We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alice Lodge Backpackers

Save
Share
Traveller (80)
Room & Suite (14)
Pool & Beach (7)
Overview
4 Mueller St, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870 Australia See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
2 Star accommodation
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
184
155
54
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
184
155
54
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastuluru touryour luggagetwin roomoutback tourmain buildingswimming poolair conoutside areanice place to stayenjoyed my staytea and coffeekitchen facilitiesday tournice poolclean roomsclose to town
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Clean and comfortable 3 bed room. Excellent mattress! Showers warm and toilets clean. Very helpful and friendly personal. Please note that the reception is closed from 2pm until 4.30pm. Booking.com does not mention this and even letting the hostel know that I would arrive between...More

Thank Dedignor
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a classic hostel and all things that come with it. I stayed at a twin room that had a fridge you couldn't unplug and made an awful lot of noise at night and the kitchen was pretty dirty as people wouldn't wash their dishes...More

Thank AntiaGV
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

Our room was dirty, cold -the heating just runs for a couple of minutes and then turns of automatically. This was horrible. We have a baby and he couldn't sleep in his cot because of the cold. The bed was very small for 2 adults,...More

Thank Explorer244444
Response from Alice L, Manager at Alice Lodge BackpackersResponded August 6, 2018

Im sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay with us. Our cleaner works hard to ensure all rooms are well maintained, personally I am yet to see a cockroach in the hostel, however is possible as this is Australia and many creepy...More

Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Positives: Friendly and responsible young staff. It does have a kitchen. No so good: Had a twin one night and the walls were paper thin. Mattress ok. Double room another night. Mattress too soft for me. Fine if you’re young although the yha is better...More

Thank silkybantom
Response from Alice L, Manager at Alice Lodge BackpackersResponded August 6, 2018

We are glad you found our staff friendly and responsible. Sorry that our mattress were too soft for you, most guests find them very comfortable. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels

Reviewed July 16, 2018

stayed here before 10 years ago and still the same in terms of excellent service, location and staff. Would def stay here again, good pancakes for breakfast too! Room was nice and comfortable and shower was also good

2  Thank Julie T
Response from Alice L, Manager at Alice Lodge BackpackersResponded July 24, 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.. nothing beats a warm shower and a comfy bed after a camping trip in the outback. Enjoy the rest of your travels

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Self-Serve Laundry
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
16
Price range
US$18 - US$48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
16
Price range
US$18 - US$48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Photos
Traveller (80)
Room & Suite (14)
Pool & Beach (7)
Dining (4)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Alice Springs
Mercure Alice Springs Resort
1,353 reviews
.43 km away
Aurora Alice Springs
1,144 reviews
.52 km away
Alice Motor Inn
393 reviews
.73 km away
Diplomat Alice Springs
342 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 103 restaurants in Alice Springs
Page 27 Cafe
534 reviews
.63 km away
Uncle Edy's Ice Cream
206 reviews
.67 km away
Epilogue Lounge
301 reviews
.64 km away
Sporties
379 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 112 attractions in Alice Springs
Yubu Napa Art Gallery
114 reviews
.83 km away
Anzac Hill
1,236 reviews
.61 km away
Alice Springs Visitor Information Centre
304 reviews
.54 km away
Aboriginal Australia Culture Centre
112 reviews
.79 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
hebedee73
February 6, 2017|
Answer
Response from Trees B | Reviewed this property |
We booked an airport transfer for 13 dollars a person at the hostel to bring us to the airport. Sure you can book it the other way as well.
1
Vote
Google Translation
Room Tips
"Trust the staff, they're the best on the planet"
Read review
"Try get up the Back! Very Quiet!"
Read review
"I think it was nr 4 at the front 3persons"
Read review
"4 bed girls dorm! :)"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing