We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nomads Brisbane Hostel

Booking.comUS$29*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$86*
US$29*
Great Deal
US$44*
US$31*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Brisbane Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

582 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 511: English reviews
Start your review of Nomads Brisbane Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nomads in Brisbane is horrible. Mold and dust everywhere. That's what happens when you let backpackers clean your hostel for too long without work supervision. The facilities need maintenance; the showers are leaking 24/7 (could explain the mold in every corner), the kitchen has no ventilation, stains of food are crawling on the wall. Condoms were found on the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose P
Suva, Fiji
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was hesitant to stay here after a look at reviews on several sites so I only booked one night- but I ended up extending 3 more!! I was in a gorgeous room on the 4th floor with awesome people. Central Station is literally on the opposite corner so it's super accessible and can walk anywhere in minutes! You also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurenbH6444NA
Port Moresby
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at the property twice and I really don't have any major complaints, to be honest. $50 per night for a single room (shared bathroom) is probably the cheapest you can get compared to other properties. It doesn't come with all the perks but it was good enough for me spending four nights. I've also been in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tobyj496
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Our location is almost impossible to beat and we pride ourselves on providing great customer service, I will pass on your positive comments to our reception team. We hope to see you again. Safe travels from the Nomads Brisbane Crew.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Positives - great location, cheap and a very nice old school building. Staff were friendly and helpful. That's about it Negatives - like all hostels seemingly in this chain they are ridiculously stingy with wifi. A daily fee to use it in your room or free in the lobby but only until 7PM. Find it odd that small, family run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Regan
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time from your travels to leave your thoughts and opinion about your stay. We offer free WiFi for the whole day in our reception and common areas and charge for use upstairs, WiFi is chargeable in most Australian properties we think our rates are very competitive in the marketplace considering the high cost of data in...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cannot be beat on price, location and just having a great time. Always kept clean for such an old building (you do get a messy room buddy sometimes). Love the location and style of the building it feels like you are in the HEART OF BRISBANE!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good price, good service, bathroom well cleaned. A little bit old and the lift is terrific. I dont like that the bedrooms has no orden with the cabinets to keep the lugage, in the room I stayed they were all busy, so I had to leave my staff on the bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catalina M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was cheap and great location but that's where the excitement ended !! Tinny tinny socialising area all the couches (what few there was) where all broken etc. kitchen so small to the amount of people. Just go if you want a bed and then gap it after.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a short review on your stay. We were working on a shower room during your stay this work has finished, we do apologize for the inconvenience this caused. Our reception area and TV room does get very busy through the day due to the free Wi-Fi that is provided. We are going...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

don't let the pictures fool you. I had a single room and it was third world at best. no fans or A/C, ust a single bed , a power point and a window that opened 4 inches so im glad it wasnt too hot. the one shower that worked on my floor leaked and was gross...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing us a review. Our single rooms are the best priced in Brisbane they are simple, our reception is open 24 hours, and we encourage guests to come and speak with us at any time if they are experiencing any troubles whatsoever. We are always happy to resolve situations that arise and would have ensured that you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hey everybody! Here's some helpful review if you are planning to stay at Nomads Brisbane Hostel: The booking process and the price is absolutely backpacker-friendly and also the staff at the desk is very helpful and easy to deal with. Unfortunately these are all the positive facts I can say about Nomads Brisbane. If you stay there you better prepare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ralf w
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review we take all feedback positive or negative on board. We have a 24-hour reception desk always ready to help with any inquiries such as a broken window we had that fixed the next day when housekeeping reported it to reception. Our bathrooms are open 24 hours a day the only...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my friend were staying at Nomads for 1 week, it was my first time staying at a Nomads. I really enjoyed it, it was clean and the staff was friendly. Plus, who doesn't want a 20% discount on food and drinks in the bar next door? The only downside was the wifi, it was free from 6am-6pm but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrea_mayday

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
0.3 km away
Base Brisbane Embassy
Base Brisbane Embassy
#107 of 128 in Brisbane
125 reviews
1.2 km away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#27 of 128 in Brisbane
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#78 of 128 in Brisbane
249 reviews
1.3 km away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#10 of 128 in Brisbane
565 reviews
1.9 km away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#104 of 128 in Brisbane
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Brisbane has everything a backpacker could want, with our five floors offering a wide variety of rooms to appeal to everyone from the newly-arrived to the newly-wed, including dormitory and private rooms. All rooms are secured via electronic keycards, while you can keep your valuables doubly secured with our supplied lockers. Linen is also provided so there's no need to bring your sleeping bag! But that's not all. Our rooftop terrace is the place in the Brisbane CBD to catch some sun, chill out, have a BBQ or just watch the world go by while you wait for your laundry in one of our three laundry rooms. If the sun's not your thing then we also have common areas to kick back, relax, and get some quality tv time; that or cook up a feast in our guest kitchen! If you're looking for work, why not let our Job Club give you a nudge in the right direction? Likewise, our friendly travel desk staff don't just know everything about the beautiful South-East Queensland - they can give you advice about anywhere in Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific! Downstairs the Down Under Bar is where you can go full on, flat out! Come on down to Brisbane's most famous backpacker bar where you can win great prizes, dance the night away, or even meet Mr/Mrs Right (or Mr/Mrs Right Now!). If you're after something a little quieter then our Zi Bar does great food and coffee, with regular functions to keep you entertained. Dormitories are available to genuine backpackers only. Guests MUST be over 18 years old to stay at Nomads Brisbane Hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Brisbane Hostel

Address: 308 Edward St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Base Brisbane Central)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: $20 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Brisbane Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Nomads Brisbane Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Brisbane Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You're better off choosing rooms from the third floor upwards if you want a good night's sleep. It can get noisy on the bottom floors.”
tobyj496, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Go to another hostel”
Paul_Regan, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Level one room 113 has a private bathroom for the guests staying in that room.”
nathanl66, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a room on the top floor (5th) if you want to sleep.”
sirrir, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor not to get the noise from the bar”
guillaume2710, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$29* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$44
Hostelworld.comUS$31
AMOMAUS$86
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates