We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macleay Lodge Sydney

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macleay Lodge Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macleay Lodge Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 208: English reviews
Flores, Guatemala
Reviewed 30 January 2016

The Hotel is well located, close to many restaurants and supermarkets. Easy to walk to the main tourist attractions, such as the Opera House (30 mins on foot). The room was ok, considering that we paid 60 AUD per night we couldn't expect much more. The bathroom was shared, but in decent conditions. Would go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flores-gua
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Giacomo C We are so glad you enjoyed this area of Sydney - it is fabulous with so many great places to visit close by. Thank you for your kind review & we hope to see you again soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2016

It was so lovely to have my own room. Had air conditioning, and a small kitchenette which a microwave (that didn't work fantastically) and had a sink. It was very clean. The shared bathrooms were also kept clean and very new and modern. The receptionists were all super friendly and helpful, especially the lovely lady I don't remember her name...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MortIsCool
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear MortisCool, Thank you for your lovely review. We do have great cleaners - who keep the Lodge very clean plus all our staff like to help our guests to have a lovely stay. Please do come again!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2015

This affordable hotel is in a perfect place to explore Pott's Point, Elizabeth Bay and King's Cross. There is no lift and the showers and toilets are all shared - this is why it's affordable. The top floors seem to have 4 rooms to a bathroom and the lower 8 to two bathrooms. The walls are not very think and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BecanDuncan
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Hello BecanDuncan, It is a wonderful area we are in isn't it! We are affordable accommodation in a great area. Thank you for taking the time to write a note about us - we do really appreciate your realistic & kind comments. We are very happy you had such a great stay with us & we hope to see you...

Bellingen, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2015

I travel weekly to and from Sydney and, to keep my costs down, stay in budget accommodation. I have stayed in many places around Sydney and Macleay Lodge is by far the cleanest and most pleasant. I had the unfortunate experience, upon arrival, of having my booking cancelled by the booking agency I booked through - my card had been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBello H
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear ChrisBelloH, Thank you for your lovely & thoughtful comments. We were glad to see you when you came back to us! Benoit is the man you spoke with - & he is French - & he always tries to sort out any problems with calmness & kindness - & obviously that was noticed by you. Thank you again.

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Very dirty and smelly. As you enter there is a strong smell which l am not sure if it's from the carpets or from the environment. I started sneezing and coughing from the reception until l checked out after 3days. Bins in the rooms are emptied after 3 days. The bathroom had dirty spots on the tissue container ?? blood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Busi M
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Busi M A response to help explain some of your issues - We have been doing regular light maintenance work recently - & the smell was a special paint with a particular odour - which we had to specfically use. - so we do apologise about this if the smell was extreme for you. Many people were sneezing when...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 October 2015

I stayed one night here. Seems like an old building being refurbished. The receptionists that we dealt with were not friendly at all from the day we checked in until we checked out. No free parking here. Please check whether your room have own bathroom. Mine was a shared bathroom taking into account I have 2 kids with me. Luckily...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nizam E
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Nizam E, We are sorry that you did not have a great stay with us. With the expectations of an ensuite bathroom & parking it would be a disappointment when you discovered that we do not have these facilities. Our websites do state that we are share bathrooms & we do not offer parking. It seems that maybe you...

Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

We arrived early in the morning...about 730am and were expecting just to drop our bags, but the helpful receptionist told us our room was ready. He then helped us bring our bags up to our room. Unfortunately, we were unaware that the rooms were being done up, so there was a smell of paint in the room and also the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DanielleD89
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Hi DanielleD89, Thank you for your very kind review - all the staff here are helpful & will always get you to your room early if it is at all possible.You will be happy to know too that the TV & mirror are absolutely back up & the refurbishment is finished! We are lucky to be in such a wonderful...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 30 July 2015

The receptionist wasn't very friendly (he had a bad attitude our entire stay to be completely honest), although all other staff were friendly and nice. The room was as advertised and well presented. Showers could do with a deeper clean! But otherwise, it was cheap and it we can't complain about anything for the price we paid!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bianca D
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Bianca D, We are happy to see you gave us a rating of 4 out of 5. We are sorry your stay was not as great as you would have liked. However please do try us again if you are coming back to Sydney - or another of our sister hotels, all in this great area!

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

I was very happy with my stay at the Macleay Lodge. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was clean and neat with a small balcony and lots of space. The bathroom was very close and kept clean and tidy. Having a small kitchenette in the room was greatly appreciated. The only negative I would put on this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim G
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Hi timg395, We are very happy you had a comfortable & enjoyable & happy stay with us. We are good accommodation in a great location at a very reasonable price & we are glad you appreciated this! Please come & stay again next time you are in town.

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 21 July 2015

This budget hotel/guesthouse was in a great location close to lots of restaurants, shops, and bars. The accommodation itself was rather basic - a single bed room, which comes with a small kitchenette. Nothing fancy - hardly any decor so to speak of, just a relatively quiet place to crash if you want a slight step up from a backpacker...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AshleyHolding
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review

Dear AshleyHolding, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Yes we are in a fabulous location - we are lucky to be so close to so many amenities.You will be happy to hear we just refurbished the rooms, so if you travel this way again please come & see how great they look!

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
0:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
591 reviews
Springfield Lodge
#11 of 64 in Sydney
691 reviews
The Maisonette
#7 of 64 in Sydney
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Posh Hotel
#15 of 64 in Sydney
370 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 64 in Sydney
499 reviews
Frisco Hotel
#37 of 64 in Sydney
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macleay Lodge is a clean and comfortable guest house in Potts Point, Sydney. The lodge is well known for its clean and comfortable rooms for great value rates.With famous Sydney icons such as the Harbour Bridge and the Sydney Opera House within walking distance, Macleay Lodge is the perfect budget hotel from which to enjoy the exciting and vibrant city of Sydney.Macleay Lodge is located on Macleay Street in cosmopolitan Potts Point. With cafes, restaurants and boutique stores filling the sidewalk, there could not be a more exciting and unique place to spend your time while visiting Sydney. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macleay Lodge Sydney

Address: 71 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $103 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Macleay Lodge Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Macleay Lodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Lodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Macleay Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macleay Lodge Sydney staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Macleay Lodge Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not number 3”
 of 5 bubbles zalom, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“price are reasonable”
 of 5 bubbles jessical0w, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try not to get one by dumpsters. Very noisy every morning”
 of 5 bubbles MortIsCool, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Slamming of doors around 2-3 am and people talking very loud at night”
 of 5 bubbles 604busim, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
“If you're fit to climb stairs, the top floor”
 of 5 bubbles TrudyG258, 18 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5