We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Braunschweig, Germany
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

This place is definetly quite different, if you stayed in a big hostel like the YHA just before that. I felt it was a very familar feeling. I've stayed here over christmas and really enjoyed the the time with the other people staying as well as the staff. It was clean amd quiet at night, however the wifi wasnt really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lionheart92
Aussie-Way, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay. The residential area we live in has issues with internet connection which is why the Wifi is free. As for the kitchen this is a heritage building so there are limitations on renovating or changing the kitchen. It was a pleasure to have you stay here. Safe trips and...

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

From reception to the room. Terrible. Kitchen closes at 9pm, no tv in main common room after 10pm, no alcohol allowed. Showers were bad the shower heads are so bad I'd rather bathe in the Brisbane river. The floor boards upstairs vibrate every move made. NO SLEEP to be had here. 'Staff?!' If that's what they were - RUDE! The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shane W
Aussie-Way, Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Shane, Kitchen closes at 9PM: Because of the Fire Brigade Regulation. No TV in main common room after 10PM: Because our guests have to sleep, although we have another entertainment room with a bigger screen TV next to the office, that is open all night, as a big sign states. No alcohol allowed: This is advertised on our website,...

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

A nice hostel to stay in Brisbane for cheap. Each floor has only one toilet and shower, but we didn't experience any problems with that. The shared kitchen is a standard house kitchen, so a bit small if more people want to make food. A nice plus is the pool in the backyard. It's not that big, but very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank v
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You described exactly our aim: a nice and affordable hostel for a backpacker. We are aware of the smaller kitchen, but as we are situated in a heritage building, there is unfortunately nothing we can do about it. We're glad that you were able to enjoy the pool and that...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 30 May 2016

The hostel is decent. No breakfast. Internet only in the common room. No 24 hours reception which was a bit concern for me at first, but it was ok. The location was alright and it was very quiet at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank areeyaant
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed the quietness of our hostel and had a good stay. We aim to be a very affordable accommodation for backpackers, so our price doesn't include a breakfast or 24h reception. There is staff readily available between 8AM and 10PM, and a night manager in case of emergencies. We're sorry to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

My first reaction to this place was not great, in fact I started looking at other places, the same night. However, once I got into the rhythm of the place and met some of the residents, I stayed 4 nights in total. It is more of a boarding house than a hostel in many ways, as many of the guests...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank travel-for-food0022
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for a very thorough review. It's good for us to see what people think we could improve on, so your comments will be passed on to management. Most of the practices you were frustrated with are established because we are situated in a residential area. We can not afford to have noisy nights, which an open kitchen and...

Reviewed 15 May 2016

The hostel looked really nice and had a great atmosphere. Everything was really clean and the wifi was great. They have a comfortable TV-room in a shack in the back with possums living on the roof, which is really nice. It's walking distance from the center, but mainly it's a nice location to start any trip in or around Brisbane....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review! We're pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and were able to enjoy our entertainment room. We hope to see you again soon!

United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Not the greatest place I have ever stayed, the rooms were cramped and hot, the facilities were very basic but it was cheap enough to stay for a couple of days and there were plenty of lockers available in the dorm to store backpacks. As this was a mixed dorm there were some nighttime activities that were unwelcome!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicehelena1208
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. We're sorry that you had some unpleasant experiences in your dorm, we do not condone this, but can't monitor people's behavior -- especially not in their rooms. Perhaps you could have talked to staff about this? We're also sorry to hear that you found our rooms cramped and hot, most reviews agree that the...

India
Reviewed 17 April 2016

My first time in Australia! This hostel is super clean and very much organised. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, I stayed in a four share dorm, but believe me it's a good space and doesn't feel like a typical share dorm. The only thing that bothered me a little is that the bathroom (on my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neelam214
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay, we do pride ourselves on customer service and cleanliness of the site. We're grateful for your remarks, and they will be passed on to our manager to be reviewed. We hope to see you again soon!

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 14 April 2016

A nice little hostel in a quiet neighborhood not to far away from city centre. Nice Veranda and cosy living room and outdoor area. The kitchen is a little bit to small and it's getting crowded sometimes. If you have a car, there is no long-stay-parking available. Leave the car around the Toowong or Taringa train station area are take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mybraintravels
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We are aware that our kitchen isn't very large, however we are unable to change that due to the building being a heritage building. As for the car parks: we do try to accommodate everyone with a car. We have...

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Stayed there for a week. Great staff who were friendly and helpful. Quiet place in a residential area but still only 10 minutes walk to Roma Street and maybe 35 minutes to South Bank. The room was spacious with air con, and the free wi-fi sometimes worked in the rooms though it was better in the lounges - which were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt987610
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here! We hope to see you again.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 km away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#9 of 133 in Brisbane
556 reviews
0.1 km away
Banana Bender Backpackers
Banana Bender Backpackers
#61 of 133 in Brisbane
107 reviews
2.0 km away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#25 of 133 in Brisbane
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Kookaburra Inn
Kookaburra Inn
#5 of 133 in Brisbane
225 reviews
1.8 km away
Some Rooms Backpacker
Some Rooms Backpacker
#95 of 133 in Brisbane
8 reviews
0.4 km away
Chill Backpackers
Chill Backpackers
#102 of 133 in Brisbane
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This heritage-listed, colonial home was built circa 1872 and offers a charming and quiet place for backpackers and travellers to stay away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to be convenient. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel

Address: 34 Cricket St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: $27 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I know who Lukes father is.”
 of 5 bubbles dickhammer, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good wifi, Comfortable Beds”
 of 5 bubbles 452sebastiank, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Go upstairs as some of the guests can be loud in the morning, but you lose that 1 bar of WiFi in the corner of the room downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles damienl703, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If you use the pool in the morning you'll often have it to yourself. They also have a girls only dorm. Just ask.”
 of 5 bubbles Jsmithmel, 31 Jan 2015 | Read review
“If you're a girl and there's room in the female dorm (dorm 8) then ask to be put in it. If you have any major downloading to do at the hostel wait until night time when no one is using it.”
 of 5 bubbles EnglishBoo, 23 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5