We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kings Canyon Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kings Canyon Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kings Canyon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,061: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As the only resort in miles they can price as they want. At hotels.com it claimed that the rooms should be 28 square meters, but the room was less than 20 and very basic. Bed was bad, after 2 nights our backs struggled. Toilet facilities was really dirty even if I came there 1 minutes after they cleaned it. The...

1Thank Arnt E
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Arnt E You booked and stayed in a Budget Double room with shared bathrooms and are priced as the cheapest rooms in our resort at only $129 per night These Backpacker Lodge style rooms are small, and designed for the budget travellers . We do offer upgrades to standard hotel rooms , which are the advertised rooms of 28...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2017

My husband and I visited in November during the off season, as a result the resort was only about 10% full with limited services available. The staff numbers were at a minimum. We booked a Deluxe Spa Room which was lovely. It featured 2 Queen Beds and an ensuite bathroom, with a large spa and private balcony. The window from...

2Thank Jeanie U
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jeanie U Delighted to hear you enjoyed your 2 night stay at Kings Canyon Resort in one of our Deluxe Spa rooms. we are indeed located only 10kms from Kings Canyon itself amongst the amazing spectacle that is Watarrka National Park. The Rim Walk does close at 9am on days where it is forecast to be 36 degrees celcius...

Warrington, UK
Reviewed 11 January 2017

If you're driving the red centre then this is one of the few places to stay. We were glad we'd booked a deluxe room, as this was adequate. It was pretty clean, with a small balcony and spa bath. Unfortunately the room smelled a bit of drains, and the air con was leaking a bit. For evening meal we ate...

Thank Warrington_UKVicky
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Warrington_UKVicky for your review of your stay in one of our Deluxe Spa rooms. Our Reception operates 24 hours per day , and we maintenance staff on call so that we can attend to any guests requests at any time. During the hotter months of November - March we operate Carmichael's Restaurant and the Thirsty Dingo Bar ....

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We slept at kings canyon resort on our way from Ayers Rock to Alice Springs in order to visit Kings Canyon. The only good point is that the resort is quite close to the canyon. Once arrived we had the first good news: no water for the next 12 hours. Then in the room we found an incredible variety of...

Thank Federico C
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Frederico C Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Kings Canyon Resort. We are very proud to be able to offer the wide range of services and facilities throughout the hotter summer months such as Carmichael’s Restaurant , Sunset Viewing Platform, Thirsty Dingo Bar , Desert Oaks Bistro, Outback Oasis General Store , 2 swimming pools, free...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel is some 8 KM from Kings Canyon. It is made up of a series of cabins in rows of five around the pool and some open ground. The room was nothing special, but OK. Reception was efficient if not overly friendly or customer focused. Breakfast and dinner were unmemorable - nothing special The only reason for staying is...

Thank Wellipoo
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wellipoo Kings Canyon Resort is located 10 kms by road from Kings Canyon itself. Our 128 hotel Standard and Deluxe Spa rooms are spread over a vast area and nestled into the surrounding rock escarpment. The interior of the "circle" has remained as natural bushland as is befitting our location with Watarrka National Park . The exception to this...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Spent one night here in the middle of summer so it was hot. The room was quite acceptable, the pool was great after some walks though it did need a clean. The room was clean with basic ammenities. And a good air-con system.

Thank Peter W
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Peter W , glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Kings Canyon Resort . All of our rooms including our budget Lodges are air conditioned which adds to the comfort during these especially hot summer months . Noted that with the unusually heavy rainfalls over the past month in the Central Australian region , our...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

After paying nearly $400/ night for our stay (which is low season prices) we found out that the"resort" has no complimentary amenties - besides a pool which requires bug cleaning. The wifi is charge per use. The rooms smells of sewage. The bathroom was very clean but that is where the cleaning ended. When we sat on the sofa a...

1Thank Emily K
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Emily K I am sorry to read your comments regarding your stay in one of our Deluxe Spa Rooms. Your booking.com rate was $380 per night which includes full buffet breakfast from 5am - 9am each day in Carmichael's Restaurant. The Spa rooms include upgraded complimentary amenities, slippers and robes. Your recent stay was after some unusually heavy rainfall,...

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Visited with 8 mates. We got the camping area with the ensuite. Great idea and makes it easy for showering and toilet. Pool is great and view is unbeatable. Dingoes are present but not an issue at all. Staff are very friendly and always have a smile on their face. Prices are reasonable considering it's far away from major towns....

Thank Callumjames1990
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Callumjames1990 Glad to hear your enjoyed the new En Suite sites located without Campground . they are very spacious and perfect for a group of friends travelling together such as yours , with their own BBQ areas and the best views overlooking Watarrka National Park. Delighted to hear you enjoyed our services and facilities . Hope the rest of...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

The place is really big and not very cheap For the price you would expect better facilities Such as turning the air conditioning on in the pub or screens in the toilets to stop the bugs... Not very impressed

Thank Alexaenlared
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Upon entry to the reception it stank!! We booked a double room with shared amenities. When we went to our room there was a full garbage bag out the front (note there are signs up in relation to dingos and putting rubbish away) and the grass we had to step over to get on to the patio; yep impressed so...

Thank Aimee M
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Aimee M Thank you for your comments regarding your walk in booking on 24.12.16. On arrival you requested the cheapest room we had available . At $129 per night our Backpacker Lodge double rooms with shared facilities, located within the Campground are what they are - basic , small and clean . The kitchens are used by all lodge...

526 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (515)
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Room/Suite (103)
Dining (30)
View from Room (36)
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Bathroom (27)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Videos (2)
Other (217)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (11)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Dining (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Bathroom (1)

Near Kings Canyon Resort


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Price Range: $124 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kings Canyon Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The spa rooms have a gorgeous view and are very private and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles SueV503, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Premium room is the Spa Room (and it's priced accordingly)”
 of 5 bubbles JeanieU, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take a room that gets morning sun as afternoon sun is intense.”
 of 5 bubbles jd1701, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go in the quiet season to be able to change rooms if necessary!”
 of 5 bubbles samb101, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the ends of the Lodge are quieter as they are further away from the common kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5