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay