We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

The beds here are really comfortable which is the most important thing, and generally it is very quiet so you can get good sleep. Most of the guests staying were very friendly and all the staff were pleasant, however there are a few issues with this place. The size of the kitchen is a joke, and when the hostel has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank solcut
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Solcut. We're very glad that you did had an overall good stay and slept well. Just to address some issues: we are very aware that the kitchen is rather small. Unfortunately there isn't anything we can do about it as this is a heritage listed building and we are not allowed to make drastic changes....

Italy
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We had a great stay at Aussie Way Backpackers. The hostel was clean, friendly staff and free Wi-Fi( The connection was better near the lounge room and the outside sitting areas). The building is heritage colonial, very charming and has a lot of character. It is really as Aussie Way Stay! Not for the party people. We will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, Maria. We hope you enjoy your further travels!

Reviewed 21 August 2015

Hot showers Chilled out Friendly staff Free, tempermental WiFi that doesnt extend into at least 2 of the dorms I stayed in. Could do with an oven and the kitchen staying open until 10 maybe. Lack of power outlets, we had 2 outlets between 4 of us, all the outlets in the common rooms are also regularly in use. Occasional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Damien L
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Damien, thank you for your thorough review. We have always had problems with the wifi, and this is an issue beyond our control. The internet provider is unable to fix it and this is why it is free. It works better in good weather and when less people are trying to gain access, it works less in windy and...

Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

Excellent backpacker if you're looking for a quiet place with quiet people and if you like going to sleep at 10pm. Almost depressing though... Don't go there if you're looking for a party backpacker with lively people. Otherwise clean with helpful staff and everything. Also, worst Wi-Fi I've found in the entire East Coast, they really need to fix it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wouzz
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Wouzz. We indeed advertise as a quiet hostel as we are situated in a residential area. A lot of people do go to bed by 10PM, but we have an entertainment room located next to the office that is open all night. Our atmosphere and the liveliness of the place really depends on the kind of guests that we...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 August 2015

When I arrived at the hostel, it wasn't clear to me where I needed to check in (and everybody in the common room was kind of ignoring me), which wasn't a great start. When I found the check in (in the back yard), I got a better welcome, and a big map of Brisbane and a lot of information on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacoba d
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Jacoba. Due to a damaging hail storm last year, a lot of roofs and other things were damaged in Brisbane. It was only last week that we were able to find someone to fix ours, as everyone needed them. Unfortunately we ourselves were unaware of when the builders would work or what they were up...

Reviewed 28 July 2015

I really liked the Aussie way hostel: The dorm was spacious and clean, bathrooms were nice and they have a pool and free wifi. The kitchen was rather small, but okay. The location is alright: It's about a 10 minute walk to the cultural centre. You are not allowed to bring alcohol to the hostel. Overall I really enjoyed my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank so for leaving a review. About the construction: Brisbane had a terrible hailstorm last November, which wrecked a lot of roofs, among other things. Last week was the first opportunity we had to get people to fix it, as they were needed in so many places. The works are completely done by now, and I apologize that we were...

Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed in the Aussie Way for 9 nights. A small hostel with nice staff and clean rooms! For a good price! Stayed in other hostels for the same price - in a 20 bed dorm ;) Perfect if you want to relax without loud persons around you. Beautiful view from the balcony. Also clean bathrooms, toilets & kitchen. If I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review, Michael. We're glad that you had a great time, and you should feel free to come back anytime. Safe further travels!

Finland
Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

Aussie Way is good and peaceful place to stay. We only spent here one night but could have stayed longer! Our double room was nice and the bed was really comfortable. Place is clean and I really like the living room+kitchen area with tv, books etc. Location is bit far but still walking distance from centre. Wifi was free and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarasus
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sarasus, Thank you for leaving a review! We're sorry that our staff-member did not respond to your greeting, this was most likely not intentional but rather a matter of simply not having heard. It's indeed possible that she was cleaning, as the tasks of our staff-members are not limited to reception-work. There are adequate signs in the office with...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2015

Stayed 2 weeks at Aussie way backpackers, nice hostel with clean rooms, but there was an annoying Irish couple who sat around outside all day everyday yelling, laughing and smoking cigarettes, would have been nicer without them there, but apart from them I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Damien S
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Damien, thank you for your response. First to address your irritation with the Irish couple. In our hostel, we are unable to deny someone the right to stay here based on how they choose to spend their day. As such, the mood and energy of the hostel changes all year 'round, depending on our guests. But this would be...

Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and had a great time at Aussie Way. We booked a double room, which was in the adjoining building and it was great. There were two more double rooms and a single, all sharing a lovely large bathroom and a small but well maintained kitchen. The main room was a lovely social space too....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chazfiz
Aussie-Way, Front Office Manager at Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay! All the best in your further travels.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 km away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#9 of 133 in Brisbane
556 reviews
0.1 km away
Banana Bender Backpackers
Banana Bender Backpackers
#60 of 133 in Brisbane
107 reviews
2.0 km away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#27 of 133 in Brisbane
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Kookaburra Inn
Kookaburra Inn
#6 of 133 in Brisbane
225 reviews
1.8 km away
Some Rooms Backpacker
Some Rooms Backpacker
#95 of 133 in Brisbane
8 reviews
0.4 km away
Chill Backpackers
Chill Backpackers
#102 of 133 in Brisbane
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This heritage-listed, colonial home was built circa 1872 and offers a charming and quiet place for backpackers and travellers to stay away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to be convenient. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel

Address: 34 Cricket St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: $26 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I know who Lukes father is.”
 of 5 bubbles dickhammer, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good wifi, Comfortable Beds”
 of 5 bubbles 452sebastiank, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Go upstairs as some of the guests can be loud in the morning, but you lose that 1 bar of WiFi in the corner of the room downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles damienl703, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If you use the pool in the morning you'll often have it to yourself. They also have a girls only dorm. Just ask.”
 of 5 bubbles Jsmithmel, 31 Jan 2015 | Read review
“If you're a girl and there's room in the female dorm (dorm 8) then ask to be put in it. If you have any major downloading to do at the hostel wait until night time when no one is using it.”
 of 5 bubbles EnglishBoo, 23 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5