We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Youth Shack Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Youth Shack Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Youth Shack Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 247: English reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

The youth shack is located in the heart of Darwin's Mitchell Street. The first night I spent at YS was fine, a clean room, friendly staff etc. The second time was different. My room was filthy, it looked like it hadn't. Been cleaned in weeks. I asked to change rooms, and was moved to another clean room, without any problems....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobVanilla
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you found your room to be unclean on the second occasion. I can assure you housekeeping clean each dorm in the hostel every morning after check out. Fantastic to hear you found our kitchen to be one of the best you have seen during your...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Most of the staff are very helpful and super friendly. Until my last night when I was checking out I was treated as if I wasn't a customer and given very poor customer service. I stayed at this hostel for three weeks, that's why it was so disappointing that a staff member put closing a till above serving a customer....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becca M
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our staff overall – we do have a great team working for us. We are very sorry to hear that you had issues during your check out, the time frame mentioned is during our cross – over of shifts,...

Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

I have stayed in a few hostels recently and also done quite a few nights camping in the outback and would still prefer to spend a night there instead of this place! The room was tiny with only 1 plug, the air conditioning was rubbish we had it on full blast but the room was still boiling hot and there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beckytravels2015
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Very sorry to hear you were unhappy with the air conditioning unit – I would wonder if the guests in the room had adjusted the settings. Each air con unit is individual to the room it is in and temperatures can be controlled by the guests of that room....

Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

Clean, friendly, well equipped hostel just a shame about the drunk, loud, selfish guests that stay there. Location was pretty good aswell, The staff were very helpfully and always friendly. Glad we only had two nights there then moved to the yha

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
youthshackcrew, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Adam Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. Glad to hear you were happy with the hostel itself and the service we provide. If you stay with us on a future visit please bare in mind we have staff on duty 24 hours a day , so if you do come across guests who are affecting...

Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

Have stayed several times there and enjoyed my stays. This time was poor customer service. Bar staff rude and after telling management was told to harden up by one manager. Spoke to the owner of the youth shack. Said he would follow up and get back to me. That was 3 days ago. Still waiting for some reason the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stephanie O
youthshackcrew, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Stephaine Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. I am very sorry to hear you felt this way after enjoying our hostel for so long. We spoke to all staff members involved in the disagreement that occurred between yourself and the staff member in question. We hope you will not let the disagreement affect your future...

Reviewed 14 May 2015

i just stayed 2 nights, as my trip in darwin was very short, i stayed in a private room which makes it more expensive, but i needed a bit of privacy anyway. overall the hostal was nice and with a friendly atmosphere, the staff were helpful and they provide many services at the reception, probably ill stay there again in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Agastya S
youthshackcrew, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi , Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hostel. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the stay, its always great to hear positive feedback! Yes the private rooms are a little more expensive but perfect when you need that little bit of privacy while traveling! Best of luck in the future and hopefully...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Stayed at this hostel for a week when I arrived in Darwin. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I had a 4 bed dorm, and although it wasn't perfectly clean, the room was cleaned every day. The room came equipped with a locker big enough for my backpack (approx.30 Litres) as well as my travel on,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mackenzie R
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. You will be happy to hear that each guest now receives a free reusable plastic cutlery set on check in which they can keep forever if they wish! With pots and pans, we still use the key...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

Thank you to Jordan at the front desk! He went above and beyond to accommodate us in a unique situation. I doubt many other hostels would have been so helpful. The hostel is very centrally located and has a fun, lively vibe.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WhitRoo
youthshackcrew, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. Glad you had a good stay with us and were happy with Jordon’s service! We have a great little team here and it is always nice to receive positive feedback! We wish you the best in your future travels

Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed here wen first arrived in darwin. Ran out the next day. Filthy, noisey and uncomfortable. There is always a party on not always a bad thing . Job shack is useful. I wouldnt stay here again its way too dirty and felt like i was on holidays after leaving school.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sean K
youthshackcrew, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Sean, Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. In relation to filthy, our housekeeping team are here daily from 7am; they work very hard to ensure the cleanliness, so I am sorry to see you felt this way. We have just received a delivery of...

Broome, Australia
Reviewed 10 April 2015

My partner and I just spent 6 weeks at the youth shack and we were actually sad to go. In any hostel you have to live closely to travellers from all over and its not always easy. What does make it consistent is the staff that run the location. In this instance we were fortunate to be surrounded by a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Charles M
youthshackcrew, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Charles, Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. It’s so great to hear you were happy with our staff and the service they provided you with. We are very proud of our team here, they work pretty hard and it is great to receive the positive feedback. I’m glad we helped to make your Darwin stay...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 km away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#26 of 38 in Darwin
380 reviews
0.4 km away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#33 of 38 in Darwin
70 reviews
0.1 km away
Novotel Darwin CBD
Novotel Darwin CBD
#12 of 38 in Darwin
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
842 reviews
0.2 km away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
1,726 reviews
0.0 km away
Chilli's Backpackers
Chilli's Backpackers
#33 of 49 in Darwin
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Youth Shack is a great choice for backpackers and travellers looking for affordable, value for money accommodation. Located right in the heart of Darwin at 69 Mitchell St, the Youth Shack is just a short stroll away from the wide range of cheap eateries, restaurants, bars and nightclubs that Darwin has on offer. For those wishing to relax, grab a meal, shop, or catch a few rays, the Waterfront lagoon and its surrounding cafes and restaurants are only a leisurely ten minute walk away. Providing air-conditioned four, six or eight bed dorms, Double or Twin private rooms (Shared Bathroom), the Youth Shack has become a home away from home for many satisfied guests during its' time. Featuring a large semi-shaded pool, Poolside Bar, great Sundeck, a huge kitchen with adjoining dining area and a Job Shack desk, the Youth Shack has everything required to make your stay comfortable while in Darwin. Get your tan on atop the first floor rooftop sundeck after a day out adventuring or night out partying. Soak your miles away in the pool, relax on the sunbeds and catch up on that book you've been meaning to read or just have a few cool drinks in the bar and make new friends or hang out with old ones. In addition to all this, our experienced and helpful reception staff can assist you with all your tours in the Top End. Ask about our amazing deals on single or multi-day tours to Kakadu, the waterfalls of Litchfield National Park, Uluru, if it's available we will get you on board. Experience the natural beauty and culture of Australia's Northern Territory. 24 hour check-in. Arrivals between 10pm and 6.00am can call the night manager, the number is on the front door of the hostel. In room Locker, Linen provided. Valid photo ID and credit card details required upon check in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Youth Shack Backpackers

Address: 69 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: $31 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Youth Shack Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Youth Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Youth Shack Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take padlock for supplied room locker.”
 of 5 bubbles MLT73, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are of equal high standard”
 of 5 bubbles michaeldJ5926GE, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“One side of the hostel isn't near the pool so it might be a bit quieter...not positive though”
 of 5 bubbles sophiesophiesophie3x, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If choosing double, make sure your geting tv, dvd and fridge. Especially if your on a budget”
 of 5 bubbles S7694AFscotth, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“I had a room along the front which was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles squizzy11, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5