We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Challis

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Challis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

472 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Challis
See the most recent reviews
Showing 448: English reviews
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Lovely boutique hotel in Potts Point Check in was quick and pleasant Our Queen room was small but very comfortable Tge bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in Bathroom was clean and everything was there that we needed Lots of nice restaurants in the area and a short walk to train station

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Challis, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl M, Thank you for taking time out to review us and sharing your experience with other members & potential guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I stayed two nights on business and the room was perfect for my needs. The double room was not large and might have been tricky with lots of luggage but for a business traveller travelling light I had no problems at all. Likewise if I had been travelling with my partner it would have been a bit too tight, especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rah_Rah_HockeySticks
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Challis, responded to this review

Dear Rah_Rah_HockeySticks, Thank you for taking time out to review us in detail and sharing your experience with other members & other potential guests. Some of the rooms are smaller but it`s great if everything was OK for you. The location is fantastic, indeed and you can get all the benefits of it when it`s sunny and warm - you...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The location was great and the bed was comfortable however the room itself (king room) had very minimum light from one small window that backed onto an alley/back of the hotel. It was very dark and disappointing for the money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rubisolo
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Challis, responded to this review

Dear Rubisolo, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us, we really appreciate it. Sorry to hear that you were upset about the room - the ground floor rooms are a bit obscure, due to the construction of the building. It is important for us to make sure that the guests are happy while staying...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I was on a tight budget having to stick below what my company would reimburse me so I chose this hotel for the apparent value for money and I was not disappointed! The room was comfortable and well decorated, the bed was comfortable and the staff were exceptional. The location was good and the area was quite beautiful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirrily89z2016
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Challis, responded to this review

Dear kirrily89z2016, Thanks a million for such a beautiful and pleasant review of us and your stay!!! We all are excited reading it! A very positive vibe comes from it, and, of course from you. We will be happy to be your home next time you are in Sydney. We also hope that you did great on you language contest!)))...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We booked a small doublé, which was fine for the Price you pay and the wonderful location of the hotel. Unfortunately, the wifi was not working during our stay. This obviously could not be helped, but we booked the room based on the fact that we would have free wifi - we had just arrived in Aus and needed it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ausvisit0r
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Challis, responded to this review

Dear ausvisit0r, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your recent experience with us at Hotel Challis. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed about the WiFi service. At the moment of your stay we did experience a major issue with that and it has now all been sorted. We understand how important...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We have suggested some minor but important additions to each room. Surely having a box of tissues will not send you broke! We have also suggested some extra handrails for small towels in bathroom. Some extra shelving to make bathrooms more functional.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marshall_segan
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Challis, responded to this review

Dear marshall_segan, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us recently. We are taking your comments into consideration. We will see whether it is possible to make it all happen. We are glad you guys chose to stay with us, it was a pleasure. You and your mom were rocking! Thanks again and we...

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Rooms were incredibly small and a very far walk to main parts of Sydney. Had to get a taxi or uber everywhere. The room was incredibly small compared to pictures on the Internet. Would look somewhere else with a bigger room as it was incredibly tough with our luggage

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 746mikalaf
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Challis, responded to this review

Dear 746mikalaf, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that the room type your chose for your stay was small for you. We have four different room types are and the full descriptions of each type is on the website. We think we are perfectly located - easy to...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel it's pretty average to be fair.Rooms are tiny even as per European standards. There is no restaurant or bar or breakfast in the hotel. There is not free internet only 500mb a day.This is not 4 star quality in any country. Hotel is expensive, it's in a nice area and clean

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meath88
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Challis, responded to this review

Dear Meath88, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us recently. We appreciate you pointing out some key factors. Hotel Challis is a self-rated 4 star property, which means we are not under the standard rating rules. As a boutique hotel we offer four room types and the small double room you chose for...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2016

My flight back to melbourne was cancelled so I needed to stay another night in Sydney. This was one of the few places in the whole of Sydney that was reasonably priced considering it was a long weekend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R9545OMannm
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Challis, responded to this review

Dear R9545OMannm, Thank you for taking the time to say a few words about us and your stay. We are glad that we were that one place you chose for that day. Hopefully, in the future you will be back. Let us know when you are coming and we will help you book a room with 10% discount. Cheers!

Auckland
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay in this hotel...a lovely little hotel with tons of character with an extremely friendly, helpful staff. It's in an excellent location in a beautiful tree lined street, close to many cafes, restaurants and bars. La Buvette, just along the road, is a must for breakfast, lunch or dinner, and/or Happy Hour. Although not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobynR
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Challis, responded to this review

Dear RobynR, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us recently. You gave a detailed description of the property and the area and there is almost nothing else to add. We love our charming hotel and we are trying to make all possible to make our guests happy and comfortable in it. The beds...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
758 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#20 of 178 in Sydney
4,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 178 in Sydney
900 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 178 in Sydney
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Challis offers a boutique hotel experience in Potts Point. Accommodation is set over two beautifully restored and completely renovated terrace homes. Hotel rooms feature premium bedding, free WiFi access, air-conditioning, large flat screen TV, a work desk and chic en suite bathroom with amenities. Walking distance to Kings Cross train station and only 10 minutes to Circular Quay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Challis

Address: 21-23 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $118 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Challis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Challis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Challis Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Challis staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Long Beach, California
11 months ago
Adelaide
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Challis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Balcony room if available”
 of 5 bubbles Kieran27, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have a large balcony”
 of 5 bubbles BeckieY, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“King Rooms are better.”
 of 5 bubbles JoshN479, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best rooms are with balconies!”
 of 5 bubbles sophietravelmatters, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I only have experience with one stay and my stay was beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles Lukabs, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay