We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Harry, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Harry, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
View Map

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Harry, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Southport, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I like this hotel for a very original design. I dont even mind the noisy weekend as everyone is well informed about it. What I dont like are the photos posted on booking sites to mislead you. The rooms are very tiny and bathrooms are not refurbished as per photos. Honestly are quite old. We stayed twice at this location...

Management response:

Hi Iza, Thanks for your feedback, we are delighted that you love the venue design! As you have noted, a few of our rooms still have parts to be renovated from the old hotel. The photos that we have put online are in no way intended to mislead people. When staying with us in the future and have any issues...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Went to this local hotel for a meal while staying in the area We had a steak with fries and salad and also had a Cobb salad Both mains were well presented and tasty,good value for what you got atmosphere was buzzy and pretty busy which is always a good sign Great place if you are wanting a drink with...

Management response:

Hi J8006CQbills, Thanks for your feedback! We really appreciate it and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Harry.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

When you make a booking to stay at Hotel Harry there is never any mention of live music that might impede your stay, until about a month out when you receive a email saying that if you have a issue with live music then you might want to stay else where, and of course if there is an event on...

Management response:

Hi Beaf1891, Thank you for your feedback, we try to communicate to guests as soon as they book regarding a noise effected room. We have failed to communicate to you during the initial booking stage regarding this for which we apologise. We are glad that you enjoyed our comfy beds and friendly staff. Regards, Harry.

Newcastle
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
Management response:

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2016

I recently stayed at the hotel with my partner. We needed an early night and a good night's rest so we asked when booking if this would be a problem. They assured us that we would be staying in a quieter room. The floor below us was a dance floor and even with ear plugs in I could hear and...

Management response:

Hi Gluegum88, Thanks for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that you had a noise effected stay. We try and warn all guests in advance of any music events we pick up which may create excess noise to the rooms. We have not communicated properly this time. We are also onto the maintenance issues in the room and increasing the...

Bowral, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Hotel Harry has a lively vibe with plenty of space to meet with friends or have a drink and / or meal with a loved one. Staff are friendly and helpful. So why only an OK 3 stars? We discovered that just about every meal on the menu has MSG. No big deal for most of us. But for my...

Management response:

Hi PaulrW1, Thank you for your feedback and we have passed this onto our Head Chef. We advise our guests to notify us of any dietary requirements when ordering so as the kitchen team can accommodate this as best they can. Regards, Andy Condon

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2016

I took up residency for 8 weeks whilst on a business placement in Sydney. The hotel room was clean and tidy, the staff were always attentive and efficient. Glen the manager was very helpful when I had to arrange to stay over one weekend. The local area is great for access walking to Surry Hills, China Town and the CBD...

Noosaville, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

I booked this hotel on promo deal from Virgin Australia. The rooms are small but nicely equipped and renovated. The bed was comfortable although only a double. The mini bar was well stocked including a pod coffe machine with free pods. A great botique hotel in a very central location with reasonable rates for sydney. A great bar downstairis make...

Glen C, Manager at Hotel Harry, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review

Hey peejay40219, Thanks for your review of Hotel Harry. We were pleased to see that you really enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Harry

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016

I booked Hotel Harry for a one night stay, mid-week, as I was visiting Sydney for work purposes. I will say that, upon arrival, seeing the many people spilling out of the pub downstairs, hearing the lively chatter and music… I was a little daunted. What had I actually booked? How noisy would it be at night? Not only was...

Glen C, Manager at Hotel Harry, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review

Hey Ang G, Thanks for your detailed and well balanced review of Hotel Harry. While we are located atop a great Drink, Dine and Dance venue, once you reach the sanctuary of the accommodation levels, all of the pub feel melts away into boutique bliss. It was great to hear that you were able to rest up, and we hope...

Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

I highly recommend Hotel Harry. The staff are really friendly, the hotel is clean, conveniently located, and has all the facilities you would expect. Recommend the loft room, so cute yet stylish & comfortable and with access to a little rooftop balcony area. The bar and restaurant downstairs is fantastic and barely audible from my room. Compared to the Travelodge...

Glen C, Manager at Hotel Harry, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review

Hi ddariaa, Thanks for your 5 star review of Hotel Harry! We loft the loft too! Stay tuned for a re vamp of that terrace. It's like no other room in Sydney, and sooo quiet! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Harry

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 178 in Sydney
1,219 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 178 in Sydney
3,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
1,555 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#74 of 178 in Sydney
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Surry Hills

Neighbourhood Profile
Surry Hills
Once regarded as the traditional fashion area, Surry Hills has broadened its appeal. This neighbourhood continues to distinguish itself as a shopping destination, offering the best collection of one-of-a-kind boutiques, designer brands and flagship stores in the city. Today, this area has evolved into a hub of media, design and professional services - a colourful and diverse place equally known for its antique dealers, art galleries, cafes and pubs. Strolling down the street on a Saturday morning, you’ll see a mix of students, artists, hipsters and a few all-nighters from Oxford Street, the “Gay Capital of Sydney”. In this vibrant neighbourhood you will find bohemian chic and modern style co-existing side by side.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The independent, heritage listed Hotel Harry is set in the cultural heart of Surry Hills and the CBD. The building marries century-old architecture with a speakeasy feel and stylish, contemporary service. The 1912 built Victorian building and its 20 hotel rooms have been lovingly brought back to their original splendor to deliver a comfortable space to meet, drink, dine and relax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Harry, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 40 - 44 Wentworth Ave | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Price Range: $141 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harry, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Harry, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Harry, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member staff and other travellers.
2 questions

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's load but if you've had a good night.....who cares!”
 of 5 bubbles nigelb311, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with wardrobe space if staying more than 1 night”
 of 5 bubbles Mazzer54, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 212. Suggest you view room before accepting.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidN851, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“no quiet rooms available, suitable for party goers”
 of 5 bubbles Gluegum88, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The road can be bit noisy at times but it is Central Sydney”
 of 5 bubbles mercier23, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay