We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Home Backpackers

Hostelworld.comUS$33*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$53*
US$33*
Great Deal
US$50*
US$34*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Home Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 204: English reviews
Start your review of Home Backpackers
 Click to rate
Riddells Creek, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was not what was expected. The place was not in very good order. The shower hadn't been cleaned, there were footmarks in it and generally was dirty. There were cockroaches having a parade. The bed was pretty lousy too. You get what you pay for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randali_Orange
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Randali_Orange I am displeased the room was not what you expected. We are an older style hostel but value our high standard of cleanliness. Due to shared shower facilities sometimes guests leave untidy in between the 4 times we clean bathrooms. Sorry for your experience. Unfortunately cockroaches are present in Sydney CBD & we have regular pest control treatments...

Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was here for a short nap before I catch some event early morning. very close to the Sydney Central Station. Did not expect much but the bed was rocking heavily from any movement. I got the top bunk and I was worried whenever I climbed I will topple the bed. They should use sturdier bed frame or clamp the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IbrahimRabani
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi IbrahimRabani Thanks for taking the time to leaves us your feedback. Glad to hear our location was beneficial for you as you could have a short nap before being able to walk 2 minutes to central station for an early event. We value your feedback in regards to bunks being a little wobbly & are actually awaiting a delivery...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The placed was not too bad to stayed. It was very convinient cause it really closed to the central train station and close to city centre too with just some short walked. The staff was quite helpful and friendly. The room was quite clean and quite wide. Toilet was ok and so was the kitchen as well. Ovarall, ok stayed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cooldude-888
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi cooldude-888 Thanks for spending your time to review. I will happily pass on your positive comments to staff about how helpful & friendly they are. We are also pleased to hear you found our facilities clean & location 'very convenient' due to short walk(2 mins) to central station. Safe travels

Drummoyne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm, two night stay over. Second visit to Home and always been a good stay. For the price it's clean, lockers in the rooms, security front door, close to central and restaurants, friendly staff and free WiFi.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 552094Nicky1988
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Nicky1988 Great to hear your second visit was also a good stay. We aim for great value for money as you mentioned & are centrally located. Hopefully we see you a 3rd time. thanks again for leaving your review

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

The staff here are really helpful and friendly, great location and not a party hostel! The rooms are clean and the general vibe is really good! Highly recommend! Will defiantly be staying again in the near future!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Tom E Thanks for leaving short positive review. I will relay to staff your positive comments & hope to see you again as suggested. enjoy your travels

Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Although in a great location this was honestly the worst hostel/hotel I have ever stepped foot in, can't say stayed as I checked into a hostel down the road at 11pm shortly after arriving. I have stayed in 3rd world countries on numerous occasions all with better cleanliness. We had booked 2 rooms, one for 4 of us which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeccaAnne24
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi BeccaAnne24 To my understanding you initially booked 3 nights but then changed to 2 nights due to travel complications & we happily changed dates at no cost. I am personally disappointed you were displeased with accommodation standards & apologize. I think issues could of been resolved that night if you had contact with the night manager on arrival but...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed here and we loved it, the staff were really friendly and we met loads of nice people as well. Its really close to everything only like a 10 min walk away from CBD. The central station is only up the road which was really convenient for us. The hostel was cleaned every morning and night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abbieJ4
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi abbieJ4 Thanks for spending your time to review Our location is one of key points guests book with us. Being centrally located & only 200m from central station allows easy access to Sydney's best sites including a short walk to Sydney Harbour. I will happily share your positive comments to Nicolle(manager) & staff. enjoy your travels

southport merseyside
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Hi guys so my friends and I stayed at Homebackpackers in November 2016 for a week initially then extended for 2 months and again for a month in March. It is the PERFECT location for backpackers like us that wanted to set base and work to fund further travels. It’s a stone throw from central station and all the major...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Sarah R Thanks for the time to leave us a positive detailed review. It's great to hear the procedures/events we have in place are having a positive effect on travelers like yourself. thanks again for reviewing & hopefully see you a 3rd time!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Being kicked in the teeth would be more pleasurable than staying in this hostel. The first room we were given (6 beds) smelled like a combination of teenager's armpits combined with expired fish. When we asked for a different room, the receptionist kindly offered to move us to another (8 beds), which smelled like blue cheese forgotten behind your bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katarinka
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Katarinka Thanks for leaving positive comments on 'epic location & priced well'. Unfortunately it seems like staying in dorm accommodation is not for you & we are sorry to hear other guests cleanliness affected your stay. Staff work hard trying to keep high cleaning standards but also get frustrated when an unfortunate few guests do not have same concern...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2017

This is a brilliant place to stay if you are looking for budget accommodation in Sydney. Its clean and well serviced with excellent facilities, everything you need. The staff are helpful, polite and friendly and the location is as convenient as you can get and close to some cheap eats and nice restaurants. I've had to come to Sydney on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flickso
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi flickso Thanks for spending your time leaving a positive review. We are pleased you found our accommodation 'clean & well serviced with excellent facilities'. I will pass on your kind words to reception staff reinforcing the great customer service. Thanks again for reviewing & hopefully see you again!

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 139 in Sydney
402 reviews
790 on George
#44 of 139 in Sydney
200 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#27 of 139 in Sydney
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Base Backpackers
Base Backpackers
#22 of 139 in Sydney
650 reviews
Railway Square YHA
#12 of 139 in Sydney
333 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Surry Hills

Neighbourhood Profile
Surry Hills
Once regarded as the traditional fashion area, Surry Hills has broadened its appeal. This neighbourhood continues to distinguish itself as a shopping destination, offering the best collection of one-of-a-kind boutiques, designer brands and flagship stores in the city. Today, this area has evolved into a hub of media, design and professional services - a colourful and diverse place equally known for its antique dealers, art galleries, cafes and pubs. Strolling down the street on a Saturday morning, you’ll see a mix of students, artists, hipsters and a few all-nighters from Oxford Street, the “Gay Capital of Sydney”. In this vibrant neighbourhood you will find bohemian chic and modern style co-existing side by side.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just a few steps from Central station, HOME Backpackers has everything a Sydney Backpackers should have and heaps more! We offer comfortable budget accommodation right in the heart of Sydney and a jam-packed line up of entertainment each night. Our staff is a mix of travellers and true Sydney-siders who know the best places to party, eat, travel, see and experience. Reception is open 8 till 8, Early and late check in available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Home Backpackers

Address: 238 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Price Range: $24 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Home Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Home Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Home Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else”
Randali_Orange, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“A-Side has a bigger kitchen and tv room / B-Side is quieter but you can acces both side so its a good all-rounder”
F7689MTsarahr, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“B side is better than A side”
89suzanneg, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in B side. Seemed quieter also, ask windows facing away the hostel open air area.”
KatsPats, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
4 of 4
Hostelworld.com
US$33* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$50
Booking.comUS$34
CancelonUS$53
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates