We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Melaleuca on Mitchell

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Melaleuca on Mitchell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 278: English reviews
Start your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here when I was backpacking across Australia as part of a Round The World trip with my younger brother. It's a party hostel, so if that's not your scene I'd say this is not the place for you, though having said that my brother and I weren't big on the party scene but we just didn't join in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maisie A
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017

I stayed here for five nights on a mostly solo trip. There was not as much of a social atmosphere as there have been at other hostels. There is a pool, a bar and a great sundeck, but most people seemed to already be with a group by the time they checked in. Darwin itself is a bit more spread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WanderLust406
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We stayed just one night in a private room. The hostel is pretty big, with long bare corridors and countless rooms making it seem more like a prison with no character. Even though we were at the far end away from the bar, we could still hear the music for most of the night, so maybe look elsewhere if you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BeanieBear192
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

As soon as I entered I was met with rude staff and the male on eception took one look at me and clearly was discriminatory aainst my age. I'm not in my 20's but I have been travelling the world for the past 20 years. After asking for my name, he looked me up & down and said "you do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MLT73
Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Located in the middle of mitchell st in CBD, close to everything. friendly staff, room and shower was ok, clean enough. limited power socket in room, got out door pool and resting area. will stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kyielee
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Fun times here at melaleuca,big hostel and great place to make friends and socialise,two pools provided,laundry is not great,staff provide help on tours and directions nice people,pubs clubs and food nearby which is easy,hostel has movie nights and games at times,kitchen is ok needs upgrading,reasonable price for what you get,if you want peace and quiet this is not the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richie K
Kiama, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2016

….EITHER IN PRAISE OR CONDEMNATION. IN OTHER WORDS THIS IS A PERFECTLY ADEQUATE PLACE THAT DOES THE JOB EXPECTED . MELALEUCLA was one of 3 central Darwin backpackers I stayed at between trips out of town. I rated it #3 – however as said above it did its job adequately: just nothing to get excited about. STRENGTHS GOOD POSITION –...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blackeldo
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

The second we turned up I knew it wasn't for me! It's really loud and doesn't feel clean. The rooms were pretty dark, dingy and dirty. The only good thing was the aircon worked well even though it was really loud. It's definitely not the most welcoming hostel and the wifi even though you pay for it is rubbish and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria N
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Stayed here one night before an early flight and although my room was fine I have never stayed somewhere so noisy. People running up and down hall banging on doors and generally having a party in the hall all night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review

Hi Vicky L, Thank you for your review of your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell, Darwin. We are sorry to read that you were unable to get some sleep due to people in the corridors making a noise after they had been out. We do have security staff employed to try and minimize the noise for people trying to sleep....

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Stayed for one night, well located in the centre of town. Obviously markets itself as a party/backpackers hoste with poolside bar and lively music. Room was acceptable with very good aircon. However noise from music and from rubbish trucks in the morning were rather loud. WiFi wasn't free either which I think is poor in this day and age. Decor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eo227
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this review

Hi eo227, Thank you for your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell, Darwin and your feedback relating to the hostel been a party\backpackers hostel. We do promote ourselves as a hostel with a great pool area which has a bar and swimming pools. To ensure guests in rooms can sleep the music is stopped and the bar is closed before midnight...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.0 km away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#26 of 38 in Darwin
376 reviews
0.4 km away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#33 of 38 in Darwin
70 reviews
0.4 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
1,709 reviews
0.3 km away
H Hotel
H Hotel
#11 of 38 in Darwin
317 reviews
0.1 km away
Youth Shack Backpackers
Youth Shack Backpackers
#30 of 49 in Darwin
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Melaleuca on Mitchell

Address: 52 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: $34 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Melaleuca on Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Melaleuca on Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaleuca On Mitchell Hotel Darwin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Melaleuca on Mitchell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room not on the fist floor. Do not expect Wifi to work outside of the loby.”
 of 5 bubbles WanderLust406, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As far from the bar as possible!”
 of 5 bubbles BeanieBear192, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms on bottom floor or down the far end are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles AmberC28, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want noise, ask a room as far as possible from the rooftop entertainment area.”
 of 5 bubbles ronk88, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay anywhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Cyglor, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5